We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the time or money to stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Glacier
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glacier Highland Resort
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in West Glacier
Great Falls, Montana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not worth the time or money to stay”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

After planning a fun trip with a few friends from graduate school, we were very disappointed. The website is very misleading and this is nothing but a motel 6. We had to pay close to $200 a night and was not worth it at all. The Negative Nancy working was very rude and refused to refund money and laughed at us as we walked out of the office in front of other guests. The rooms were smelly, hot, and a spider hot spot to hang out. This was presented as a cabin for five but it was terrible. There are no tissues, shampoo, funky bed clothes, and the only extras we had were broken plastic chairs to sit on after grabbing from other rooms. The toilet was so wiggly I was surprised it still worked. The motel is located right next to a lovely gravel pit with dump trucks and no view of anything. The beds were awful and left me with back aches, it was like sleeping on a rock with a starch cardboard sheet. The worst part was the rudeness of the desk clerk, she clearly needed some happy pills and another job that did not have to deal with the public. You would be better off staying at the KOA or at the lodge in the park. Or even in Whitefish, actually anywhere would be better I think...we were stuck there for two days..

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelsa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    36
    25
    23
    17
See reviews for
29
48
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We felt as if this hotel was extremely misleading! It should be called a crappy super 8. There was nothing resort about it! Although it was clean....you better not need things such as a Kleenex, shampoo, or air-conditioning. Nothing special about this place! If you want to complain, be sure to be prepared to be treated terrible by nancy at the front desk. She needs a course in customer service. Not impressed with the price. I would have had better accommodations in a tent.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karihoscheid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these West Glacier hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

This was no resort! more like a over priced motel 6. No wifi, no ac, no little shampoo n conditioner, no phone in the room, no view because trees were in the way, no refunds! We were told this was a cabin....hahaha! It was one room with three queen beds squished in it! For the same price we could of stay at McDonald Lodge. The lady at the front desk name Nancy was rude and should not work in costumer service. Her behavior and voice level scared me. Also, watch out for the hardest beds in the world and the giant spiders in the room.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjg413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed in this motel when my daughter got married in Glacier National Park. The location was right across the street from the entrance to the park and they also had a decent restaurant. The room that we had was large with three queen beds but this place was obviously older. If you are looking for a luxurious place keep looking however it was clean and the staff very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crbeatles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

First, be aware any sense of modern "resort" does not apply here. This is a mountain lodge facility, with vintage lodge-style accommodations. At Glacier Highlands, that is not a bad thing! Rooms are spacious and clean, showers and toilets clean and obviously sanitized. The staff, particularly Mary, is happy to please. This hotel includes a restaurant with a DELICIOUS breakfast, free bags of ice for your day tripping, and a gas station. We felt like we were at Grandma's and she had done everything she could to make us comfortable in her vintage home. Loved it!
Big plus: Right outside the Glacier National Park western entrance.
Small minus: The train depot is directly across the street. Quaint, but noisy if you go to bed early or sleep late. We laughed about it as part of the vintage feel ;)
PS. As with most accommodations in the area, there is no AC. No Internet either! You are in the wilds!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisiscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Saint Louis, Mississippi
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

clean & spacious, nothing extraordinary. staff disinterested, granted we were there only 1 night after a busy 4th of july weekend & they stated they were understaffed & did offer apologies for our room not being available until well after the check in time of 3:00 p.m. if it weren't a spur of the moment trip with very limited availability in the area and we had a choice - i would prefer elsewhere -

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gretta40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2013

If you are looking for a quiet place to stay away from the busy world, this is the place to stay.
It was wonderful to be in a place with no phones, no t.v., no Internet access. Which was a nice way to get in touch with Glacier Park and its Beautiful Surroundings. If you are looking for room service, folded towels in the shape of swans, go some where where you will pay an arm and a leg.
This was an amazing stay. My husband and I enjoyed the sense that we did not have to keep up with the Modern World on our honeymoon. Mary, at the Front desk.. Is AMAZING very knowledgeable about the park and the area. We will definitely come back. Thank You.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Glacier
0.1 mi away
Dancing Bears Inn
Dancing Bears Inn
#2 of 6 in East Glacier Park
230 reviews
35.2 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
306 reviews
21.4 mi away
Izaak Walton Inn
Izaak Walton Inn
#1 of 2 in Essex
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.1 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
337 reviews
0.2 mi away
Whistling Swan Motel
Whistling Swan Motel
#3 of 6 in East Glacier Park
74 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glacier Park Lodge
Glacier Park Lodge
#3 of 10 in East Glacier Park
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glacier Highland Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Highland Resort

Property: Glacier Highland Resort
Address: Box 397, West Glacier, MT 59936-0397
Region: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in West Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glacier Highland is a rustic style motel in West Glacier, located across from the Amtrak train station at the West entrance to the Glacier NP, with gorgeous, sweeping mountain views. We have 33 different units with Internet access, satellite television and more. If you are looking for a quaint and high quality restaurant in West Glacier, MT that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner, you will find that on site as well. We are also a hub for fuel, toiletries, clothing and essentials of all kinds, thanks to our convenience store and gas station in West Glacier, MT. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glacier Highland Hotel West Glacier
Glacier Highland West
Glacier Highland Resort West Glacier, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing