We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Far from perfect, and I love it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palace Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Silver City
Los Ranchos de Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Far from perfect, and I love it!”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

This historic hotel is authentic, complete with a squeeky bed and drippy faucet. Silver City is a fun town if you aren't looking for a common destination and the same goes for the Palace. If you can go for Memorial Weekend, the Blues Festival is great and FREE!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    85
    36
    8
    17
See reviews for
17
96
26
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mimbres, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This was our second stay, different room and once again we were pleased with the accommodations. In the evening there is seating in the lobby where guests gather and talk of their days experiences. We have stayed at the local chains near town and a newly "renovated" establishment nearby and the Palace is much nicer.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This Palace Hotel is smack dab downtown in a perfect location for anyone wanting the visit historic Silver City. Access is very easy to the Artists Studios and shops, River Walk area and downtown eateries and music. We stayed at the Palace during the Annual Silver City Blues Festival and the hotel is an easy walk to Gough Park for the festival.

The hotel itself is fun with character and historic. It reminds me of some of the European hotels I have stayed at over the years. The staff is friendly and helpful and the hotel is clean and quiet. There is a seating area upstairs for breakfast, reading and/or visiting. The price is in line for what it offers and as a tip there is a 10% off coupon on their website.

One item to note: There is not an elevator so handicap access could be a problem depending on what level you need.

Room Tip: Remember to check on your room whether it has an air conditioner or fan for the summer ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midwestern US
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

And fortunately we did not have a traumatic experience like his. We actually liked The Palace, even though it's not plush and the furnishings are a little dated. It's homey, friendly and priced about where it should be. If you are adventurous and would rather take a chance on a slightly dowdy, but comfortable older place instead of shelling out $110+ to stay in a chain, give The Palace a shot.
A couple of caveats, though...there is some noise from cars accelerating along Broadway below. After two nights at The Palace, I'm convinced that Silver City could use a good Midas shop- lots of bad exhausts in this town. And the breakfast is pretty basic. But it's okay for a quick cup of coffee, some juice and a bowl of cereal before heading out to explore the town. Most of the galleries and shops are a short walk away.

Room Tip: get one of the King rooms with a parlor/sitting area
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IrishJayhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph Ontario
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

If you want to try staying in a place that doesn't just evoke another era but actually is from another time, before TVs and elevators, then give the Palace Hotel a try. OK, there was a small TV in the large room - and a shower - but otherwise it felt like I'd left the 21st century behind. The breakfast offerings weren't the best but there are some great little cafes and restaurants close by. Silver City is a quirky and historic town and you can get a good feeling of it just by sitting quietly in the front lobby absorbing its faded elegance.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snapper1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

This hotel isn't for everybody, but I loved it's quirkiness. Many of the rooms are a different mix of bedrooms and living areas so it's a good idea to ask to look at some before deciding which one to take. The location is right in the middle to the old town area of Silver City and you can literally walk out of the door and be right by Javalina, a wonderful coffee shop. We didn't have noise issues as others have had (it was a midweek night in April and we noticed the bar across the street has gone out of business...), nor did we need heating. Breakfast was served on the second floor landing and was the best we had during our week in New Mexico.

Room Tip: There's a 10% off coupon on their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giantaxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOMER
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

This hotel has a lot of potential but the service is very poor and the maintenance of the hotel is apparently nonexistent. I have not given a one star rating before but this place deserves it. The place we rented was three rooms, two for sleeping and a common room between. It was cold as we were there in early March. The temperature in the rooms was probably in the mid 50's. We plugged in the electric heaters that were in each bedroom and promptly blew the circuit breakers. The person at the front desk came and said to try different outlets so as not to overtax the system. They stayed on for about 10 minutes that time before blowing the breakers again. We ended up unplugging all the appliances and turning on just the lights that we needed and they stayed on for awhile longer but still blew the breakers again. There were some hot water radiators in the rooms but they never did work even though we were told that the boiler had been turned on. At about 11 pm there was a constant parade of people showing up to there rooms coming up the stairs which were right outside our rooms. This went on till about 3 am. After 10 am there was no one at the front desk when the breakers blew again. Someone did come storming out of a room to turn them back on again but ducked back into her room before I could talk to her. When we went to check out in the morning there was no one there so we left the keys on the desk and left without a receipt of any kind. I don't really require much of a hotel it just needs to be clean, safe and quiet. None of those needs were meant at this place. We ended up staying the next two nights at the Comfort Inn. It is unremarkable but it is clean, safe and quiet.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KARL C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Silver City hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Silver City hotels
0.0 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#1 of 9 in Silver City
205 reviews
1.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#2 of 9 in Silver City
162 reviews
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Gila National Forest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn Silver City
Rodeway Inn Silver City
#8 of 9 in Silver City
57 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Silver City
1.0 mi away
Copper Manor Motel
Copper Manor Motel
#6 of 9 in Silver City
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel

Property: Palace Hotel
Address: 106 W Broadway St, Silver City, NM 88061-5324
Region: United States > New Mexico > Silver City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Silver City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come join us at the Palace Hotel‚ located in the heart of the historic district of downtown Silver City. Just step out the door and you’ll find art galleries‚ specialty shops‚ theaters and restaurants‚ all within walking distance. Our 22 charming guest rooms and suites are reminiscent of a small hotel in the European tradition. Your day will begin with a complimentary continental breakfast‚ in the upstairs skylit room . . . an extension to our guests rooms which can be used for intimate conversations‚ quiet reading or making new friendships. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Silver City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing