We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm is definitely a subjective quality”
Review of Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Palace Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Silver City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2007

Maybe quirky would be a better word for the Palace Hotel. As noted in other reviews the rooms are not cookie cutter, nor is the furniture, the lobby, the breakfast area. The place is truly one of a kind, unique. And whether or not it appeals to you probably has much to do with your personal expectations for charm.

The location, in the fascinating old downtown is excellent. Close to great restaurants and a number of galleries and stores. The furniture in our suite had seen better days and there were some strange touches, like 2 tvs in the living room. We never tryed either of them but I assume one of them didn't work. They were both old models. The rooms were clean enough. They didn't seem sparkling but that may just be a result of the old mismatched furniture and fixtures. The toilet bowl finish was peeling. We did not experience any noise problems mentioned in some of the other reviews, Silver City in general seemed rather quiet when we were there (1st weekend in Dec). I loved Silver City and that area of SW New Mexico and will return someday to explore it further. Whether or not I would stay at the Palace again however is an open question, basically would the great location that encouraged walking the downtown vs driving it take precedence over the tattered feeling inside the hotel.

Stayed: December 2006
5  Thank MspTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2007

My husband and I chose the Palace Hotel in Silver City primarily for it's convenient access to the Old Downtown area, and the quaint funky charm of the historic building.
I called and spoke with the manager directly and specifically requested a particular room. She told me that it was available for the weekend nights we were going to be in town, and that we were booked for that room. I used a credit card to hold the reservation. When we arrived, we were given the key to a different room, the credit card was charged for two nights, in advance, without preview of the room we were being shuffled off to. When asked why we were being bumped out of a room that we had requested and been assured we would have, the woman behind the desk tells us she is just the owner and has no idea why we were switched.
The room was not anywhere near as nice as the other rooms. The toilet leaked at the base, the hot water for the shower barely reached lukewarm, the floor fan did not work and the ceiling fan barely rotated. There was a door to nowhere that had a next door room window sharing the gap in the building and the person in that room had the tv on all night, every night, that created a light show in our room. The laundry facility was, also, just outside our door and the dryer buzzer started going off early in the morning.
The front desk attitude needs much improvement, that is if you can find someone at the front desk. We definitely will not stay there again. There appears to be a nice B&B just up the street that we may try on our next trip to Silver City.

Stayed: February 2007
3  Thank Rhea47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2006

This is a classic hotel with a wonderful downtown location. Rooms are small and yes you can hear people in the next room. It is good value for money but do not expect a Holiday Inn experience. If you are fun and flexible this is the place for you. Try to get room away from the main street as cafe below stays open late.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank EricBlair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2006

I have stayed here before but wanted my companion to experience it first hand. Yes it is noisy and you have to climb stairs but it is worth it to have the fun of staying here. Each room or suite is different and that in itself is worth seeing. Always ask for a room at the back. Remember, they have earplugs available if traffic noise is a problem. No air conditioning, either ,but there are fans. At least drop in and give it a try. Remember that there is no elevator so the stairs are a necessity.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank travelinggran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2006

We seek out & really enjoy staying in historic hotels. Being historic we don't expect all the bells & whistles new hotels offer to their guests such as air conditioning, elevators, etc.. However, we do expect hotel staff to be pleased to see their guests. This was not the case with the Palace staff. When we arrived the 2 women staff members were seated in chairs reading books...there was a no vacancy sign on the check-in desk. Neither moved from their positions, one woman asked if we had a reservation while pointing at the sign. When we said yes, she seemed quite put out at having to get out of her chair.
A huge drawback to the hotel is that it doesn't have a designated loading zone in front & if you have to park blocks & blocks away...well, then you'll have to haul your luggage that distance.
Silver City boasts that it has many, many restaurants...unfortunately, other than maybe two, all the rest seem to close their doors at the first sign of darkness.

  • Stayed: May 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Matryshka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2006

I had planned to stay at a budget motel on the bland motel strip but found this location when exploring the fascinating mainstreet downtown. The rates were comparable and the charm and history was an added bonus. Having stayed at such places before, I knew that "service and extravagance" is difficult to provide considering the size and economic constraints faced by small businesses, instead, independent thought (fixing things yourself and figuring out how to solve problems) and human interaction is the norm. This is a historic building and an old hotel, complete with the attributes of such.

Part of the appeal is the close proximity of the rooms and gathering areas, one has to climb up one set of stairs and actually say hello to other guests, what an anachronism in our indifferent and fast paced era. If you want service or excessively "clean" gigantic rooms, go to a Hilton or Hyatt, this place is purely for the enthusiasts who enjoy old style ambiance. The person at the desk was extremely friendly, even giving me the option of looking inside the room before I paid, without a hint of suspicion that I could have destroyed it. She spoke to me of the town and of life itself, which is a rarity at the box chain hotels, when at the Hyatt New York I wasn't even greeted at all!

Breakfast is provided, included are cereal, juice, bagels, yogurt, breads and coffee. Plenty of reading material and chairs to sit upon inside the amiable lobby and you can even stroll along the streets and get a drink at one of the little stores in town.

Parking on the nearby street, which is hardly "dangerous" as one reviewer stated, as the town is quite small and at night it is very desolate and quiet. I had a corner room with a fan and a shower/bath. No problems at all with either the size or anything else, even the "loud noise" from the street and Vine bar and Buffalo bar were minimal, earplugs are provided also. A cafe is underneath the hotel, a few other eateries in the vicinity and plenty of stores and art shoppes to explore.

There are fire alarms and easy escapes in case of fire, and it really is not 'dangerous' as a frightened reviewer stated, the street is constantly patrolled by the Sheriff. After 10pm the front door is locked, a code is given to guests to re-enter.

Again, if you are to be pampered, or are paranoid of "germs" and a few "worn" pieces of plumbing or wood (the building is from 1890), then maybe you should find another hotel but I had no problems whatsoever with this beautiful establishment. I recommend it to those wanting to explore a little town which invests in its main street and its individual appeal.

Stayed: March 2006
29  Thank Meursault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2005

This hotel is definitely more in the European style, funky and rambling. We stayed in a "suite" that had a bedroom and a living area, with a bath in between. Each room had its own sink and mirror. The bed in the bedroom was king size, but had some serious structural issues with the frame on one side.

I'd recommend asking detailed questions about the room location before booking.There was some street noise. It wasn't too bad the night we were there, but you could see how it might be worse on a night when the Buffalo Bar below was hopping. There was also mysterious piano music coming from downstairs at one point during the night.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CK107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Silver City hotels
0 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#1 of 9 in Silver City
232 reviews
1.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#4 of 9 in Silver City
177 reviews
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Gila National Forest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn Silver City
Rodeway Inn Silver City
#9 of 9 in Silver City
59 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Silver City
3.7 mi away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#1 of 8 in Silver City
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel

Address: 106 W Broadway St, Silver City, NM 88061-5324
Region: United States > New Mexico > Silver City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Silver City
Price Range: £65 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come join us at the Palace Hotel‚ located in the heart of the historic district of downtown Silver City. Just step out the door and you’ll find art galleries‚ specialty shops‚ theaters and restaurants‚ all within walking distance. Our 22 charming guest rooms and suites are reminiscent of a small hotel in the European tradition. Your day will begin with a complimentary continental breakfast‚ in the upstairs skylit room . . . an extension to our guests rooms which can be used for intimate conversations‚ quiet reading or making new friendships. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Silver City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing