We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel - swimming pool slightly disappointing though.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
New York Marriott at the Brooklyn Bridge
Ranked #12 of 72 Hotels in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
Scottish Highlands
Level Contributor
184 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel - swimming pool slightly disappointing though.”
Reviewed 26 July 2010

We have just returned from a wonderful 2 week holiday at the Brooklyn Bridge Marriott hotel in New York. It's position is ideal for Borough Hall/Jay Street subway allowing easy access thoughout the City.

The hotel is first class and the staff are very attentive. The hotel has 2 'towers' (North and South). We asked for a high floor, quiet room and were allocated floor 15 out of 25 in the South tower. Although there was not much of a view from our window we enjoyed the peace and quiet we were allowed, both day and night.
The room has the added bonus of a mini fridge for guest use - slightly larger than a cooler. It was very useful to keep odds and ends cool in the middle of a New York heatwave (bliss!). It's worth noting that guests may request a larger fridge on arrival if required - these are available on a first come first served basis. An iron/ironing board are provided too - but a trouser press would also have been quite nice.
The only slight criticism I have is of the swimming pool (found in the South tower). The pool is independently run and falls a little short of the usual Marriott standard. The water was cloudy, the floor tiles around the pool edge were EXTREMELY slippery when wet (take extra care), the spa pool was very 'light' on bubbles, and the sauna was only moderately warm (guests are NOT permitted to increase the temperature). The life guard appears to be more interested in charging his mobile by the poolside than watching for potential hazzards. The pool opens early in the morning through to 10pm weekdays, but beware - at the weekend it opens at 9am and closes at 7pm. We found the lifeguards breaktime between 6pm and 6.45pm in the evening a little frustrating, simply because it didn't fit in well with our 5 year old eating and preparing for bed. Another point worth mentioning - in the changing rooms (no private cubicles) the lockers require a padlock (no coin/token locks). The pool staff do not provide these so we had to buy one - combination type is the best as you dont have to leave the key at the poolside either.
Internet access is VERY expensive -therefore didnt bother with it.
Vodafone didnt want to work there either - therefore didnt bother with it.
Without BOTH of them I had a great holiday.

A few tips...
Conside the New York Pass as it sometimes saves queueing and gives added extras - not needed for children under 6 though.
eat at Happy Days Diner on Montague Street - the Sliced Turkey salad is the BEST meal I have EVER had anywhere!
Buy the 14 day subway ticket at $51 - great value. Again not needed for under 6 year olds.
Visit Top of the Rock for even better views than from the top of the Empire State Building.
Don't bother with Coney Island-go to Long Island Rockaway Beach instead - lovely.
Visit Louis Martin Jewellers opposite Radio City and buy GOLD and DIAMONDS!!!!!
Visit Nintendo World at Rockafeller Plaza on a Sat/Sun afternoon and meet Mario!
Walk the Brooklyn Bridge - day or night - or both!
DRINK WATER>>>>DRINK WATER>>>>>DRINK WATER

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TellTheTruthPlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,965 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    943
    664
    236
    80
    42
See reviews for
526
395
118
680
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
87 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2010

One of few reasonable hotels in this location, and next to the Brooklyn Courthouse, so the rates are correspondingly high. Standard large-Marriott features, and frequently very busy. Expensive breakfasts, but may local places to eat as alternatives. 10 mins walk from Brooklyn Bridge.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank excel12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summit, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2010

Caught in a terrible heatwave without air conditioning, my family checked in for a night in June 2010, paying the full rack rate of about $350-$360 plus $60 in taxes.

The atttitude of Front Desk staffer Wynona was, "What can I do to be done with this person?," (rather than, "How can I help this person and make them a happy customer?") . This is just the latest evidence of continued service deterioration since the Marriott's opening. We've had family stay there 1-2 times a year since then, and service used to bend over backwards to help and be polite -- no longer. Such service is now a thing of the past.

Furthermore, for more than $400, I'd like to expect something better than threadbare towels and a faulty/loose showerhead in Room 418.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deantown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2010

I would stay at the Brooklyn Bridge Marriott for business (which I do frequently) or pleasure. The staff is exceptional - the front desk team are wonderful and friendly and both Don and Leonard in the Concierge Lounge are the best!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nextstepmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hobart
Level Contributor
240 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2010

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the Marriott in early June.
It is in a fantastic position, a few minutes walk to 2-3 subway entrances, very close walking to restaurants and banks and atms and grocery stores in Smith and Montague Streets.
Tkts is at the back of the hotel and a great spot to get cheaper Broadway seats without the lines of Times Square.
All staff at the Marriott were frierendly and helpful when approached.
The rooms were large, clean and more than adequate for our needs.
I do have a problem with paying $15 a day for internet use and believe it is time for all hotels to offer this as a free service, at least up to a reasonable download level.
This would allow those people like me who just want to check emails to do so at no cost

The hotel is a quick 20 minutes to 42nd street on the subway on 1 train which is fantastic.
A ten minute walk will take you to the promenade for the best view of lower Manhatten and the walk to and across the Brooklyn Bridge is a must.

This is a fantastic hotel, brilliant position, great staff and reasonable price.
Stay here rather than the madness of Manhatten

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ushy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2010

I will recommend this hotel for anyone. I stayed there for two weeks with friends, and I have nothing bad to say. You get alot of value for your money. Living in Manhattan for the same price would give you squat!

Good:
- Nice AND affordable
- Near subway. 10 min from central manhattan.
- Helping staff
- Nice facilities.

Bad:
Wicked expensive internet!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ss_no
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2010

Rooms did not have a clean and fresh smell. Carpet had a dingy odor (and that was the 2nd room change!).

Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Villagerc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Brooklyn/Downtown
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Brooklyn New York Hotel
0.3 mi away
NU Hotel
NU Hotel
#16 of 72 in Brooklyn
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
1 Hotel Brooklyn Bridge
1 Hotel Brooklyn Bridge
#6 of 72 in Brooklyn
258 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Brooklyn Downtown
0.2 mi away
Aloft New York Brooklyn
Aloft New York Brooklyn
#21 of 72 in Brooklyn
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Marriott at the Brooklyn Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott at the Brooklyn Bridge

Property: New York Marriott at the Brooklyn Bridge
Address: 333 Adams St, Brooklyn, NY 11201
Region: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Brooklyn
#6 Business Hotel in Brooklyn
#9 Romantic Hotel in Brooklyn
#9 Family Hotel in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Marriott at the Brooklyn Bridge 4*
Number of rooms: 665
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New York Marriott at the Brooklyn Bridge, is the ideal choice among Brooklyn, NY hotels for business or leisure travel. The hotel's luxurious and recently renovated accommodations boast a relaxed but modern atmosphere with state-of-the-art amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your New York Marriott at the Brooklyn Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott New York At The Brooklyn Bridge Hotel Brooklyn
New York City Marriott
Marriott Brooklyn Bridge
Brooklyn Marriott
New York Marriott At The Brooklyn Bridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing