We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An often overlooked gem.”

George Washington Carver National Monument
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Diamond
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: George Washington Carver's boyhood home is now a 210 acre park with a nature trail, museum, and interactive exhibit area.
Southwest Missouri
Level Contributor
177 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“An often overlooked gem.”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

I don't see why the National Parks service doesn't change their designation nomenclature. I realize that "monument" is a rank, not truly a description, but calling the GWC site a monument doesn't do it justice. There is so much to see and do here. This is a site that anyone traveling cross country on I-44 should stop to see. Only a few miles south of the interstate highway, the Carver farm honors a great scientist and educator, is the first National Monument to an African-American, offers a window into rural life in the late 19th century, and is a great introduction to Civil War history -- particularly the bloody Missouri/Kansas border wars. Highly recommended.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank 68amx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    24
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
345 reviews
255 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
“Fascinating & Great For Kids”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

While driving north from Arkansas to Kansas City, I noticed a sign for this memorial, and since I needed a driving break, I stopped. I'm so glad I did. I never really knew that much about GWC except that he had something to do with peanuts, and it was fascinating to learn about him. The film is well done and the exhibit are great. I was alone, but as a teacher, I always check out the children's exhibits, and these are some of the best. There is also a short nature trail so you can get outside, too. Definitely worth a stop, especially if you have kids.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelsWithRuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joplin, Missouri
Level Contributor
136 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“History and Nature Together!”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

What wonderful history lesson about a fantastic gentleman and inventor. The walking tour gives you the reason for Carver's love of nature.

Helpful?
2 Thank mocatlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joplin, Missouri
Level Contributor
194 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Nice place for a picnic & a little history.”
Reviewed 27 December 2011

They have a nice museum and a nice trail to walk. They have expanded in the last few years. The new additions are very nice, especially the short film on the life of Dr Carver.

Helpful?
3 Thank CaribeJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joplin, Missouri
Level Contributor
191 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Get to Know Carver”
Reviewed 29 November 2011

If all you know about George Washington Carver is that he discovered hundreds of ways to use the peanut, get ready to be surprised. The Carver Monument helps you get to know the Dr. Carver who also was an early advocate for bio-fuel and who was a great humanitarian. While visiting the monument you will learn about his early years as a slave as well as his great success later in life. The Monument sits on the original Carver farm where George first develped his affinity for plants and where he learned to listen to nature. You can walk through the woods on a handicapped accessible path, stroll around a beautiful spring fed pond, and visit the original Carver home. Along the path you will find etched stones with inspiring quotes from Dr. Carver The museum is a wonderful hands on opportunity for children to explore scientific concepts and to learn more about Dr. Carver. I have to admit, even we adults were drawn into the interactive displays. There is even a learning lab set up to look like a science room that Dr. Carver might have used. The rangers and staff are knowledgeable and helpful, and if you visit in the summer, you will find a lovely picnic area under mature oak, hickory and walnut trees. The whole setting is beautiful. Although the Monument is a bit off the beaten path, it is worth visiting. Take enough time to linger and get to know Dr. Carver.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank grandma80401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed George Washington Carver National Monument also viewed

 

Been to George Washington Carver National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing