We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort, Convenience, Ambiance!”
Review of Gallery 400

Gallery 400
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Silver City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gallery 400
Ranked #7 of 8 Silver City B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 April 2010

The moment we arrived, Richard, the owner greeted us and brought our luggage to our room. We stayed in the Mogollon Room -- it was comfortable, inviting, great decor, clean and quality.....right down to the two terry cloth robes hanging in the armoire. Double glass doors in the room opened onto a private patio appointed with table and chairs. The Gallery exhibited the work of several local artists and was an interesting and comfortable place to relax. The exterior of the building had a lot of character and incorporated art as well. Everything was easy and convenient -- from parking at Gila House to walking everywhere in historic Silver City. Richard and Amanda went out of their way to make our stay pleasant. They gave us great recommendations for galleries and restaurants and information about Silver City. Richard makes great coffee in the morning. The local paper is set out with breakfast which was basic and included fresh fruit, yogart, granola, pastries, bread, juices and milk. We are looking forward to our next visit and we will definately stay at Gila House!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank desertnightingale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2010

There is nothing fancy about this place, but it is very comfortable and well kept. Our room was clean and nicely furnished with a small couch, a near-perfect bed, and a small TV. The room wasn't huge, but we had enough space. The bath was nice and the shower was excellent (actually, outstanding is probably a better description.) Breakfast was simple: juice, coffee/tea, pastries, breads, cereal, yogurt, fruit.

Downtown restraurants and shops are just two short blocks away. Very convenient.

A note: it isn't easy to find unless you look for the actual address. We may have missed it, but the name "Gila House Hotel" doesn't appear to be displayed on the outside of the building.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Atkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2010

Really enjoyed our stay, Alice went way out of her way to make our stay an enjoyable one. I got the idea from some of the reviews that people are expecting Silver City to be another Santa Fe, well I for one am pretty glad thats not the case. It seems here in Silver City the people who work in the shops can actually afford to live in the city unlike Santa Fe.


We will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank perterra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2009

we were to stay in silver city for 2 days Unfortunately with the economic downturn silver city had limited downtown activies and many shoppes were closed for 2 - 3 days. We informed the managment that we would not be staying for both days and we were informed of their cancellation policy -No refund oreven partial refund was offered,though I gave one day notice. THe room was small the beds were low to the floor and too soft for a comfortable nights sleep, the bathroom was dark. We decided not to stay for cold ceral, yogart and fruit.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hoping4thebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2009

We stayed for valentines day and had a blast. Very much the B&B with rooms opening into a central living area. Artwork was Santa Fe meets Smithsonian wonderful. Felt like we had free admission to a high end art show everyday. Breakfast was basic, but very good. Our host was spot on with every piece of advice he gave about night life, restaurants and shopping. Extra thanks to him!
Defiantly a cultural hot spot for southern NM.
You will enjoy!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2009

My Partner and I enjoyed our stay at Gila House. The breafast is no frills but fine for our needs. The rooms and art are wonderful.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kdear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2009

We stayed here for 4 nights. I liked the place in general, enjoyed the gallery that was part of the facility, the breakfast area was great, the location was good for walking around downtown Silver City. The room however was cramped for 2 people for 4 nights. Even though we more or less had the roam of all the public areas in the building it didn't make up for the smallness of the room. Bed was not especially comfortable either. The breakfasts were the standard continental plus (yogurt, juices, selection of cereals, bagels etc) all grocery purchased, nothing special. The room had a little balcony but in November it was too cool to really enjoy it, plus, the view of downtown Silver City that is advertised on the web site is not what it implies, it's really not a view at all.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MspTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SC_in_top_10_coolest, Owner at Gallery 400, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2009

We had someone also staying who was also celebrating their birthday... Their 40th... When theses guys checked in I spouted "HAPPY 40TH BIRTHDAY"

Gauging from their reaction they where not 40. Honest mistake... He looked 40

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Silver City hotels
0.1 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#2 of 9 in Silver City
226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#1 of 9 in Silver City
215 reviews
1.1 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#3 of 9 in Silver City
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Gila National Forest
2.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn Silver City
Rodeway Inn Silver City
#9 of 9 in Silver City
59 reviews
3.6 mi away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#1 of 8 in Silver City
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gallery 400? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gallery 400

Address: 400 N Arizona St, Silver City, NM 88061-4960
Region: United States > New Mexico > Silver City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Silver City
Price Range: £64 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience Silver City at the Gila House Hotel and Gallery400. We offer get away tour packages that feature historical tours of down town and local real estate listings. We are centrally located in the heart of downtown Silver City, walking distance to restaurants and shopping. We are the perfect choice someone considering relocating to Silver City. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing