We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, Relaxing, and Peaceful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Glacier
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Two Medicine Campground
Moore, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Quiet, Relaxing, and Peaceful”
Reviewed 22 July 2012

July 5: We arrived three hours later than expected due to temendous long waits on road crews, terrible dirt roads, and people driving slowly that refused to used the appointed turn offs to let people pass. (That was on highways and dirt roads mostly and partial park roads.)

We figured west glacier would already be packed and headed to the east side and ended at Two Medicine Campground. (signage a little confusing). We arrived at the right time to have Park Ranger Pam crossing the road and after an enjoyable conversation with her she helped us locate a campsite. All we asked for was quiet and not two inches to the next persons tent. We ended at loop C. Generators are allowed but only at specific times and quiet times are 11pm-6am and are enforced for everyones enjoyment. All they ask is that you keep your camp activities to a minimal so as not to interrupt the enjoyment of other campers.

Restrictions for campsites are posted but the rangers also explain this as most people ignore or do not read the restrictions. They had a recent bear in our camp area so asked everyone to stay on top of things. Not instrusive but responsible. The rangers walked the campsite areas twice a day to say good morning, answer questions, and to check on animal activity and condition of campsites. Rangers give frequent talks around a campfire.

There are flush toilets, cold water sinks, no showers. Close potable water to every campsite. There is hiking, lake, fishing, boating, small store, close to the area. Close enough to the "big area draws" and far enough away to be remote and quiet!! No cell reception, no wifi, no tv. No electricity except for two plugs in the bathrooms. BE AWARE BRING LOTS AND LOTS OF MOSQUITO SPRAY! It had rained for quite some time and they do not do any passive spraying so mosquitos abound but with a little spray kept them at bay.

To address a fellow reviewer about not allowing dogs on most trails which I can understand can be upsetting. It is clearly stated on the national parks website: Visitors with pets should be aware that pets are not allowed on any park trails. Pets must be on a leash or caged at all times. Kennels are available in neighboring communities. And while most owners are respectful, at the very least most would not take them 200 ft off trails to do there business or pick up after them. At the worst, there are mountain lions and bears that see small animals as prey and there scent is an attractant.

The best is we got to explore one of our national treasures!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DeanandMelania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We stayed two nights here and enjoyed the scenery and access to the store as well. There are quite a few park wardens present but they seemed affable enough. The one gripe I have is that our dog was not allowed on any of the trails (presumably in the National Park). We had to leave the National Park the second day in order to get some hiking in which was inconvenient given that we'd paid $25 for the privilege of park entry (over-and-above the campsite nightly fee of $20). I truly wish that pets on leads were allowed on defined trails - to be honest it's a bit of a deal breaker for us.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arbourstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cochrane, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

This was our first time camping in a National Parks camp ground and we were very pleased with what we got.  Above all, peace and tranquility.  No cell phone ringing, no wifi computer distractions and no tv. Just nature to watch and breath taking scenery to absorb. 

Get there early in the day because the sites soon fill up and we noticed numerous people trawling around looking for a change of location early each day. Once you have located a suitable site it is then self registration but this is routinely checked by the park staff. Fees can be paid in US or Canadian funds and while we were there the dollar and the looney were taken on par.  
There are numerous washrooms dotted around and some specifically for the disabled.  All are flush toilets and have running cold water to the sinks.  Electric points are also available inside the washroom blocks so connecting hair dryers or shavers isn't a problem.   These washrooms are cleaned daily.   Around the camp ground there are also numerous fresh water taps available but these do not accept a hose connection so filling your portable water tanks is more of a challenge (unless there is an adapter out there somewhere).  You can use the hoses at the dump station to fill your portable water but this is on the way out.
Just outside of the camp ground is a well stocked and very reasonably priced general store, selling just about everything you could need for a few days camping in the woods.
The lake is adjacent to the camp ground and provides excellent leisure resources for fishing, kayaking and swimming, etc.  The area has plenty of good walks but this is bear country so bring your spray and bear bangers.  Its also a good idea to pack lots of bug spray because the mosquitos are more problematic than the bears!  
Every evening the park staff present a different interpretive talk that lasts about an hour. 
If I have any criticism it is that a tiny two man tent is allowed to occupy a space that would be more suited to a 45' motor home while a more suitable sized site is left empty. A little more regulation might maximize the potential of this camp ground.  Loop C is more in tune with small units while A and B are capable of handling the larger rigs.
I will definitely return to this location in the future. 

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hutch333id
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Teton National Park, Wyoming
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2011

This is a beautiful small campground. It's nestled by a lake and near some great canyon hikes. I'd recommend it because you're close to St. Mary's and East Glacier, but you're just far enough away in a smaller location that it's much more quiet and personal experience.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Aduncan722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2010

Glacier National Park in northwestern Montana is a nice place to visit. If your into camping try out Two Medicine campground. Two Medicine is a peaceful campground surrounded by mountains and nestled next to a lake. There are even pull-thru sites for bigger rigs. It has flush toilets but no showers or hookups. No reservations are accepted it is first come. View bears and mountain goat on the side of the mountains, watch moose graze in the lake.

Helpful?
1 Thank Birchcrossing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Glacier
0.2 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
317 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
343 reviews
2.4 mi away
Village Inn At Apgar
Village Inn At Apgar
#2 of 6 in West Glacier
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Glacier Outdoor Center
Glacier Outdoor Center
#3 of 13 in West Glacier
203 reviews
1.1 mi away
Great Northern Resort
Great Northern Resort
#4 of 13 in West Glacier
157 reviews
9.7 mi away
Lake McDonald Lodge
Lake McDonald Lodge
#1 of 7 in Glacier National Park
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Two Medicine Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Two Medicine Campground

Property: Two Medicine Campground
Address: Glacier National Park, West Glacier, MT 59936
Region: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Speciality Lodging in West Glacier
Number of rooms: 99
Also Known As:
Two Medicine Campground West Glacier, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing