We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service for a cheap price in the heart of Brooklyn!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Comfort Inn Brooklyn City Center
Ranked #52 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Spain
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great service for a cheap price in the heart of Brooklyn!”
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Danny exemplifies what a manager should do, he understands his customers needs and takes action. A great stay with a clean room in a good location.

For the people complaining...if you pay $600 for a room you expect a certain level of comfort, service and care. If you pay $100 for a hotel in the center of Brooklyn you have to understand what you get. I know what everyone wants, a $100 room in the center of Manhattan at the Four Seasons. This is a damn good deal for the price you pay and some great service as well.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicochico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    14
    20
    10
    17
See reviews for
20
22
11
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

It would be really easy to be very critical of this motel. It is well off the beaten trail and deep within a black neighbourhood and on first impressions is a hotel that you would take one look at and then turn trail and run; I almost did! However this is a basic community MOTEL!

This isn't a tourist motel or location. Therefore if you come with those expectations you are going to be very disappointed. However if you have friends or family in Brooklyn then you will already be acclimatised to the community and therefore feel able to use this motel as the extra bedroom in your friends house it is.

The common parts are shabby with the high security reception being a low point. The tea and coffee area is poor and uninviting. The rooms are clean and meet the standard of the average 2 star travelodge, although someone was smoking in my room before I got it so out with the Febreze, provided care of the handy mini mark across the road.

There is a nice dinner also opposite the motel which has good food and company. The Dunkin' Donuts is on the other corner and seem popular.

Brooklyn is a transport blackhole if you aren't driving. That said the 46 bus stops outside and has a frequent service. We walk to the subway which is about 20 mins from the motel. It is about 40 mins on the subway to manhattan downtown.

I stay here as part of a family group with a number of rooms. Judging this over the 6 rooms we had it was fine. We have releatives in the immediate area so after an initial rush of 5 star panic, it turned out ok. Given the choice between here and bunking down in someone spare room or pull out sofa, here wins hands down. Basic needs met but not my first choice for my tourist visit.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KMgibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brooklyn hotels

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

If you are looking for an affordable option to expensive Manhattan try this very cute, clean and professionally run Park Slope hotel. Room is small but immaculate, updated and very friendly. Rate includes a very decent breakfast served in a warm and intimate breakfast room on first floor. Cannot beat this for value.
Only negative is that hotel allows smoking on certain floors. Make sure to avoid those floors.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Raynard3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stone Mountain, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

We spent 3 nights in this motel. Fridge did not work and was never repaired.Spent two nights afraid that someone would burst through the door. Lots or loud talking and cussing late at night.No adequate parking sign posted on sidewalk warns "park at your own risk."During day
sidewalks very congested with repairmen from the auto shop next door soliciting repair work. We were charged for out stay when we walked in. If you wish to enjoy your stay in New York
do not stay in this place

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 18Wannabe18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bermuda
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights and I was expecting the worst. The reviews on TripAdvisor had led me to believe that it would not be a good experience. However, it was fine.THe area was safe surrounding the hotel, the hotel was clean, the staff was extremely helpful. I would most definetely stay there again when my travels give cause for me to be in Brooklyn and Manhattan. The busstop outside the hotel takes you straight to the mall. The cultural diversity was interesting and I found all the people I came into contact with in the neighbourhoods, restaurants, bus, etc to be most helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarthaBermuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We spend two nights at this The best thing was the location
We left some things in the room and it was not returned to us even though we try so hard.
Be careful with your things.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

I really did not want to write this review without the pics because I doubted you would believe it without. Before I went to the Howard Johnson I read the reviews but I like to believe in the good so it's my own fault. I read the reviews about the bullet-proof looking glass at the reception... TRUE! The first I've ever seen that at a hotel and I assure you that makes you wonder if gunshots will follow (trust me, read on here). I read about the stale breakfast and the unwanted guests from the neighbourhood coming in to join in yours. Again true. Thank goodness for the same doughnuts fresher across the street and a couple of blocks down. I read about the smelly carpet but they were being awfully kind in those reviews. Think stinky feet of 12 vagabonds although my room was cleaned (even of loose change) everyday. But the real shocker folks comes now. One night the rain fell pretty hard. As I lay in bed looking at the tele I wondered why the curtain was moving. Curious, I went to look. There in front of me covered by the drapes were what looks dreadfully like two bullet holes in the window pane in my bedroom! I took pics and you can be the judge as soon as I can download. For the money I paid (because the hotel is not cheap on any site) oh please! Never again! Dont bother to call the front desk, they dont answer. Try not to make the complimentary coffee, the machine doesnt work. Oh yeah, the good thing is that there is a bus stop right in front so you can get the hell outta there fast!

Room Tip: Scarface, anyone?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank busybee452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
5.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Brooklyn
Comfort Inn Brooklyn
#40 of 72 in Brooklyn
62 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Brooklyn East
2.9 mi away
Midwood Suites
Midwood Suites
#59 of 72 in Brooklyn
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Arena Hotel
5.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Brooklyn Bay Hotel
3.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Brooklyn Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Brooklyn City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Brooklyn City Center

Property: Comfort Inn Brooklyn City Center
Address: 599 Utica Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11203-1916 (Formerly Motel 6 Brooklyn)
Region: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Brooklyn City Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Comfort Inn Brooklyn City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Hotel Brooklyn
Howard Johnson Brooklyn
Howard Johnson Hotel Brooklyn
Brooklyn Howard Johnson
Comfort Inn Brooklyn City Center New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing