We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nicely Restored”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Murray Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Murray Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Silver City
Certificate of Excellence
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nicely Restored”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed three nights for the 2014 Tour of the Gila and found the hotel & staff pleasant and accommodating. I love that they renovated this historic hotel - the rooms are decorated nice and the bathrooms are great with all the subway tile. The front desk was helpful in suggesting restaurants and even helped get reservations. It was a very convenient location, lots of places are within walking distance. Fourth floor with double queen beds - it was a comfortable and peaceful stay. Will definitely return if I'm ever in Silver City in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D0nnaB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProudGM, General Manager at Murray Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
D0nnaB123,

The staff and myself were very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It makes us very to know that our guest find our location such a help when they stay with us. A lot of people like to park their car and walk when they visit places and you couldn't beat our location! Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    99
    27
    9
    6
See reviews for
15
122
18
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sandia Park, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed for two nights in May 2014 and enjoyed every minute of it. Fourth floor room with a great queen bed. Several excellent restaurants and coffee shops just a short walk away. Front desk staff were friendly and very helpful. We will stay here again on our next trip to Silver City!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProudGM, General Manager at Murray Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hi David M,

We are so happy that you like our hotel. Please feel free to give us a call and we will be more than happy to make your next reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We were very lucky to stay at this place. We were in town for a hiking trip that just happen to fall on the same weekend as Tour of the Gila bicycle race; a qualifying leg of the Tour de France. Every hotel was booked solid except this one which made me suspect. Upon arrival all anxiety was relieved. it is a beautiful newly remodeled hotel. Our stay was awesome. Upon check out I expressed my satisfaction but wanted to know why they were the only place in town not booked solid? They were perfectly located in the middle of town. The reply was they were equally puzzled & weren't sure why they had rooms available. The only draw back I could figure was they only had street parking but we were able to park very close to the front entrance each night of our stay. The vouchers for breakfast @ Millie's Bake house was a pleasant bonus.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fjwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProudGM, General Manager at Murray Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Hi JFWalker,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. To answer the question of why we weren't sold out, we have only been open 2 years and are still getting the word out. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed here for one night at the end of March 2014 and totally enjoyed it. We had a corner room on the 4th floor which was very comfortable. The bed had great linens. We enjoyed being able to walk to the brew pub that evening. The staff was lovely. We got an AARP discount too! We look forward to staying again.

Room Tip: See if a corner room is available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cat t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProudGM, General Manager at Murray Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Hi Catt,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are always pleased to hear when a guest has enjoyed their stay at our wonderful hotel. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This very cool art deco hotel in downtown Silver City has been remodeled and the rooms are very clean and comfortable. The staff is very helpful and attentive. They recommended several restaurants within walking distance. I could have spent hours just sitting in the beautiful lobby drinking the excellent complimentary coffee. Italian roast! Yum! I hope to go back to Silver City and stay at the Murray Hotel again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Monica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProudGM, General Manager at Murray Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Hi Monica,

Thank you for the kind review of our hotel. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, Il
Level Contributor
221 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This 1930s hotel was vacant for many years, and is now (mostly) restored and reopened. Our room was fine and the people at the hotel were just super, really the most important factor.

But be advised that the hotel is still a work in progress: No in-room phones yet, limited TV, restaurant still being restored. Not quite clear how you control heat/AC (fortunately not an issue the night we were there). A year from now, The Murray will probably be sensational, but for the moment be prepared for a few compromises. The folks at the desk say that prices reflect this need to accept compromises. Breakfast at the nearby Millie's Bake House (excellent, by the way) was substantially subsidized by the hotel pending the opening of their own restaurant.

And, by the way, Silver City is a very nifty town to visit and wander around, and the Murray Hotel is very nicely situated to facilitate this.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProudGM, General Manager at Murray Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Hi Rick628,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are still a work in progress, but are working to get everything up to par for our guest. By the end of 2014 we should have flat screen tvs in all rooms and our satellite system installed. Also our thermostats will be connected to control the heat in the rooms and we are currently working on our reverse cooling system. We do hope you decide to stay with us upon your return to Silver City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Lovely hotel, lovely staff, lovely town. What is left to say? We were so happy to give our money to an independently owned hotel that contributes to revitalized downtown Silver City. Of course everything is walking distance from and to the hotel and Siver City has quite a bit to offer. So glad we did not stay at one of the chain motels in the outskirts. We would love to get that kind of opportunity more often when we travel. Keep up with the good work nice Murray's hotel people!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vincent_C60878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProudGM, General Manager at Murray Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Hi Vincent,

We love reading reviews from guest who enjoy their stay. Hopefully we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Silver City hotels
0.0 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#3 of 9 in Silver City
198 reviews
1.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#2 of 9 in Silver City
162 reviews
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Gila National Forest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Silver City
3.7 mi away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#1 of 9 in Silver City
240 reviews
1.0 mi away
Copper Manor Motel
Copper Manor Motel
#6 of 9 in Silver City
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murray Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murray Hotel

Property: Murray Hotel
Address: 200 W Broadway St, Silver City, NM 88061-5353
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Silver City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Silver City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Murray Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most beautiful historic hotel in Silver City, the Murray Hotel is a fine example of Art Deco Streamline Moderne style. Located in the heart of downtown, close to galleries, unique shops, and fabulous restaurants;; all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Murray Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing