We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shevek & Co - CLOSED

Shevek & Co
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: "Casual Haute Cuisine." A blend of International Traditional Mediterranean & Mediterranean Fusion Cuisines. Adherents to the Slow Food Movement- all dishes are made from scratch to order. Largest Wine Cellar and Microbrew & Import Beer list in SWNM. Italian Espresso. We buy local, organic, sustainable & humanely raised produce and meats with no hormones or antibiotics. All dishes come in 3 sizes to create the dining experience you desire. Enjoy the full Seasonal Menu in our dining room or have a selection of tapas in our Wine/Beer/Espresso Bar. Members of the SW New Mexico Green Chamber of Commerce.Find us & Chef Shevek on Facebook, ChefShevek on Twitter or read Shevek's blog & get recipes at blogspot as thekissmethodgourmetCooking class schedule- taught at the restaurant- and the list of our canned foods are available through thekissmethodgourmet
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
821 reviews
436 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 860 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We have been to this restaurant three times and have loved the food each time. We have also enjoyed the great wines they offered. In our opinion, Shevek & Co must be the best restaurant in town.
Every time we went there we made a reservation because the place filled up by 7.15 p.m. But we also observed that people dined pretty early and by 9.00 the place was empty. The only time we ate late was when we went there on New Year’s Eve and started our dinner at 9 p.m. And what a dinner it was!
We like the idea of trying many different tapas and wines. Yes, it is not cheap, but you get what you pay for. We would have liked more privacy; tables are so close together, but after a while you get friendly with your neighbor, especially when the good wine clears your brain!
We also like the owner and his great staff. The owner brings dishes to the table and chats with the guests. He is very friendly.
We highly recommend the restaurant for a special occasion.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SunnyW358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    29
    13
    5
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, Il
Level Contributor
222 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Very Interesting Menu, Kinda Skimpy Portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Shevek & Co. is basically a tapas restaurant, so small plates are expected. Shevek's small plates are excellent and eclectic, but *very* small. We two had several rounds of two dishes, which we shared:

o Appetizer: Kalamariki, Pate
o Fowl: Chicken with Walnut Butter, Duck breast in a dark sauce
o Meat: Stuffed lambchop, Goat stew
o Misc.: Ravioli, Beef in chocolate sauce

These were all well prepared and nicely served. Except for the very beginning, when it seemed like it took a LONG time to get our bottle of wine and the first round, things moved along at a leisurely but reasonable pace.

Main criticism: Even for small plate / tapas, these portions were tiny. One fairly thin slice of chicken in the chicken w/walnut butter, similarly with other plates. We've eaten tapas in a lot of places, from Chicago to Barcelona, and the small plates were never quite *this* small at comparable prices per dish. Also, our bottle of red wine was served chilled; not room temperature either for an American room or a British hall. As a result, it took quite a while for the wine to breathe and open up. On the other hand, a lot of very modestly priced wines are offered.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chefshevek, Manager at Shevek & Co, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
I'm glad you enjoyed the food. You were here during our busiest week of the year due to the SRAM Tour of the Gila Bicycle Race and had our newest waiter waiting on you--it was only his fifth shift so he was still a little overwhelmed so the wine came slowly.
The temperatures we keep at wines at are those recommended by wine experts. Most wine experts believe that red should be cooler than room temperature--this means that reds range from the 50's to 60's degree range. They also believe that white wines should not be at refrigerator temperatures which is why we keep our whites in the range of the high 30's through the 40's.
As for our tapas sizes--my experience having lived in Spain is that our tapas are about average size overall. We have had many European visitors over the years who agree and several who have complained that our tapas are too big. I believe our prices are quite modest for what one receives.
We hope you return again during a time that is not as busy and after our newest waiter has more experience. And if you prefer a warmer bottle of red wine, please ask and we will accommodate your request when possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Shevek has changed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

The last time we ate at Shevek & Co. was Christmas Eve about five years ago. We had an exceptional meal with exceptional service including a visit at table from Shevek, the chef/owner.

Recently we visited and found a substantial change from a fairly traditional menu to tapas and slow food. Our dinner of four courses took almost 2 ½ hours! Yes, the food was very nicely prepared and presented. However, if one does not want a serial tapas experience, this may not be the place for you.

As another reviewer noted, service was a little overbearing. Our waiter was not happy when we asked for a different table (one not located next to the waiters' service counter) even though there were several open tables. On the other hand, he was very knowledgeable about the impressive wine and beer choices Shevek offers.

Would we go again? Not as long as the tapas/slow food approach continues. If that is OK with you, I encourage you to go, as you will have a very satisfying dinner experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chefshevek, Owner at Shevek & Co, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for your review. I'm glad you loved the food.
As for tapas only--in the past we did 3 sizes. Presently, as our menu states, we present only tapas sizes BUT at the beginning of our menu we let people know that they can order multiples of any tapas on the same plate. If you order 3 tapas of a dish it equals our old Mezze portion and if you order 6 tapas of an item it equals our old Entree portion. By allowing folks to order this way we hope it gives our guests more control over their dining experience.
As for the insistence that you sit at the first table you were offered, that was to give our newest waiter more experience since that table was in his section. All restaurants assign a section for a waitperson and also try to distribute the tables fairly. It was our newest waiter's turn and you would have been his seventh or eighth table ever--this was his second day of waiting--where as our older waiter was taking most of the tables to keep the younger one from from being overwhelmed and was, at the time you arrived , feeling quite hard pressed to keep up. That was probably why he didn't sufficiently explain how the multiple tapas works. For that, we are all sorry.
We hope you return again and take advantage of our present format.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver City, NM
Level Contributor
48 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good Food. Overpriced. Over the Top Service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

The food is good. I will give it that. The bill can get out of control quickly. If you like service that is intrusive and judging--say you order a wine that your server does not approve of. I did not get the impression that the waiter gave a hoot about me. He seemed intent on performing to an anonymous audience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gimmefoodplz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chefshevek, Owner at Shevek & Co, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you for your review. I'm glad you loved the food.
As for the wait service--my wait staff tries never to frown upon a persons' wine, beer or food choices. On the other hand, when a wine or beer will clash with the food, wash the foods' flavor out or be washed out by the flavors in the dish you are going to be eating my staff will try very hard to dissuade you for ordering that combination. An over the top example is when I have a Spanish Duck with Green Olives recipe on the menu and they will refuse to serve a Merlot with it--reason being they taste disgusting together and we've had nearly two dozen people complain when that specific wine and dish were combined. My staff does this on my orders since we want folks to enjoy their experience as fully as possible. It is not meant in any way to be a judgement but instead a way of maximizing our guests enjoyment.
There is a reason, growing up in New York, that so many wait people are actors working while hoping for that big break--waiting tables IS performance art. I actually require my wait staff to approach it with this in mind. That's why instead of "up selling" dessert, by trying to pressure one to buy, my staff tells a story about each and every item available; but only with permission to tempt you. And the audience on a particularly busy might be the tables near you as well as your own, as a way of relating the information to others at the same time. I'm sorry if this made you uncomfortable.
Finally, as I've stated in many of my responses, Grass Fed, Grass Finished Beef, Heirloom Pork, organic meats and vegetables and fresh seafood shipped to me from either coast over night air express immediately after being caught costs. But I believe all of these things give a superior product. We are also the only restaurant in town who gives a paid vacation to ALL our staff, had offered healthcare to all of our employees even before the Affordable Care Act (Obamacare) became law and we pay higher than average wages for Silver City in an attempt to allow our employees to have a more rewarding life. All this costs, but I believe that it makes for healthier/tastier food made by people happy to be working to give you a better experience.
I hope you return to dine with us and if there are any issues please let me know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marine city
2 reviews
“One of our best restaurant meals ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Four of us came based on good reviews but not expecting world class quality in Silver City, NM. Both food and service were wonderful in spite of it being a busy Saturday night. This would be a competitive restaurant in Chicago or New York. Try it, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mcdenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shevek & Co also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing