We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everyone Should Stop Here!”

George Washington Carver National Monument
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Diamond
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: George Washington Carver's boyhood home is now a 210 acre park with a nature trail, museum, and interactive exhibit area.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
131 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Everyone Should Stop Here!”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

This was our second visit and we enjoyed it every bit as much as our first. Everyone in this country should visit this monument and especially every African-American. What a wonderful, godly man who gave so much to not only our country but the whole world. He is an inspiration to everyone and a testament to how one man can change the world! There is a walking trail that was easy to navigate. The displays are very well done. His quotes are very inspirational. It is worth driving way out of the way to stop here and the road leading to the Monument is a fun, hilly road!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MNClean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    24
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dacula, Georgia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Really great tribute”
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised with this site. A real diamond of a park in Diamond :). The museum was very informative and hands on for the kids. We enjoyed the video and exhibits.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lhutch72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Something for Everyone”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

The exhibits in the visitor center are really well done and have a little bit of info for everyone at any age. The exhibit off to the left as you enter is definitely appealing to adult audiences with longer written descriptions of the life and legacy of GWC (very interesting to me, but very well might bore others). Upstairs has exhibits much more interesting for children as many things are interactive and contain simpler explanations than those downstairs. We did not have time to watch the film, but did walk the 3/4 mile walking path to the cabin and saw the neat statue of GWC as a boy along the way. The walking trail was definitely worth the 30 minutes we spent on it! This is a short relaxing stop that encourages thought about the complexity and wonder of nature and our role as perceivers of all that surrounds us. Definitely visit if you have at least 30 minutes or so to spare!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joplin, Missouri
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Informative”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Great place to spend time hiking. Very nice trails. Very nice educational center... We like going here and learning about GW Carver and his many attributes.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank family4fun22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tucson
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A must see! Even for those that don't want to.”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This was my husband's "must see" stop on our road trip and I have to admit, I was skeptical. Okay, fine, let's go see the peanut guy. WOW! Was I wrong! (don't tell my husband) The grounds are beautiful and so fun to walk around and explore. My husband and son did the walk to the original cabin site and the inspirational walk and didn't come back for over an hour (even in 98 degree weather!)! My husband even marked this as his favorite spot on our 4500 mile road trip! My four year old daughter and I spent the time in the nicely air conditioned museum, having a great time with all of the hands on exhibits. The exhibits are more focused on slightly older children, but are safe enough for little ones to play with. The ranger was very friendly and of course, incredibly knowledgeable! Tips: Make sure your little ones do the jr ranger pages. Buy a "dirt" shirt in the gift shop (dyed with dirt!). Bring a picnic and lots of water (although near the bathrooms they have a water fountain that will actually fill water bottles!).

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank chendi317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed George Washington Carver National Monument also viewed

 

Been to George Washington Carver National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing