We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cabins and motel at West end of Glacier”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Glacier
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glacier Highland Resort
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in West Glacier
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Stayed here a night becauase I got in early. Rooms were OK - you are right at the west entrance to glacier but you need to drive a ways into the National Park to see anything. A neet thing is the Armtrak station in right across the street - did not hear any train noise. Clean Bed - eat at place inside the park.

Room Tip: Anything at Glacier needs to be booked ahead of time.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank imagesofwildlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
There are newer reviews for Glacier Highland Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2012

What a mistake. No phones in rooms ,no internet .very little cell reception, no place of any kind to hang clothes. The bed covers were dirty. Pillows poor we asked for 2 more, which after we got home they accused us of stealing.

Alltogether a very poor experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fencer88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We stayed at the Glacier Highland Resort it was great! Room was clean and beds were comfortable. Shower was hot, heater worked great. This place is located just outside Glacier National Park. I loved everything about this room. The restaurant is perfect as well. The food is delicious! Huckleberry pancakes were super, and the huckleberry pie was amazing! Very friendly staff. I will be returning to Glacier Highland Resort on my next Montana Vacation.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mikki m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

This is perfect for those taking the train. Walk across street and you're there. No amenities except TV. Had clean linens all week. Thin walls but other guests considerate about noise. Price was good. Walked to entrance of Park and shops near entrance. Would stay again but only for night arriving by train and night before departing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the 3rd set of rooms back from the road
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shirebuyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

The room was clean and the beds were comfortable, but the bedspreads were questionable. I took it off the bed when I got into the room. The shower was hot. The TV was good, but no Internet Service and virtually no cell service.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank De M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

This is just an old-time motel with a few upgrades and no rustic charm. It's clean, and the bed was excellent. But cheap amenities and hardly any reading light knocked the score down.

However: It's right next door to the best restaurant in the territory at the Belton Chalet. We had two memorable meals there, loved the wine list and on-tap choices along with the food and would make a detour to dine again.

Bottom line: Plan ahead, stay at McDonald Lake Lodge and dine at Belton Chalet.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

First: resort = motel. Once you go into it with that mindset, you may be pleasantly surprised. We stayed in one of the remodeled rooms and it was nice and clean. I was really pleasantly surprised how comfortable it was. Nice in-room Dish TV, well-maintained, and quiet. No train noise for us, unless you opened the door. Very convenient to GNP. One minor point is that there's no wifi and virtually no 3G wireless access in the room we stayed in but we weren't there to surf the net anyway.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the remodeled rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raindog308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Glacier
21.4 mi away
Izaak Walton Inn
Izaak Walton Inn
#1 of 2 in Essex
579 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dancing Bears Inn
Dancing Bears Inn
#5 of 6 in East Glacier Park
252 reviews
35.2 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.1 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
367 reviews
36.3 mi away
Village Inn At Apgar
Village Inn At Apgar
#2 of 6 in West Glacier
312 reviews
35.9 mi away
Vista Motel
Vista Motel
#4 of 6 in West Glacier
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glacier Highland Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Highland Resort

Address: Box 397, West Glacier, MT 59936-0397
Region: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in West Glacier
Price Range: £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glacier Highland is a rustic style motel in West Glacier, located across from the Amtrak train station at the West entrance to the Glacier NP, with gorgeous, sweeping mountain views. We have 33 different units with Internet access, satellite television and more. If you are looking for a quaint and high quality restaurant in West Glacier, MT that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner, you will find that on site as well. We are also a hub for fuel, toiletries, clothing and essentials of all kinds, thanks to our convenience store and gas station in West Glacier, MT. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glacier Highland Hotel West Glacier
Glacier Highland West
Glacier Highland Resort West Glacier, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing