We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basics only” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glacier Highland Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Glacier
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glacier Highland Resort
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in West Glacier
Bremerton, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Basics only”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Bed was OK and showers were hot. No A/C, and we would have left the window open, but the railroad was across the road and was noisy - even with a room at back of motel (and it is a motel, not a resort). The oscillating fan helped a little. Expected more for the price.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 123west
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    36
    25
    23
    16
See reviews for
29
47
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
VADNAIS HEIGHTS
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

The building we stayed in was the older of the buildings but met our needs for the night. The bed was comfortable. The outlets were not set up for three prong so we were not able to plug in our car cooler. The room was old but clean.

Room Tip: We did not stay in the newer building but the rooms may be nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JOAN K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mildenhall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

I stayed here for three nights in late May and as such it was still off season and quiet.

The resort comprises various linked wooden buildings set amongst trees and with parking directly in front. Being rustic (and thankfully, in keeping with the stunning scenery) don't expect a fridge, internet or a/c. Thankfully, as it was still quite cold the heater in the room worked well.

Regarding the noise from the trains - to be honest I didn't hear any.

As has been mentioned by previous contributors, there is a great café nearby which provided a friendly and efficient service and good food at a reasonable price which for its proximity to a major national park, is highly unusual.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gluhwurm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
139 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

There are two issues we had, one of which nothing can be done about. That would be the trains. Anywhere in West Glacier you can awing a dead cat and hit the railroad depot. The tracks are use and we are fairly light sleepers, so we noticed the trains. So it does not matter where you are, you will notice the trains.

The second was the box springs. Ours seemed to creak a fair amount. Otherwise we enjoyed our stay very much. Room was clean. As others have noted, this is not a resort, rather a room to sleep in. The prices are higher, but that is more a function of thee proximity to the park. We had originally wanted to be in the Lake McDonald Lodge, but in the end were glad we stayed were we did.

The real highlight was the cafe. Great food with excellent service. Prices are very reasonable and when compared with staying at the lodge, well downright cheap! The pies are amazing.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigDaddyAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
200 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

We were in the building at the top of the hill and found that opening the door shortly before bed briefly and with the ceiling fan we honestly didn't miss a/c and I'd been worried. Our room was clean and the bed comfortable, location convenient to Glacier. The attached restaurant was good too.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Barb J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena, Montana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

The room was clean & newly remodeled, but there was no AC and with the window open, you could hear trains all night. There was a ceiling fan, but still too warm.. The room had no closet, no dresser, no hooks - absolutely no place to hang anything. There was no coffee maker, no hairdryer, no shampoo - bare bones.
For $130/night, I'd spend the extra money and go to Belton Chalet.
We did not check out the restaurant, so can't comment on that.
Also, I wouldn't call this place a resort, definitely just a small motel room.

Louise T.
Montana

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise45212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these West Glacier hotels

springfield, illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We just returned home from a fabulous trip to Glacier National Park. We stayed 7 nights at the Highland Resort. Now, I do agree with some reviews in the sense that this is NOT A RESORT. However, our family made the trip to enjoy the outdoors which is exactly what we did. We spent all day, everyday, away from the hotel and out enjoying the beautiful scenery. We wanted a place where we could crash at night and as long as the hotel was clean and comfortable then we knew that we would be happy. Our first night was spent in the main building.........not a great experience because of the trains.....it was LOUD. The rest of our time there we had a room in the building located furthest from the road.......and no problem.....we slept great!! Our room was comfortable and clean. The staff cleaned the room daily and always provided more than enough towels for our family. The bathroom seemed to be rather new and again, always clean. This hotel is no frills......and not a "resort", but again.....it served our needs perfectly. Our two teenagers, aged 19 and 15 were also fine with this hotel. As I said earlier......we were out and away from the hotel all day. We only crashed here at night and the glacier highland was perfect for that. In addition.....we had a FABULOUS breakfast every morning just a few steps from our door at the glacier highland restaurant. EVERYTHING here was delicious and the entire staff was so nice and helpful when we had questions. We definitely would stay here again and think that the ranking for this hotel gives an entirely different scenario than what we experienced. We are picky when it comes to cleanliness and comfort and I was nervous when I saw the low ranking. Our experience was WAY better than expected and we would have no problem recommending this place to our family and friends.

Room Tip: request a room on the third level......furthest from the road and trains
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carol c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Glacier
35.2 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dancing Bears Inn
Dancing Bears Inn
#2 of 6 in East Glacier Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
35.1 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.3 mi away
Village Inn At Apgar
Village Inn At Apgar
#2 of 6 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
21.4 mi away
Izaak Walton Inn
Izaak Walton Inn
#1 of 2 in Essex
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
35.4 mi away
Glacier Outdoor Center
Glacier Outdoor Center
#2 of 13 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glacier Highland Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Highland Resort

Property: Glacier Highland Resort
Address: Box 397, West Glacier, MT 59936
Region: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in West Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glacier Highland is a rustic style motel in West Glacier, located across from the Amtrak train station at the West entrance to the Glacier NP, with gorgeous, sweeping mountain views. We have 33 different units with Internet access, satellite television and more. If you are looking for a quaint and high quality restaurant in West Glacier, MT that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner, you will find that on site as well. We are also a hub for fuel, toiletries, clothing and essentials of all kinds, thanks to our convenience store and gas station in West Glacier, MT. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glacier Highland Hotel West Glacier
Glacier Highland West
Glacier Highland Resort West Glacier, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing