We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as bad as i thought it would be”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Comfort Inn Brooklyn City Center
Ranked #53 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Being from brooklyn and returning for a visit after 15 years, it wasn't bad. The bus was right outside as soon as you walk out the front door. Places to eat and shop was in walking distance. Mike's Diner on the other corner was a great place to eat. I thought that the room would've came with a microwave but, it didn't. They didn't serve breakfast which was a shock with the daily rate i paid. They had a bussines center to check emails. The room was nice could be a little up dated flat screens in the lobby, but not in the rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank marilynshep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Inn Brooklyn City Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2012

This motel is in the heart of Brooklyn. The fully enclosed and secured front desk was the first sign that this place going to be interesting. The common areas seemed dingy and a little out dated.

The clerk was barley audible behind his security glass even with the speaker. I had asked about parking since there was only about 15 spots for the hole hotel with VERY LITTLE room to maneuver around in the back lot, it took us 5 minutes to back up into the spot since it's so tight and small.

When I asked if there was a AAA rate available the clerk stated that I already had a discounted rate which was almost $139 plus taxes bumping it up to almost $160. When i looked at the notice posted on the wall afterward the rate card stated the rates were exactly what I paid so I doubt that I had a discounted rate.

The room seemed to be cleaned OK, the toilet paper roll holder was about ready to fall off the wall and the toilet seat was ready to come off with one wrong move. There was a sign on the door that stated "for your protection, while in room engage the security deadbolt" BUT that deadbolt lock did not move when I tried to turn it. At least it had a chain. There was a safe like most hotels have but this one was not secured to anything... It was just sitting on the floor and could be moved and picked up easily, but it was better than nothing.

Overall I think it was a bit expensive for the area, type of motel and internal quality and would not recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevators when getting rooms, don't be afraid to ask for what you want!
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank iamjay1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Danny exemplifies what a manager should do, he understands his customers needs and takes action. A great stay with a clean room in a good location.

For the people complaining...if you pay $600 for a room you expect a certain level of comfort, service and care. If you pay $100 for a hotel in the center of Brooklyn you have to understand what you get. I know what everyone wants, a $100 room in the center of Manhattan at the Four Seasons. This is a damn good deal for the price you pay and some great service as well.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicochico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

It would be really easy to be very critical of this motel. It is well off the beaten trail and deep within a black neighbourhood and on first impressions is a hotel that you would take one look at and then turn trail and run; I almost did! However this is a basic community MOTEL!

This isn't a tourist motel or location. Therefore if you come with those expectations you are going to be very disappointed. However if you have friends or family in Brooklyn then you will already be acclimatised to the community and therefore feel able to use this motel as the extra bedroom in your friends house it is.

The common parts are shabby with the high security reception being a low point. The tea and coffee area is poor and uninviting. The rooms are clean and meet the standard of the average 2 star travelodge, although someone was smoking in my room before I got it so out with the Febreze, provided care of the handy mini mark across the road.

There is a nice dinner also opposite the motel which has good food and company. The Dunkin' Donuts is on the other corner and seem popular.

Brooklyn is a transport blackhole if you aren't driving. That said the 46 bus stops outside and has a frequent service. We walk to the subway which is about 20 mins from the motel. It is about 40 mins on the subway to manhattan downtown.

I stay here as part of a family group with a number of rooms. Judging this over the 6 rooms we had it was fine. We have releatives in the immediate area so after an initial rush of 5 star panic, it turned out ok. Given the choice between here and bunking down in someone spare room or pull out sofa, here wins hands down. Basic needs met but not my first choice for my tourist visit.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KMgibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

If you are looking for an affordable option to expensive Manhattan try this very cute, clean and professionally run Park Slope hotel. Room is small but immaculate, updated and very friendly. Rate includes a very decent breakfast served in a warm and intimate breakfast room on first floor. Cannot beat this for value.
Only negative is that hotel allows smoking on certain floors. Make sure to avoid those floors.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Raynard3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

We spent 3 nights in this motel. Fridge did not work and was never repaired.Spent two nights afraid that someone would burst through the door. Lots or loud talking and cussing late at night.No adequate parking sign posted on sidewalk warns "park at your own risk."During day
sidewalks very congested with repairmen from the auto shop next door soliciting repair work. We were charged for out stay when we walked in. If you wish to enjoy your stay in New York
do not stay in this place

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 18Wannabe18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights and I was expecting the worst. The reviews on TripAdvisor had led me to believe that it would not be a good experience. However, it was fine.THe area was safe surrounding the hotel, the hotel was clean, the staff was extremely helpful. I would most definetely stay there again when my travels give cause for me to be in Brooklyn and Manhattan. The busstop outside the hotel takes you straight to the mall. The cultural diversity was interesting and I found all the people I came into contact with in the neighbourhoods, restaurants, bus, etc to be most helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank MarthaBermuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
5.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Brooklyn
Comfort Inn Brooklyn
#39 of 72 in Brooklyn
63 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Brooklyn East
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Arena Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Midwood Suites
Midwood Suites
#61 of 72 in Brooklyn
78 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sleep Inn Brooklyn Downtown
3.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Brooklyn Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Brooklyn City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Brooklyn City Center

Address: 599 Utica Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11203-1916 (Formerly Motel 6 Brooklyn)
Region: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Brooklyn City Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Comfort Inn Brooklyn City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Hotel Brooklyn
Howard Johnson Brooklyn
Howard Johnson Hotel Brooklyn
Brooklyn Howard Johnson
Comfort Inn Brooklyn City Center New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing