We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultra-hip hotel with great amenities; definitely recommended”
Review of Hotel Le Bleu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Le Bleu
Ranked #15 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ultra-hip hotel with great amenities; definitely recommended”
Reviewed 19 January 2010

I flew into NYC for the weekend and at the recommendation of a friend decided to try staying outside Manhattan - specifically Hotel Le Bleu - to save some money but not compromise on style. At first I was a bit unsure about it as I got out of the subway, but after a short walk came upon what was like an oasis of Manhattan hip (at Brooklyn prices :). A stretched limo and fancy cars in the parking lot was my first clue that this spot was a good idea; check-in was smooth; and then the room...*awesome*. Like Virgin America (the airline I flew), they've captured the essence of hip/cool/modern. From the bed to the shower to the Bose stereo system, all was spot on. The free waters and snacks at check-in and the free in-room light bfast delivery turned out to be lifesavers, as did the free wifi. As far as downsides, I'd say the area around the hotel wasn't much to write about, though I was told we were walking distance to some gems.

Net net, this hotel is recommended for a younger, hip crowd that doesn't want a sub-par hotel stay but doesn't want to pay Manhattan prices. Getting to/from downtown Manhattan is easy enough (just like staying uptown). And you'll love the room...

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunrock78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    564
    305
    83
    43
    53
See reviews for
294
349
124
145
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2010

We landed in NY in a blizzard and arrived at Hotel Le Bleu late at night, after and very long and hair raising taxi ride from Newark.
The front desk staff were really welcoming and checked us in quickly. The restaurant served us dinner even though the kitchen had closed.
The room was great, large comfortable bed and huge shower room,
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LazyDaisy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Md
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2010

We went as 2 sets of adults and out 7&14 yr old kids in 2 rooms. The reception was great and the staff were helpful/courteous and remain so for the 4 days we were there. The room was nicely set out and clean. The shower/toilet being behind frosted glass was a bit odd, but we managed OK, even with the kids who thought it was wierd. It is not really suitable for mixed age families and would be down right odd if you shared with a buddy.

The room has a nice TV and a Bose sound system that takes up half the under-counter space with a sub-woofer/bass module! Sounds nice until you try and get some sleep and the neighbors are just watching TV..... then you might think it is a problem as you cannot get the TV low enough in volume to not shake the walls. Trendy, but not conducive to a relaxing time unless you party all night.

The other odd thing was the roof-top bar that seemed to have a nightclub Thursday through Sunday and also had private DJ's and events other times. This was the worst. Forget the neighbors TV this thing was thumping until 2am anyway and the sound just came through the windows and down the staircase (next to our room) - where people also left the hotel after they had enough to drink yelling and screaming.... fun. That might not be the worst aspect though.... to get to the club upstairs most people took the elevator, so on nights when we came back at 10pm or so the elevator was already full of disposable beer glasses and residual liquids on the floor.... These people can't go to the hotel floors since you need a door-key to swipe, but they certainly took up a number of elevators before we could get in yelling and sweating in front of the klds.... nice.

This place can't make up its mind what it wants to be... a hotel or a nightclub. Make a choice..... but do not expect me back.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sleggyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
timanctil, General Manager at Hotel Le Bleu, responded to this review, 8 January 2010
Thank you for taking the time to outline your experience and we greatly appreciate you including positive points to the hotel that have nothing to do with Vue Restaurant & Lounge. Our staff works exceptionally hard to provide warm and welcoming guest service.

Many modern hotels have adopted the progressive design of what are termed "voyeur" showers and a more open bath area. As we understand this can be awkward with children or certain ages or a friend, we designed the showers with an optional privacy curtain which encloses the shower area. In addition, we made sure we included several pictures of the bathroom area on our website. I'm very sorry it didn't work out well for your family. We were aiming for a sleek and modern design and certainly not to offend.

As mentioned in almost all of my previous Management Responses to Trip Advisor reviews, the owner of the night club is a separate tenant in this building. We are aggressively dealing with the noise issues and expect a resolution very soon.

Again, I appreciate you pointing out that Hotel le Bleu is clean, comfortable and provides solid customer service along with your evaluation of the night club and the issues it is causing.

Tim Anctil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2010

My husband and I spent one night at Hotel Le Bleu December 28, 2009 and were very happy with the accommodations. We were visiting friends who were at Cobble Hill and the location was very convenient and also near 5th Avenue, Brooklyn which has many small and cool cafes and shops. The king room was immaculate with some views, flat-screen TV with premium channels, a very comfortable bed with good linens, and a large shower (pull the outside curtain around it, otherwise it feels too much in the room). The room was good-sized compared to one we had had previously at Hotel La Jolie, also in Brooklyn. Breakfast is continental but with yogurt and some choice and delivered to your room at a time you specify. There is limited parking in the front parking lot which we were happy to get. The staff were all very friendly. There is a penthouse restaurant (I think dinner only and maybe weekend brunch) and lounge which we did not have time to try.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelLadyBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2009

This was my first trip to New York and while I wanted to see all the usual attractions of Manhattan, I also wanted to experience the 'real' New York. Brooklyn did not let me down. Hotel le Bleu is located on the somewhat industrial looking 4th Avenue but at no time did I ever feel unsafe. Just a block or three away on 5th & 7th are some of the best restaurants, cafes, diners and bars you could hope to find in any city.
The hotel itself was a very plesant surprise. From the moment we were greeted by Jamie, we knew this hotel had been a good choice. Jamie was extremely friendly and answered any questions we had. The same applied to all the staff we met during our stay. The rooms are beautifully decorated, comfortable and very spacious with some very nice touches from the huge Grohe shower head to the most recent copy of Time Out NY in your room. I would happily recommend Hotel Le Bleu to anyone. However, the bathroom area is very open - something to keep in mind if travelling with prudish friends and the breakfast package isn't worth it. Instead head to Daisy's Diner on 5th Ave and 9th St.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sindymc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2009

Looked promising but fell short of expectations. Breakfast is dreadful - I would advise against getting it. There is an option on the order form for what time you want it delivered but does not seem to matter - one morning it was delivered 2 hours earlier than we had asked for. Even if you don't order breakfast, you still get woken by noisy breakfast delivery to neighbours. No hot water in the showers some mornings - not good enough in the middle of a New York winter. Two major light fittings not working throughout the entire 7 day stay. Front desk gave wrong instructions with respect to catching the subway home during blizzard - turned what should have been a ten minute trip into a two hour odyssey. Purports to be a business hotel but no business centre. And don't expect a newspaper. Vue restaurant (although apparently not associated with hotel) is appalling - go to 5th avenue, brooklyn if you want decent food.
All in all, promising hotel let down by poor attention to detail. Would not consider staying there next time I am in town.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
timanctil, General Manager at Hotel Le Bleu, responded to this review, 30 December 2009
Thank you for posting your experience with Hotel le Bleu. It is disappointing whenever a guest leaves the hotel less than completely satisfied.

There are items mentioned that we certainly must take responsibility for - breakfast delivered too early and inaccurate directions are training issues. Thank you for giving us an opportunity to retrain and improve. I have instructed my morning breakfast attendants to work more quietly in the hallways as not to disrupt sleeping guests. Thank you for making that point.

Because we include all extras in the guest room rate like wireless internet, parking, in-room movies, local calls and welcome amenity, our morning fresh start basket is meant to be a small but fresh start to your day. Our Baked Muffins, Croissants, New York Bagels and Fresh Fruit selections are from a local deli and are prepared and delivered each morning along with lowfat yogurt and orange juice. I'm sorry you felt it was inadequate and again, I apologize that one morning it was delivered too early.

Our newspapers are kept in the lobby and are delivered upon request. Monday thru Friday we stock USA Today and on the weekend, we carry The New York Times. We have found there is a tremendous amount of unused and wasted paper when we purchase and deliver papers to every room, so we keep approximately 20 in the lobby daily.

As you stated, Vue Restaurant and Lounge are a separate tenant in our building. We are not affiliated with them in any capacity.

I'm sorry you left disappointed but your comments are very important. I would appreciate speaking to you via phone so we could have a more detailed discussion. I am available Monday-Friday during business hours at 718-625-1500.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2009

We are not in any way related to the staff of this hotel, so the comments are independent and not at all influenced. Unlike the previous writeup dated Dec 18, we were very pleased with our stay.
We were in town a day early prior to boarding the Cunard Queen May cruise. We had 3 rooms among six of us. All of us were very pleased with the Hotel Le Bleu. We found from our research that hotels in Brooklyn are surprisingly pricey because there are less choices, and this was the best deal we could find. The room has a modern and Euro style look. The room is clean. The bathroom consists of a large, I mean large, walk in shower with see through clear glass. Your partner can watch you shower while sitting on the bed. Well, if you really don't feel comfortable with that, you can pull the shower curtain around for privacy. We just thought it's really unique. The free breakfast is upstairs, it's basic, nothing fancy. The staff was very friendly, very helpful. There are free umbrellas for loan if it rains outside. It is within a very short walking distance to 5th Avenue where there are plenty of restaurants. Overall, our group thought this was a good find.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Guinevere and R... L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
1.1 mi away
NU Hotel
NU Hotel
#14 of 72 in Brooklyn
904 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn
1.0 mi away
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
#8 of 72 in Brooklyn
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Brooklyn
The Brooklyn
#10 of 72 in Brooklyn
214 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Brooklyn Downtown
1.3 mi away
Aloft New York Brooklyn
Aloft New York Brooklyn
#21 of 72 in Brooklyn
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Bleu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Bleu

Property: Hotel Le Bleu
Address: 370 4th Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11215-2718
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Brooklyn
#8 Family Hotel in Brooklyn
#11 Romantic Hotel in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Bleu 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's a quiet synergy that exists between Brooklyn and Hotel Le Bleu. Brooklyn is unique and vibrant, a place where individual style is praised and where fitting in means being different. Hotel Le Bleu mirrors the Brooklyn mindset and echoes its sense of originality and authenticity. From inside out, nothing about Hotel Le Bleu is ordinary or standard. Striking and powerful with its own distinct New York flavor, Hotel Le Bleu is the premiere hotel in the Brooklyn borough. Welcome to Brooklyn. Welcome to Hotel Le Bleu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Le Bleu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Bleu Hotel
Le Bleu Brooklyn
Hotel Le Bleu Brooklyn, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing