We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Beautiful View”
Review of Many Glacier Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Glacier
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Many Glacier Lodge
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a Beautiful View”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

No matter where You were at in the lobby or in your room or at the restsruant aor on the deck the view of the mountain and lake was always breataking.
Enjoyed the historioc history of this Hotel. Loved the big old beams in the lobby. Enjoyed the peace and quite in the room with no TV and no radio . Just enjoyed the surrounding beauty.
Food was excellent and staff was very friendly and helpful.
Driving around in the evening we did get to see our 1st grizzely feeding by the side of the road.
The only thing we did not like was the hike to the top of the hill to the parking lot.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pcsendzik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    36
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
29
40
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Missoula, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I live in Montana and until now had only camped in Glacier. This trip I was able to stay in a room at the historic Lodge. It was built in 1915 so yes it is an old building, but I believe that just adds to the charm! The rooms are a decent size, and some have balconies that overlook the lake. Make sure you request one of these rooms. Also make sure to get up before sun up one morning and see all the stars-- if you haven't seen the Montana sky at night away from lights this is the place to do it!

Room Tip: Lakefront with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dr_D1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arapaho
Level 6 Contributor
517 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We booked two rooms here well in advance of our trip and it was well worth it. The food was great and all of the staff were very helpful and friendly. The views well outstanding, we saw bears and Big Horn sheep from the deck but you really needed binoculars to see them up close. Driving over Going to the Sun roads was fantastic, just take your time to enjoy.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

This historic motel has an amazing lobby with plenty of seats and a great view of the lake and mountains. And outside is a very large deck with more seating - with an even better view. The restaurants seemed pricey and didn't seem to have a lot of variety. Heidi's snack shop was convenient for packing a lunch to take on day hikes. Often there was evening entertainment in the lobby- the violinist we heard was very good! Inside there are tables with partially completed jigsaw puzzles- I counted at least 8 of them. We had a non-refurbished room supposedly- but it was very nice and more than adequate- I think the only difference is a coffee maker and updated plumbing- but our plumbing was just fine and we got complementary vouchers for two coffee/teas daily- each- from Heidi's and that was just as good - if not better -to me!

Room Tip: We had a corner w/o a balcony- am glad we didn't pay extra for a balcony- the deck was fine and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 215Missouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The location and view left me speechless. It's located away from the Going-to-the-Sun crowds, and the Apgar crowds and the St. Mary's crowds. It felt like I had found a secret hideaway. Very historic, made with huge logs. The large sitting room from which registration, gift shops and restaurants were accessed had a ceiling vaulted to at least 3 stories high. We had lunch in the lounge (that's where lunch is served) which was quite good with a stunning view of the lake and surrounding mountains and glaciers. There is a fairly large parking lot, which is good since the park's free shuttle doesn't make it to this part of the park. Several hikes begin from the edge of the parking lot. And there are horses to rent at the edge of the parking lot (Swan Mountain Outfitters). Unfortunately, we did not see any wildlife enroute to, at or when leaving the area.

Room Tip: Make sure you get one with a view of the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmberA777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed at Many Glacier Lodge for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed the stay. The restaurants and Heidi's snack bar were convenient with good food. Get to the restaurants early (5:30 pm) as the hotel was packed with people so you can imagine how crowded the on site restaurants can be. They say there is Internet but we never got connected. If you are happy to have cell service, TV, radio, etc., then best not to stay. But, if you want to drink coffee or snack on the outside deck overlooking a breathtakingly gorgeous lake and mountain view, while searching for wildlife, then you would be in the right spot. We saw black bear and moose around the lake. The ranger tour to Grinnell Glacier was very enjoyable; the ranger gave a detailed description of geology and its effect on biology. There was also an historical tour of the lodge; quite informative. I heard folks complain about their rooms but we lucked out and had a newly refurbished handicap accessible room with a huge bathroom and view of the lake just outside our window. We had a door going outside where you could put out lawn chairs on the grass and watch the world go by. Parking is not that close and up a fairly steep hill but you can drive down to unload. The bellboys are dressed in lederhosen in keeping with the Swiss architecture of most of the great northern railroad buildings. The staff is primarily college students from all over and some of the musically talented ones put on evening shows.

Room Tip: First floor has lots of traffic so might be louder than other floors. Ask for a refurbished room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpharetta
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The setting alone on swiftcurrent lake is something to behold! Its very much like being thrown back in time. Our room was refurbished with stickley furniture and a stone chase in the corner. The window overlooked the lake and I kind of felt they ;might have shot the movie the shining there! Our bathroom was very spacious and had a wonderful clawfoot tub. Great after hiking to iceberg lake which was the best hike of our trip. We had a romantic dinner in the restored dining room and were impressed with the talented violinist who played during dinner. I would definately recommend the entire experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Glacier hotels
0.2 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
352 reviews
2.4 mi away
Village Inn At Apgar
Village Inn At Apgar
#2 of 6 in West Glacier
303 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Vista Motel
Vista Motel
#4 of 6 in West Glacier
245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glacier Outdoor Center
Glacier Outdoor Center
#3 of 13 in West Glacier
207 reviews
1.1 mi away
Great Northern Resort
Great Northern Resort
#2 of 13 in West Glacier
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Many Glacier Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Many Glacier Lodge

Property: Many Glacier Lodge
Address: Glacier National Park, West Glacier, MT
Region: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Speciality Lodging in West Glacier
Number of rooms: 211
Also Known As:
Many Glacier Lodge West Glacier, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing