We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't think twice...book it now!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Glacier Guides Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in West Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Glacier Guides is overall excellence in a lodging experience literally across the street from the gates of West Glacier. We stayed four nights in East Glacier, two nights in Wateron-Glacier in Alberta, and two nights in West Glacier and wished we could have stayed longer in West Glacier. The rooms are large, comfortable, eco-friendly, and rustic with all the modern conveniences one can imagine. The continental breakfast included is also amazing. They offer a nice variety of: cereals, hot and cold; granolas; muffins, breakfast breads, and toasting breads from a local bakery; an assortment of fresh, cut fruits; juices, coffees and teas. We couldn't get enough of the peach bread and asked where we could purchase some. The quaint breakfast area with a beautiful view of the outdoors is always accessible with granola bars, grab and go fruit, coffee, teas, and other snacks if you want something after hours. There is also a business area above the breakfast area complete with a computer and work space. They have tables outside the rooms facing the woods to relax after a hike, rafting trip, or scenic drive to enjoy a beverage and take it all in. And we even booked a rafting trip through the owners of GG. The entire experience is seamless. Whether you are an avid hiker setting out on day hikes of Glacier's magnificent views or simply absorbing the serenity and breath-taking mountain-scrapes available by car, this lodge will enhance your unforgettable experience.

Room Tip: Top room preferred. Better view of the woods.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

We booked this room on a whim and were swept away by the beauty and European charm of this place. We were greeted by Don, who was friendly, helpful, and generous with his time. He made us feel right at home, offering us snacks, wine glasses, tea and coffee when we arrived. It felt like real hospitality. We ended up sitting out on the beautiful porch, taking in the scenery of the woods, and having a glass of wine before bed. The room was very clean and well cared for. The lodge itself is tucked away, back in the forest, which gives it a romantic, fairytale feel. Though this was our first stay in Glacier, we didn't see any other places that compared to the beauty and charm of Glacier Guides Lodge, and we have already recommended it to family who will be passing through the area! Thanks for an awesome stay!

Room Tip: We loved our room upstairs, but we noticed the rooms downstairs had cute little private patios! Next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I can't say enough great things about the Glacier Guides Lodge. It starts with the innkeeper Jennifer. She's exactly what you would want in a hostess--service-oriented, knowledgeable, inexhaustible, quality conscientious...and always going out of her way to ensure that you're having a great time. And all her suggestions were spot-on. She sent us to a lot of places that the locals knew about, but your average traveler would skip over. Then there are the breakfasts...and the lunches that they happily pack for you. They're healthy, tasty and filling. Finally, the rooms themselves are comfortable and quiet. We spent far more to stay in a cottage in St. Mary with a better view--but it didn't hold a candle to the lodge.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room. They have these cute private porches off the back that make you feel lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Pete T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The 12 room lodge is off the road among tall trees and wildflowers. Helpful advice from resident staff can guide guests for activities. Nothing fancy; just what a guest needs for a visit to the park. The breakfast allowed sharing of experiences with other guests. There are so many options for hiking, sightseeing, rafting that help needed from staff and guests. They were all helpful and informed.

Room Tip: first floor has outdoor terrace. Second floor less likely to be disturbed by noise from over head ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rejuvenator2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This is a lovely, small lodge with only 12 rooms, located back away from the road and railroad in West Glacier. The rooms are well appointed and so clean you'd think it was brand new. The continental breakfast is a truly healthy assortment of organic breakfast foods, including gluten free breads and cereals. What makes this lodge stand out is the attention to details given by manager Jen. She bent over backwards to help us and every other guest we saw her interacting with. If you have a question about anything in Glacier, she knows the answer or where to find it. Also the pack lunches for your day hike or Red Bus tour are outstanding...so much good food! This lodge is quiet, peaceful, comfortable, clean, and friendly. A great place to relax after adventures in the park.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Context: My wife and I were spent a week at Glacier National Park, and our first three nights were here. Spent the next three at the Rising Sun Motor Inn (St. Mary Lake region), and the last night in East Glacier at the Dancing Bear Inn. Glacier Guides was the highlight of the three, although it was wise to spend time in different parts of the park given the road construction on Going to the Sun Road.

Pros: One of the best stays away from my home, ever! First, the exceptional hospitality of the hosts exceeded our expectations, from knowledge of the area, to offering maps, travel books and guides, to suntan lotion, to bug spray! Amazing hospitality!

Second, a healthy continental breakfast with a marvelous range of delicious, local breakfast choices; from high protein Greek yogurt, to fresh fruit, to a tasty choice of breads, to a gamut of organic and gourmet oatmeal choices (plus the standard Quaker options), to local coffee and three different types of teas.

Third, well appointed rooms with Native American accent pieces (e.g., rugs, pillows, etc.), as well as a private patio (first floor rooms) in the back, providing some nice forest scenery.

Fourth, the owners have demonstrated a very clear and significant commitment to environmental sustainability. In each room is a three page brochure highlighting dozens to steps that they have taken in this direction, from the construction of the Lodge (in 2010), to current operational practices. A platinum star here!

Cons: No mountain views from our first floor room, but a non issue, since that is why we went hiking!

Comment: Book early, and book for as long as you can arrange; my wife and I are planning our next trip to Glacier for summer 2016, and we may stay here the entire time (or also time at Many Glacier).

Room Tip: Book early, and book for as long as you can arrange. Outstanding accommodations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank travelreviewer3355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We would have loved to have stayed at Glacier Guides Lodge the entire time we were in the park, but I could only get reservations for one night during the week of our trip. The room was comfortable and cozy, breakfast was delicious, our host was most helpful, and the setting was lovely. The lodge is very convenient to the western entrance to Glacier National Park and an easy drive from Kalispell airport. We couldn't get cell phone reception anywhere in the park or at this lodge, but the lodge had wireless and that was perfect. I'd recommend Glacier Guides Lodge to anyone visiting the park.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Glacier
0.2 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
336 reviews
17.8 mi away
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge
12.8 mi away
Cedar Creek Lodge & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Whitefish
2.5 mi away
Village Inn At Apgar
Village Inn At Apgar
#2 of 6 in West Glacier
312 reviews
22.4 mi away
Izaak Walton Inn
Izaak Walton Inn
#1 of 2 in Essex
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glacier Guides Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Guides Lodge

Address: 120 Highline Blvd., PO Box 330, 0.5 miles away from Glacier National Park, West Glacier, MT 59936
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in West Glacier
Price Range: £133 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glacier Guides Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a full day of adventure in and around Glacier National Park, return to the cozy, quiet, peaceful Glacier Guides Lodge. Built by Glacier Guides and Montana Raft, this eco-friendly lodge offers premier rafting, hiking, biking, and fishing adventures in and around Glacier National Park. Glacier Guides Lodge is uniquely nestled in a forested canyon above the town of West Glacier. This smaller B&B style lodge was built in 2010 to LEED standards (environmentally friendly). Each private room has a full bath, 2 queen beds, AC, WiFi, Dish TV, daily maid service, and a full continental breakfast. Book your rafting, hiking, biking, and fishing adventure through the main office. Happy trails ... see you in West Glacier! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Glacier Guides Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glacier Guides Hotel West Glacier
Glacier Guides Lodge West Glacier, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing