We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too much like Granny's guestroom”
Review of Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palace Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Silver City
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
251 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
“Too much like Granny's guestroom”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The location is good if you are on foot; every good restaurant in town is within walking distance, along with other city attractions, such as they are. However, this is an aged hotel and has not been well upgraded. "Air-conditioned suites" are two rooms with three fans and a swamp cooler. There were no dressers in our room and we had to stash clothes in odd places, including what we were told was the only desk in the entire building, (which we specially requested). The internet is only good if not too many people are using it. We made do with our own extension cord when electricity wasn't well located. The ironing board wobbled dangerously. The TV was the size of a large computer screen and was hard to hear over the fans. The oversized bathtub took hours to drain. The breakfast was surprisingly generous but the canned fruit had started to turn in the heat. I really hated the foam pillows.

Room Tip: Every room is different. Make sure the desk knows what amenities you need so they can find the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VN F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilverHotelPalace, Owner at Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your response. We take all of our guest's concerns seriously and do our very best to correct issues that arise. Please note our two room suites do not have swamp coolers, but portable air conditioning units, and new flat screen televisions which do not have a controlled volume. Also, several of our larger rooms/suites do have desks and reliable wifi. We never had and will never have 'foam' pillows. We work diligently to upgrade our 1882 historic property and will continue to in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    87
    36
    8
    17
See reviews for
17
97
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockdale, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This hotel is still paper and pen. It was a little different than any place we have ever stayed. We stayed in a 2 room suite. It was roomy, but only one room had an ac unit. the other had a huge fan and that room was hot all night. In the morning we realized the large fan might have been some sort of water cooler, but no one showed us how it. Breakfast was on the lighter side of continental. But the real plates and bowls and silverware were a nice compromise. The only other complaint is, we felt as if we had to be extra quit because it was a more like a house/hallway setting. Weird but it works I guess. Oh and Hubby swears he heard someone breathing in our room....

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsLoveBugL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilverHotelPalace, Owner at Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
We are sorry to hear about the issues with your stay and the inconveniences you experienced, but thank you for providing feedback as it helps to make positive changes. Our historic property was built 132 years ago and is far more insulated for noise, heating and cooling than many newly constructed buildings. Also, we have posted quiet times from 10 p.m. to 7 a.m. in our interior hallways. As far as 'breathing in our room' - we have yet to personally experience paranormal activity after 24 years of operation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We started our stay by killing a cockroach in the room. Then we had to kill about 15 beetles (not bed bugs) that were attracted to the bed, not sure how they got in. We paid for an air conditioned room, but the room air conditioner didn't reach the bed so we were hot the first night, but didn't want to open the window and possibly let in more beetles. The bed also was super soft and swayed in the middle. The next day, we ate the breakfast and I spent the rest of the day vomiting in the room. It was awful. I'm not sure what was bad, although we did notice that some of the yogurt's were expired. I would never stay here again although they have put a lot of work into making the place pretty.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliee N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilverHotelPalace, Owner at Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
I am sorry about your negative experience at our hotel. We encourage our guests who may have a problem to present their concerns with our staff so we can rectify the situation immediately, sometimes by changing rooms/suites for them. We do have a professional exterminator spray for pests on a regular basis hopefully to ensure we are bug free. Our beds are new and we have found bed firmness is a matter of personal preference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The Continental Divide Trail goes right through Silver City, until the trail re-route is finished that will go around town. I was hiking the trail through New Mexico and planned to take a day off in Silver City. I was glad I chose the Palace Hotel--it was cheaper than the chain motels and closer to amenities so I didn't have to walk all over town to get what I needed--laundry, market, restaurant (there is a brew pub across the street and a coffee place around the corner), outdoor store (Gila Hike and Bike), computer at library (although the hotel has wireless).I was also delighted with the ambiance from the 1880's. I enjoyed being on the second floor and looking down on downtown Silver City. The room was comfortable. They provided breakfast, which was good and there was always cookies available for munching. I wish I stayed another night, there's so much to do and see in town..

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fireweed108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun City
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

From the time we walk in the door we're transported back 100 years - except we have all the amenities of 2014. Bear in mind that this building dates from the glory days of Silver City - insulation is thin by modern standards, and all rooms are on the second floor, which does not have elevator access. What it does have is a beautiful sitting area to sit, relax, have a drink or snack, play games, meet new people - and have breakfast in the morning. Some rooms do not have AC, but do have ceiling fans, so that would be worth asking about in hot weather. There are restaurants in easy walking distance, and the Palace serves a nice breakfast.

Room Tip: Some rooms are very small. just ask. 2 room suites are available for about 15 bucks more, and they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spyderman47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We have stayed here several times. Old downtown hotel, easy to walk everywhere. Good eats near. Nice folks. Rooms a old and a little worn down, but very comfortable. And, to comply with this idiotic requirement here are more characters not worth reading

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MemoK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLORIDA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel numerous times when on vacation in the area, most recently this past January. Silver City itself is such an eclectic town with a long history of the wild west! The Palace Hotel keeps the tradition of the history of the area.. You feel like you have gone back in time yet virtually all the modern comforts are there!
The lobby and the rooms are appointed in cool old fashion style.. keeping with the historic theme.
Because it is a genuine old downtown hotel you do need to go up to the second floor to your room on stairs...no elevator.  That really shouldn't be a problem for most visitors as there is a landing half way up.
The management has a clear understanding of the area and was very helpful in my learning more about Silver City.
This hotel might not be for everyone who insists on pure luxury with room service, big screen TV's and the various other features you might expect at a Hilton or Hyatt or Holiday Inn.. but of course the price isn't up there either.. My personal opinion is I will take this flavor facility over the more conventional any day!!
I highly recommend it for the person who is looking for a unique, comfortable, historic atmosphere in a convenient downtown setting.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MLHARRISFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Silver City hotels
0.0 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#2 of 9 in Silver City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
1.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#1 of 9 in Silver City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Gila National Forest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn Silver City
Rodeway Inn Silver City
#8 of 9 in Silver City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Silver City
1.0 mi away
Copper Manor Motel
Copper Manor Motel
#6 of 9 in Silver City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel

Property: Palace Hotel
Address: 106 W Broadway St, Silver City, NM 88061-5324
Region: United States > New Mexico > Silver City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Silver City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come join us at the Palace Hotel‚ located in the heart of the historic district of downtown Silver City. Just step out the door and you’ll find art galleries‚ specialty shops‚ theaters and restaurants‚ all within walking distance. Our 22 charming guest rooms and suites are reminiscent of a small hotel in the European tradition. Your day will begin with a complimentary continental breakfast‚ in the upstairs skylit room . . . an extension to our guests rooms which can be used for intimate conversations‚ quiet reading or making new friendships. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Silver City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing