We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A terrible place to stay in Brooklyn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Comfort Inn Brooklyn City Center
Ranked #54 of 73 Hotels in Brooklyn
Reviewed 30 November 2011

We spent 3 nights in this motel. Fridge did not work and was never repaired.Spent two nights afraid that someone would burst through the door. Lots or loud talking and cussing late at night.No adequate parking sign posted on sidewalk warns "park at your own risk."During day
sidewalks very congested with repairmen from the auto shop next door soliciting repair work. We were charged for out stay when we walked in. If you wish to enjoy your stay in New York
do not stay in this place

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 18Wannabe18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights and I was expecting the worst. The reviews on TripAdvisor had led me to believe that it would not be a good experience. However, it was fine.THe area was safe surrounding the hotel, the hotel was clean, the staff was extremely helpful. I would most definetely stay there again when my travels give cause for me to be in Brooklyn and Manhattan. The busstop outside the hotel takes you straight to the mall. The cultural diversity was interesting and I found all the people I came into contact with in the neighbourhoods, restaurants, bus, etc to be most helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank MarthaBermuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We spend two nights at this The best thing was the location
We left some things in the room and it was not returned to us even though we try so hard.
Be careful with your things.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

I really did not want to write this review without the pics because I doubted you would believe it without. Before I went to the Howard Johnson I read the reviews but I like to believe in the good so it's my own fault. I read the reviews about the bullet-proof looking glass at the reception... TRUE! The first I've ever seen that at a hotel and I assure you that makes you wonder if gunshots will follow (trust me, read on here). I read about the stale breakfast and the unwanted guests from the neighbourhood coming in to join in yours. Again true. Thank goodness for the same doughnuts fresher across the street and a couple of blocks down. I read about the smelly carpet but they were being awfully kind in those reviews. Think stinky feet of 12 vagabonds although my room was cleaned (even of loose change) everyday. But the real shocker folks comes now. One night the rain fell pretty hard. As I lay in bed looking at the tele I wondered why the curtain was moving. Curious, I went to look. There in front of me covered by the drapes were what looks dreadfully like two bullet holes in the window pane in my bedroom! I took pics and you can be the judge as soon as I can download. For the money I paid (because the hotel is not cheap on any site) oh please! Never again! Dont bother to call the front desk, they dont answer. Try not to make the complimentary coffee, the machine doesnt work. Oh yeah, the good thing is that there is a bus stop right in front so you can get the hell outta there fast!

Room Tip: Scarface, anyone?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank busybee452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

As a single white female I felt ok in the hotel but a person had told me Crown Heights area was "not good" so it set up a certain amount of fear. Basically it was all ok and good except I was unsure if I was safe walking to and from subways and was told yellow cabs wouldn't service the hotel only livery cabs which are more expensive. So I stayed one night instead of two. If I had to do over again I might have explored the area during the day. I thought the room was very big and clean and nice.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blahblaheck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2010

My sister and I stayed one week at the Brooklyn Ho Jo because of cost. We would not recommend it to anyone other than a local. If you know the area then you might expect this kind of environment. My sister and I are from the Midwest, however we have travelled the world and this is one of the most major disappointments we have encountered. We were frequently hassled by men at the bus stop and while walking in the area and found our best mode of transport via taxi. Good luck getting a taxi in Manhattan to take you to Brooklyn or a taxi to take you to this location from LaGuardia. The hotel staff barked answers to our inquiries through the bullet-proof glass enclosure. I lived in the East End of London for a number of years and never had trouble like this. Next time we'll spend the extra to stay in Manhattan.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank malfermo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

I was naive enough to stay at this hotel because the price was so much lower than Manhattan hotels and I planned to save a little money by taking the train in. When my husband and I arrived at JFK and I asked the info booth if the area was safe enough to walk around we received a resounding "NO" for the 2 ladies at the booth. Gulp. We took a taxi there and had to walk across the street to get to the lobby - it was scary. The lobby counter is behind bullet-proof glass. The hotel elevator was filled with cigarette smoke. The overall appearance of the hotel is run down, chipped paint, dirty. The linens on our bed had human hair all over it including on the sheets. I requested fresh linens.

We checked out the next morning, found a wonderful hotel in Manhattan on expedia for $25 less per night. Oh, well, live and learn.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bb4261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Arena Hotel
1.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Brooklyn Central
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Brooklyn East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Brooklyn
Comfort Inn Brooklyn
#41 of 73 in Brooklyn
64 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sleep Inn Brooklyn Downtown
2.9 mi away
Midwood Suites
Midwood Suites
#64 of 73 in Brooklyn
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Brooklyn City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Brooklyn City Center

Address: 599 Utica Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11203-1916 (Formerly Motel 6 Brooklyn)
Region: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 73 Hotels in Brooklyn
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Brooklyn City Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Comfort Inn Brooklyn City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Hotel Brooklyn
Howard Johnson Brooklyn
Howard Johnson Hotel Brooklyn
Brooklyn Howard Johnson
Comfort Inn Brooklyn City Center New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing