We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight Stay”
Review of Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palace Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Silver City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2013

I stayed at the Palace Hotel, Silver City NM in late May 2013.
The hotel is quite a gem with much old world charm and it is a very different experience from the chain hotels. So it is old and a bit quirky. The floorbords creak.
Check in went smoothly and the lass behind the counter was helpful with restaurant suggestions.
I reserved Room 76, described as - Large Room, Queen Bed, Full Bath. The room might have been described as 'large' but it was a challenge to find somewhere to put a suitcase and to use the laptop.
This room is on the corner of E Broadway St and Nth Bullard Sts. It is right above a cafe. The hotel WiFi signal was pretty weak as this room is about as far as you can get from the reception area. However the signal strength from the cafe just below was very strong, so I used that.
I stayed here for just one night - a Saturday night. To cool the room a little I opened both windows and a very nice cross breeze came through this corner room. The only downside to this is that the hooting and hollering from the bar patrons just up the street on Nth Bullard went on till very late in the night. Couple this with the traffic stopping and launching at the lights right outside and it was noisy. I sleep soundly and this wasn't a big deal, but if you are a light sleeper then it would be a problem.
The breakfast is available on the 2nd floor mezzanine level and was quite good.
Overall I was happy with the experience and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HmmmAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2013

This historic hotel is authentic, complete with a squeeky bed and drippy faucet. Silver City is a fun town if you aren't looking for a common destination and the same goes for the Palace. If you can go for Memorial Weekend, the Blues Festival is great and FREE!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This was our second stay, different room and once again we were pleased with the accommodations. In the evening there is seating in the lobby where guests gather and talk of their days experiences. We have stayed at the local chains near town and a newly "renovated" establishment nearby and the Palace is much nicer.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This Palace Hotel is smack dab downtown in a perfect location for anyone wanting the visit historic Silver City. Access is very easy to the Artists Studios and shops, River Walk area and downtown eateries and music. We stayed at the Palace during the Annual Silver City Blues Festival and the hotel is an easy walk to Gough Park for the festival.

The hotel itself is fun with character and historic. It reminds me of some of the European hotels I have stayed at over the years. The staff is friendly and helpful and the hotel is clean and quiet. There is a seating area upstairs for breakfast, reading and/or visiting. The price is in line for what it offers and as a tip there is a 10% off coupon on their website.

One item to note: There is not an elevator so handicap access could be a problem depending on what level you need.

Room Tip: Remember to check on your room whether it has an air conditioner or fan for the summer ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

And fortunately we did not have a traumatic experience like his. We actually liked The Palace, even though it's not plush and the furnishings are a little dated. It's homey, friendly and priced about where it should be. If you are adventurous and would rather take a chance on a slightly dowdy, but comfortable older place instead of shelling out $110+ to stay in a chain, give The Palace a shot.
A couple of caveats, though...there is some noise from cars accelerating along Broadway below. After two nights at The Palace, I'm convinced that Silver City could use a good Midas shop- lots of bad exhausts in this town. And the breakfast is pretty basic. But it's okay for a quick cup of coffee, some juice and a bowl of cereal before heading out to explore the town. Most of the galleries and shops are a short walk away.

Room Tip: get one of the King rooms with a parlor/sitting area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IrishJayhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

If you want to try staying in a place that doesn't just evoke another era but actually is from another time, before TVs and elevators, then give the Palace Hotel a try. OK, there was a small TV in the large room - and a shower - but otherwise it felt like I'd left the 21st century behind. The breakfast offerings weren't the best but there are some great little cafes and restaurants close by. Silver City is a quirky and historic town and you can get a good feeling of it just by sitting quietly in the front lobby absorbing its faded elegance.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snapper1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

This hotel isn't for everybody, but I loved it's quirkiness. Many of the rooms are a different mix of bedrooms and living areas so it's a good idea to ask to look at some before deciding which one to take. The location is right in the middle to the old town area of Silver City and you can literally walk out of the door and be right by Javalina, a wonderful coffee shop. We didn't have noise issues as others have had (it was a midweek night in April and we noticed the bar across the street has gone out of business...), nor did we need heating. Breakfast was served on the second floor landing and was the best we had during our week in New Mexico.

Room Tip: There's a 10% off coupon on their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Giantaxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Silver City hotels
0.0 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#2 of 9 in Silver City
229 reviews
1.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#3 of 9 in Silver City
175 reviews
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Gila National Forest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Silver City
7.9 mi away
Pinos Altos Cabins
Pinos Altos Cabins
#3 of 11 in Silver City
12 reviews
3.7 mi away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#1 of 8 in Silver City
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel

Address: 106 W Broadway St, Silver City, NM 88061-5324
Region: United States > New Mexico > Silver City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Silver City
Price Range: £65 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come join us at the Palace Hotel‚ located in the heart of the historic district of downtown Silver City. Just step out the door and you’ll find art galleries‚ specialty shops‚ theaters and restaurants‚ all within walking distance. Our 22 charming guest rooms and suites are reminiscent of a small hotel in the European tradition. Your day will begin with a complimentary continental breakfast‚ in the upstairs skylit room . . . an extension to our guests rooms which can be used for intimate conversations‚ quiet reading or making new friendships. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Silver City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing