We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friends who stayed next door were jealous!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brooklyn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Honey's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #30 of 57 Brooklyn B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friends who stayed next door were jealous!”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

It was like a home away from home, only better. The breakfast, eggs, fruit, yogurt, toast, granola, coffee, tea, hebal tea, jam, orange juice, dulce de leche, were a perfect way to start a busy day. Even the house guests were like family fatter the first day, the owners and manager were so welcoming and warm. They also helped us worth arranging transportation.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanFromTx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    12
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
18
26
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Imagine our delight when my friend and I woke in the morning not to the sounds of traffic but to cool, light breezes and the singing of birds. We could not believe we were in Brooklyn, New York. But our whole weekend was one of delightful surprises.
One was Honey's, an amazing antique filled oasis. We congratulated ourselves on choosing such a lovely B&B instead of a faceless hotel on our visit to New York. We thoroughly enjoyed talking to the very hospitable Carlos who explained how Honey's uses solar heating for hot water. Very green! We loved Celia who was so warm and thoughtful and made us a perfect breakfast in the morning with eggs to order. We sat in the lovely spacious dining room with families visiting from Europe who had come to see New York. A friendly, relaxed atmosphere prevailed throughout.
Another pleasant surprise was the Ditmas Park neighborhood itself, with one amazing Victorian home after another. Saturday afternoon we walked to Mimi's Restaurant, a 15 minute walk away. My friend's son is still dreaming about the food!
A final happy surprise was the spacious public areas for guests, including the living room with an outdoor balcony, TV and computer all for our use on the main floor.
We look forward to a return trip to Honey's!

Room Tip: Loved the room on the ground floor. Plenty of privacy and even our own kitchen to make our won food...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandytoze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2013

This is the most fantastic place, we loved our stay there. The rooms are great, the breakfast are amazing, and the hosts are so nice and helpful people :-)
It is placed in a quiet and beautiful neighborhood and nearby there are lots of great places to eat.
the subway is just a few hundred meters away.
Perfect :-)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarieROAarhus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2013 via mobile

Would recommend to all family and friends. Great caretakers and a beautiful home. Fresh fruit plate, juice and a hot breakfast if you choose. Ceilia is very helpful and kind and is knowledgeable about Brooklyn.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Etothehow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

NYC can be kind of overwhelming until you come to terms with it, and returning to Honey's B&B at the end of the day was often a relief. My room was spacious and well heated, with a comfortable bed and a large bookshelf. Guests have full use of the kitchen, the living room and the balcony; I didn't use the kitchen and it was too cold for the balcony but the living room felt just like home.

Laura and Carlos were delightful; interested and full of useful advice yet also unobtrusive. This is not that B&B where the hosts want to chat to you incessantly. Celia, the housekeeper, was also lovely.

I also adored the kittens living under the balcony!

I've stayed in the USA for a number of months and the breakfast, although simple is easily the best I've had at any B&B. Fresh fruit, organic toast, muesli, eggs done the way you like it, orange juice and bottomless coffee plus bagels on Sunday.

Admittedly you're about half an hour by subway from Manhattan but don't discount the lively neighbourhoods to the south in Midwood and to the north in Cortelyou Rd. Prospect park is fantastic for a run and the Brooklyn Museum is an uncrowded alternative to the art museums in Manhattan with an amazing Egyptian and African art collection!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Appoooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Honey's B&B is another preferred alternative to the more expensive hotels in the NYC area. For $130/night you can get a comfortable room, shared bathroom, breakfast, free parking and a common area to sit and read. Downsides were only 2 towels for two people and multiple doors that needed to be locked and unlocked when negotiating the house. Still, it's located walking distance to the Q train, restaurants on Cortelyou and the Ditmas area. Cecilia is accommodating and serves individual breakfasts and endless coffee.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

I can't comment on this B&B's amenities because Hurricane Sandy prevented my visit. However, I can report on how Laura Berger of Honey's Bed and Breakfast in Brooklyn New York mistreats potential patrons. When it became obvious I could not get to LaGuardia (or the B&B) and I requested a full refund, she refused. Send advance payments to Laura Berger of Honey's Bed and Breakfast in Brooklyn New York at your own risk.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Patrushka-2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauraathoneys, Owner at Honey's Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 April 2013
Sadly, this is someone I must respond to. This person was prevented from coming to us because of Hurricane Sandy. It was a terrible time. Everyone was concerned and thoughtful. In the midst of this disaster, she called demanding a full refund, and seemingly thoughtless. Unfortunately she did not bring out the best in me, which I regret.
However, it must be said, everyone who lost time or money with us because of the hurricane got full refunds without issue. And so did this person receive a full refund mailed to her quite some time ago. I strive to be fair and generous.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.5 mi away
Midwood Suites
Midwood Suites
#55 of 72 in Brooklyn
77 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Brooklyn Bay Hotel
1.4 mi away
Avenue Plaza Hotel
Avenue Plaza Hotel
#35 of 72 in Brooklyn
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Brooklyn
The Brooklyn
#9 of 72 in Brooklyn
209 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Loralei B&B
The Loralei B&B
#2 of 57 in Brooklyn
191 reviews
0.3 mi away
J-Stel
J-Stel
#17 of 51 in Brooklyn
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honey's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honey's Bed and Breakfast

Property: Honey's Bed and Breakfast
Address: 770 Westminster Rd, Brooklyn, NY 11230-2402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Honey's Bed And Breakfast Brooklyn, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing