We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Glacier Guides Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in West Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Highly recommend!”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This facility is nestled in the trees at the park entrance. It is fresh and new looking, tho I don't know when it was built. The rooms are spacious, very clean and furnished with locally crafted or acquired furniture. The rooms have Wi-Fi but not phone service (AT&T anyway), small flat screen tv's, fluffy towels and comfortable beds. Best shower of all we encountered on our trip. A nutritious breakfast of cereals, breads, fruits, yogurts, teas, coffee and hot chocolate is provided. The manager, lovely Jennifer, is very friendly, helpful, knowledgable and accommodating. She will even loan you bear spray or bug spray. The property is in a natural setting and has been carefully planted with wild flowers (which were blooming) that are indigenous to the area. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GB4469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    25
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
70
201
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Morro Bay, California
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Most people who stay at Glacier Guides seem to love it. But these are probably the sort of people who value the comforts of home rather than "authentic" wilderness experiences. Nearby are two century-old historic establishments that offer the kind of experiences that have been enjoyed at Glacier National Park for many decades (Belton Chalet and Lake McDonald Lodge). Glacier Guides is a semi-upscale lodge such as might be found at an expensive ski resort. The rooms are reasonably spacious, clean, comfortable, and feature flat-screen TVs and Internet. There's no view other than the surrounding forest. Location is across from the Amtrak station and up the hill a bit. You can walk to Belton Chalet and Glacier Highlands Restaurant,

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoastalResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at Glacier Guides Lodge for three nights and loved it. The property looks great and the staff were all friendly. We arrived by train and they picked us up at the station and promptly checked us in, provided coffee and breakfast and let us into our rooms even though it was about 6:00AM. The lodge itself is located about 500ft from the train station and is an easy walk. There are also several restaurants within an easy walking distance (well under a mile) as well as several gift shops. Don provided us with bear pepper spray for our hikes, which was very nice since we did not have any and otherwise would have to have bought it.

Rooms:
Very nice! All new bedding, towels and everything. The woods table, chair, desk and etc. are all hand made and great looking. The beds were very comfortable. There is also a TV with satellite programming and WiFI that was plenty fast for casual web browsing. The AC worked well when needed (only once). The heat is a bit odd as the only vent is in the bathroom so it has trouble heating the whole room, but it worked well enough.

Bathroom:
Nice deeper than average tub with shower. Shampoo, conditioner, and body wash dispenser.

Breakfast:
Good coffee, yogurt, 5 cereal varieties ( including two granola), toast/muffins, and fruit. We had plenty to eat and did not feel the need to eat breakfast out, though there are two dinners very close by that open at 7AM.

Location:
Great location close to everything (what there is) in West Glacier. The park is right across the street and you can easily walk to the South Boundary Trail. If you are arriving by train it is only a couple of hundred feet from the hotel.

Overall this was a great stay and I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for modern accommodations in Glacier.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We visited this lodge many years ago and was happy to return this summer for another stay! I was sad to see that Don was gone, but Jennifer (the brand new manager!) greeted us warmly and made us feel welcome and right at home. Our room was quiet and spotless - great night's sleep; we had everything we needed. Jennifer also gave us great hiking and restaurant recommendations in the area. All the staff was so friendly and accommodating. I was shocked to read about someone else's experience - Jennifer has things back in their five star order. We had just the same lovely time we had when we visited two summers ago. A real treat to go back! Can't wait to return again. Thanks Jennifer and Glacier Guides!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Custardnraisins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We were greeted not by the Josh and Max we read about in all the warm fuzzy reviews but by Teal (apparently Josh retired) when we checked in, who treated and hurried us as though she was irritated to be bothered and her side of pleasantry was bordering on being short with our basic questions. We did not feel welcomed or receive the hospitality we expected from reading all the incredible reviews of the former innkeeper Josh. The tile floors were sticky, the toilet paper was more than half gone, the toilet was stained from not being cleaned. It was apparent that the remnants of tender care to detail were all that remained of this potentially or formerly 5 star lodge. The remaining encounters with the other staff were highly unprofessional... Just one example of which being the two unprofessional and inappropriately dressed teenagers as the housekeeping staff. It was a most disappointing experience after all the amazing reviews we read and a clear case of how management and hospitality can make or break an experience. We are simple people and we don't need much--just the basics..a little professionalism, genuine hospitality and cleanliness would have gone a long way and transformed our experience from 2 stars to 5.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Kristina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontanaCC, Owner at Glacier Guides Lodge, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Yes, Josh has stepped down and we are excited for him in the creation of his new junior hockey team franchise. He is making guest appearances to help the transition run smoothly for our new inn keeper who arrived shortly after your stay.

We are still committed to excellence at the Lodge. We have spoken with our staff, they remember that you requested a corner room for your 3 night stay and personally chose the quietest one for you. They especially hoped that kept you comfortable after learning of your recent injury. We are very sorry you didn't enjoy your experience at the lodge. Had we known about a cleanliness issue in your room we would have addressed it immediately. We are the first to admit it when we make a mistake. We strive for cleanliness in our facility and know how important it is to walk into a clean room.

We apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused. We are looking forward to a great summer and are always open to suggestions of how to improve our services so everyone has the perfect stay at Glacier Guides Lodge.

Sincerely, the Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitefish, Montana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

My family Stayed here while visiting and it was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious and the staff was friendly. Location was perfect for walking into the little town of West Glacier with my family. Price was right too!

Room Tip: I liked the ground floor, easy access!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J_Clo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

We staid there one night as all lodges inside the Park were fully booked. Well, it was a very good idea! Our room was on the ground floor with a terrace on the forest, very comfortable beds, quiet room. Owner has been lovely and breakfast terrific! So bad we had to stay only for one night!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Flavien2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Glacier
0.2 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
318 reviews
2.5 mi away
Village Inn At Apgar
Village Inn At Apgar
#2 of 6 in West Glacier
295 reviews
22.4 mi away
Izaak Walton Inn
Izaak Walton Inn
#1 of 2 in Essex
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#8 of 17 in Whitefish
307 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glacier Outdoor Center
Glacier Outdoor Center
#4 of 13 in West Glacier
205 reviews
17.3 mi away
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
#2 of 17 in Whitefish
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glacier Guides Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Guides Lodge

Property: Glacier Guides Lodge
Address: 120 Highline Blvd., PO Box 330, 0.5 miles away from Glacier National Park, West Glacier, MT 59936
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in West Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Glacier Guides Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a full day of adventure in and around Glacier National Park, return to the cozy, quiet, peaceful Glacier Guides Lodge. Built by Glacier Guides and Montana Raft, this eco-friendly lodge offers premier rafting, hiking, biking, and fishing adventures in and around Glacier National Park. Glacier Guides Lodge is uniquely nestled in a forested canyon above the town of West Glacier. This smaller B&B style lodge was built in 2010 to LEED standards (environmentally friendly). Each private room has a full bath, 2 queen beds, AC, WiFi, Dish TV, daily maid service, and a full continental breakfast. Book your rafting, hiking, biking, and fishing adventure through the main office. Happy trails... See you in West Glacier! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Glacier Guides Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glacier Guides Hotel West Glacier
Glacier Guides Lodge West Glacier, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing