We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good price”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Silver City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 18 March 2012

My husband and I and our three kids stayed two nights this past weekend and I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone passing through Silver City. We were in town to visit the Gila Cave Dwellings and the clerk was really great with all the questions I had. Breakfast was average but still generally better than many places we have stayed, more of a variety. The rooms were clean, and not really dated, but the arm chair tilted to the side when you reclined it. Not really an issue. The pool was nice, clean and not too busy. The location of the hotel is a definite plus, and I highly recommend the Mexican delivery place that is advertised in the hotel room book. The food was excellent and the manager was terrific! Microwave, fridge, nice views, and the beds were comfortable. We also noticed that the hotel was fairly quiet, no noise through the doors or walls, and outside noise was non-existent. All in all, good place for a decent price.

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor(top floor) and that probably contributed to the general peaceful quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank V2traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2012

This hotel was a bit dated. However, the staff and cleanliness of the hotel made up for that. Our 3 children enjoyed the pool, which they were kind enough to put us directly across the hall from. Also, we have a handicapped son so the room was plenty roomy for us. We had a king room with foldout couch and had plenty of room for a rollaway bed. The hotel offers a laundry room, but only one washer and one dryer. Breakfast was average. Great price and beautiful scenery at the catwalk canyon and Gila Forest.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank naomilchance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

My four year old had a couple of minor food spills on the bed on the first night of a three night stay at this hotel. It was very minor and we wiped off her chocolate milk and papa johns pizza sauce with a towel. We received no maid service the first day and called down to get some additional towels that evening, a really nice staff person named Meghan gladly brought the towels and apologized profusely (she was really nice).

We swam in the pool the first day but it was closed the rest of the time we were there. Staff came into the pool area while we were about to get in the second day and explained that it was closed. Later that day I called the desk to see if it was open again, a very nice desk staff named Jeremy told me it was closed because the person who knew how to chlorinate the pool was out of town.

We had gone out Saturday morning (9:30) and it was very cold and runoff from the roof from snow on that friday afternoon had froze on the parking lot and my four year old took a good fall and skinned her knee (no big deal really just an ouchy). The staff who were outside smoking noticed her fall and said that they would call maintenance to put down salt (which they did).

Overall, we had a really nice stay with great staff responses to some typical hotel issues.

Then came the circus. After we leave to get on the road through rural Arizona, I get a call from the hotel manager. I don't believe she was actually at her work when she called because she called me from her personal cell phone. She left me a message while I was driving through areas where I didn't have cell service to tell me she charged my credit card for $100 of damages to the bed sheets. I called her back after getting cell service in northern AZ. I was confused. What damage? You mean the chocolate milk spill that we cleaned up three days ago that was completely washable and that was so minor that we had been sleeping on it the last two nights? She responded by initially saying I should've called her back earlier or told someone about the spill before checking out. She said that they thought it was blood and threw the sheets away. I told her no it was food coloring. Then she said I should teach my four year old not to spill things and have more respect for property. She explained that her mother taught her better manners.... She went on to say that people shouldn't be eating on the beds in the hotel rooms. I said WHAT? You have microwaves and refrigerators in every room, where do people usually eat? She said the desk in the room was for eating. I told her I was going to fight the charge, she said fine and hung up.

I submitted complaints to the better business bureau, my credit card, and to her corporate econolodge people. You should see the explanation she gave OMG. It went from fabricating a complete lie about me fighting with the desk clerk about my check in, which didn't happen. Meghan checked me in and was absolutely wonderful. She even helped me find a plastic fork for my daughter to eat to go food. The manager, in her response to corporate and BBB proceeded to lie about the pool being closed and also about the ice on the parking lot. Then.. get this.. she said they found "chunks" in the spill and that it was six foot wide and required biohazard suits to clean up. This is a person desperate to cover up really bad management skills to the point of making up really amazing fabricated stories. The hotel was really nice, good experience, nice amenities with typical hotel issues (maid service, ice, pool). But I suspect my hundred dollars didn't end up in the hotel cash bin. I suspect it ended up in a certain manager's pocket (thus the calling from her cell phone and not the hotel phone). I wouldn't stay here because you might just get ripped off by the manager.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carrie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paaru, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2012

The Econolodge of Silver City is a platinum award winning hotel whose priority is their guests and their comfort while staying with us. The guest was informed that if the linens were salvageable that she would not be charged. After three days of trying to get the stains out of the bed the hotel lost everything this includes: sheets, mattress cover, blanket, four pillows and cases and a full set of towels (towels, wash clothes and hand towels). Three colors in large quantities were poured into the bed. This was not a little milk spilled on the bed. The bed was fully soaked with stains. The pool was never closed. She placed a Do Not Disturb on her door and never requested anything from the front desk. The temperature has not dropped in Silver City low enough to freeze the parking lot in over two months. The GM did not hang up on the guest during the phone conversation. The cost of hotel rooms continues to climb because of many outside sources and one of the biggest is abuse or damage to the property. We want our rooms to look like the guest is the first one to ever stay in the room and a mattress with three large stains is an unacceptable condition. Total loss to hotel including labor costs and a new mattress is over $900 but the guest was only charged $100 to replace the damaged linens after being unsuccessfull in trying to reclaim the linens. We apologize to the guest for this charge but we tried everything possible to avoid the damage charge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

The staff at this place was absolutely great. (Special shout out to Jake, Renee, Meghan and Jeremy.) They were helpful, friendly and very accomodating. The room was clean and well appointed. I thought the breakfast was very good. The selection is much better than I have had in similar establishments. Overall, I felt it was a good value for the money. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: The first floor room was prefect....easy access to the parking lot and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrNiceGuy424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Well, I dont beleive I just paid over 100$ for that hotel. Stayed for one night and it was enough. Good clean room but not for that price. Staff was ok. Breakfast, well the Cherrio's were good, the coffe was horrible and the juice watered down. Had hot stuff. Powdered eggs with some kind of bacon? Biscuit and glue? If your like me and you've had a lot better for a lot cheaper, you get my point. I have travelled a lot and this place does not merrit a 4\5, sorry...

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jalapeno4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We steyed here for a month while job relocation and it was the most horrible expirience we ever had. BUT i must state that of weather circumstances have HAD to go back and guess what... They did make improvements looks like a diferent hotel, even the staff is better, beakfast did improve, so we must say that this hotel did excel themselves. Finally

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Connoisseur-G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Higher quality than most motels/hotels. Efficient and friendly staff, new fitness center, hot breakfast, exceptionally clean rooms, quiet (had room at front but heard no traffic noise). Pet friendly. Understand they have just got platinum status and well deserved!t

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Silver City hotels
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Gila National Forest
1.2 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#2 of 9 in Silver City
226 reviews
1.2 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#1 of 9 in Silver City
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn Silver City
Rodeway Inn Silver City
#9 of 9 in Silver City
59 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Silver City
0.2 mi away
Copper Manor Motel
Copper Manor Motel
#7 of 9 in Silver City
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 1120 Highway 180 E, Silver City, NM 88061-7877
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Silver City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Silver City
Price Range: £61 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Econo Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly remodeled interior corridor hotel with all of the modern amenities. Free HOT breakfast, Indoor heated pool and spa with an adjacent fountain courtyard, guest laundry, fitness center, business center, Free High Speed Internet. 3 Stories interior corridor hotel with an elevator. All rooms have 40-inch LED TVs with 7 HBO channels, refrigerator, microwave, iron & board, coffee maker, hair dryer, and Free High Speed Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Silver City
Econolodge Silver City
Silver City Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing