We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, but...”
Review of Gallery 400

Gallery 400
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Silver City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gallery 400
Ranked #7 of 8 Silver City B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We were greeted by the owner, very helpful in check in, check out and finding a place to eat near by. Our room was small, clean and neat. We received a $7 certificate for breakfast across the street, for two people a stretch to have a breakfast, food not that good. The TV was small, the room had picture of cemetary stone monuments (creepy) and the entrance smelled as though there had been a flood, very damp.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewMexicoTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2012

Gila House was able to fit us in for one night on short notice, in their Mogollon Room. It has been redecorated and no longer resembles the southwestern earth-tone decor on their website. Instead, it is painted in gentle pastel solids of cream and powder blue--very cool and soothing. The bed was the softest I've ever felt, and the room was quite comfortable. The location is away from both the highway and Main Street, so the nighttime was pretty quiet. Everything the previous reviewers say is true. The premises are comfortable, the art district is just a few steps away, the price was a serious bargain, and we got a discount voucher for a very good breakfast at Vicky's Eatery across the street in an historic building. We would not hesitate to stay here again on a future trip.

Room Tip: Silver City is perched on a hillside, so be aware that the location has stairs inside and steep side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisK14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Unique architecture and full of art work. The room we had was called the Mogollon room and it was clean, roomy and comfortable. The continental breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank patty1075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

most unique place i've ever stayed. only three rooms spread out in two level gallery/home. wonderful. a voucher for breakfast at Vicky's across the street and the food was excellent. easy walking distance to all of downtown Silver City. don't miss it.

Room Tip: two rooms have private outdoor patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michaelhicks44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Recommended by a friend, this was a comfortable respite in a delightful place. Quiet, cozy, great bathroom, good art, and right in the gallery area of historic Silver City. They gave us a breakfast voucher for Vicki's Restaurant right across the street and the breakfast was more than filling.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saska43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We stayed at Gila house for one night, and we were really pleased with the room, and the atmosphere. Richard came down and sat with us at breakfast, and we chatted and really had a great time. Very relaxing room, wonderful art. We even got to meet the couples daughter, who is precious!

We would stay here again in a heartbeat, and plan to the next time we're in Silver.

Room Tip: The Anasazi Room, where we stayed, is great for couples who plan to be out and about a lot, as it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

I stayed here during a November trip to the Gila. We stayed in the Mimbres Room (I think). Very well decorated and cozy. Staying at inns, rather than budget motels or the back of my truck, doesn't happen much for me. I am so glad that I splurged on Gila House. Friendly owners, great location, and even a nice patio. Very much worth the money. I don't know if you could do better in Silver City.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Silver City hotels
0.1 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#1 of 9 in Silver City
223 reviews
3.6 mi away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#1 of 8 in Silver City
281 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Silver City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#3 of 9 in Silver City
236 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Gila National Forest
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 9 in Silver City
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gallery 400? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gallery 400

Address: 400 N Arizona St, Silver City, NM 88061-4960
Region: United States > New Mexico > Silver City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Silver City
Price Range: £61 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience Silver City at the Gila House Hotel and Gallery400. We offer get away tour packages that feature historical tours of down town and local real estate listings. We are centrally located in the heart of downtown Silver City, walking distance to restaurants and shopping. We are the perfect choice someone considering relocating to Silver City. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing