We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BED BUGS IN 314” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brooklyn Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Brooklyn Motor Inn
Ranked #51 of 70 Hotels in Brooklyn
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“BED BUGS IN 314”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

I just read an earlier review about a bedbug infestation in room 314 and apparently they did nothing about it because I just got bites all over my arm. i woke up in the middle of the night scratching my arm,
I caught a bed bug in a cup as proof and showed it to the lobby receptionist and he offered another room. No we dont want another room, we want a refund. He would not give it to us because he said he would have to speak to the
it was 3 am, and we were only there for 4 hours because we checked in around 11 pm.


DONT GO HERE BECAUSE THERE ARE BED BUGS AND OBVIOUSLY THEY HAVE NOT DONE ANYTHING ABOUT IT YET BECAUSE ALL THE REVIEWS SAY BED BUGS AND ITS CONTINUOUS. I CANNOT BELIEVE THEY HAVENT DONE ANYTHING ABOUT IT YET.


i took photos of the bed bug as proof, so they better do something about it.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    20
    17
    15
    22
See reviews for
12
27
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

Nothing special for the money I spent on it and its stuff, specially receptionist is unfriendly, rude and they treat gust as necessary evil. You have to remember that check in time is at 3 pm so it could be problematic like it was for me. I booked my room through other website and I wasn't told that and when I arrived at 11 am I was very suprised. The receptionist told me this is my problem and that I had to wait. So ask them once again and they were slightly nicer and organised a room for me. Overall experience average.

Room Tip: Don't stay there unless there's no other option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DawidBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

I asked a friend and a cousin who live in Brooklyn for their recommendation of a place to stay that was clean and was in a safe neighborhood. They both recommended the Brooklyn Motor Inn. We were not disappointed. It's an older property, but the room was clean, the bed was comfortable and we didn't hear any street noise from our room #308. There is off-street parking and we pulled right in.

There is a new bagel shop a block away. I don't remember the name, but the people who work there were extremely friendly. We had dinner at Caselnova, an Italian restaurant within walking distance Yummy food and enjoyable interaction with the owner.

Room Tip: We slept well in Room 308.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

The hotel has bedbug infestation. Stay away from this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank t k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brooklyn hotels

Formosa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

Clean , prety , furniture like new , lcd 42" , bed kingsize .

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuisHoracio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

Although this Hotel isn' the fanciest hotel around. The people that work there were very friendly and very helpful. Customer service is something i truly apprecitate and they definetely gave it to us. Thank you for that experience with you guys.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FabEsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

On July 4th in the evening, as I was laying in room 314 of this hotel, I felt my back itching. When I got up to check it out, I saw a bug crawling. After a few inspection, I noticed there were bed bugs on the pillow. I then lifted up the sheets and found two more crawling towards the headboard. I called the receptionist at the hotel and asked him to come up and look. Instead he offered me another room. Why would I stay in another room that may be infested also? Anyways I asked to be refunded for the night but they said I needed to talk to the booking agent. I called Priceline and they said they would have them refund me my money. I ended up checking out with my friend around 11pm while our checkout was not until 12pm that following Tuesday. On the following day, I called asking to speak to the manager and he said i could not be refunded because I checked out at 11pm. I checked out 12hrs before my checkout time. I was not asking for a full refund just a portion. They insisted that there was no bed bugs there but there were flies. Why are there flies everywhere in the room? I insisted on my refund but they refused. Priceline then sent an email stating that the hotel inspected the area and found no bugs so I could not be refunded. The staff at Brooklyn Motor inn was very disrespectful and did not even offer an apology of any sort. STAY AWAY

Room Tip: Inspect beds thoroughly
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank angelhearty88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMI_Manager, Manager at Brooklyn Motor Inn, responded to this review, 25 July 2011
Dear Guest -

We would like to confirm that our hotel takes the most stringent precautions when it comes to preventing bed bugs and has a strict protocol when a guest claims of find one. We are surprised at the allegation and can only use this forum to clear up the facts.

Our records and surveillance leads to believe your intention was to not stay at the hotel for the second night and using a bed bug claim was the way out of paying. You returned on the evening of July 4th and went straight to the reception before heading to your room. You made the claim of the bed bugs after being out of your room for the entire day.

We immediately instructed our head housekeeping team to investigate the claim while you continued to be abnormally loud and profane in the lobby creating a premature scene. We do understand circumstances call for certain reaction, but this was premeditated.

Our housekeeping team did not discover a single instance of a bed bug and even offered to transfer to another room to feel secure. It was clear your intention was to not stay at our hotel that evening.

Priceline does not guarantee any refunds until speaking to the hotel. When we provided the accounts of the evening with supported time lines, they did not grant the refund. Management also followed up with a phone call the following morning to review but you were committed on earning a free night.

Room 314 was checked in on July 5th night by a new guest with not a single complaint. It is extremely appalled at what lengths a guest will go to not have to pay for booked reservation.

To reiterate, NO bed bugs have been found at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Red Hook
Comfort Inn Red Hook
#43 of 70 in Brooklyn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
1.2 mi away
Union Hotel
Union Hotel
#44 of 70 in Brooklyn
3.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Brooklyn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Red Lion Inn and Suites Brooklyn
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Brooklyn Downtown
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooklyn Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooklyn Motor Inn

Property: Brooklyn Motor Inn
Address: 140 Hamilton Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11231
Region: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 70 Hotels in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Brooklyn Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Brooklyn Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brooklyn Motor Hotel Brooklyn
Brooklyn Motor Inn New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing