We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hopeful!”

Three Dogs Coffeehouse and Eatery
Price range: US$5 - US$8
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Cafe
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Silver City, New Mexico
Level Contributor
62 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Hopeful!”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Three Dogs is in its third incarnation in this beautiful old building with a small front porch and wood and copper interior. The middle incarnation lasted about a year and upheld the high coffee standard set by the original owners while adding a tasty and varied breakfast and lunch menu and then closed. The third owner opened just a few weeks ago and still needs to get her legs under her. Service is good...a reuse of the longstanding barista who is skilled and a super people person is a good move. The menu has been scaled back to a manageably few pastries and handheld food. Coffee ad-ons need improving. Where's the vanilla sugar? Where are the milk options for lactose free diets? The original Three Dogs coffee has left big paw prints to fill, but I see promise and wish the new owner the best. I will definitely go back. It remains my favorite coffee house in town for both the coffee and the atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chaigirl100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    10
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gone!”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

A good thing gone! The original owners had a solid thing going, some of the best coffee I've had anywhere. They sold it, the new owner made a lot of changes and the changes didn't work.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank geofarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GLENWOOD
Level Contributor
90 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The best in town”
Reviewed 16 April 2013

I do wish they had longer hours, but it's the best in town. I frequently go here for breakfast. There's not a lot of room to sit but in nice weather you can sit outside.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom88039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Lunas, New Mexico
Level Contributor
136 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Friendly beyond measure”
Reviewed 10 February 2013 via mobile

We were in town for the Chocolate Fantasia weekend and after having snow and wind I was ready for a seat and a nice cup of coffee.
The door was open but the sign on the door said they closed at 2:00 PM. There were no customers but the owners asked what we were interested in and told us to just come on in and they would make me a cup of coffee and my hubby got some juice. They were very friendly and went over and above to make some out of town visitors feel very welcome.
We did not have any food but apparently I am not able to enter my review without checking that box.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lilkittysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver City, New Mexico
1 review
“Real tea, great coffee!”
Reviewed 9 February 2013

The only complaint about 3dogs is at times the camaraderie gets a little loud on week end mornings. No one is a stranger by their second or third visit. Pastries to go with your excellent coffee or, thank god, REAL tea, are baked fresh before dawn. Lunch is an ever-changing delight. A quiet place to read and sip in the afternoon.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaki13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Three Dogs Coffeehouse and Eatery also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing