We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very Homey” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glacier Highland Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Glacier
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glacier Highland Resort
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in West Glacier
Brighton, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very Homey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

This place is not fancy, but sufficient and close to stores and 2 restaurants. The lady that checks you in could not have been more helpful as far as directions, things to see, how to get WIFI, and free maps. The price was extremely reasonable compared to other places around the park.

Room Tip: Get a room in the new remodeled section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BarbarKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    35
    25
    23
    16
See reviews for
29
46
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northfield, IL
Level Contributor
64 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

On the outside it might not look like much. But with a friendly staff, clean, quite and comfortable rooms, it's a great place to spend a few days. The location is excellent, the restaurant is tops and it's nice and quiet. We had an excellent stay there and the staff was genuinely helpful. I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room with 3 queen beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank af847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

rooms are neat and clean but that's about it. no wifi no air conditioning no coffee. I'm a hundred yards up the road at the glacier guides hotel using their wifi to write this review. there's no phone in the room in case you need to contact the front desk about anything, and therefore no way to get a wake-up call. you're better off going someplace else, that is if you can find someplace else. but if you're in a bind and need a place to stay this place will do. the location is superb, right across street from Glacier National Park.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmp717200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these West Glacier hotels

Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
84 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

The room looked newly renovated and was nice. Bathroom was large, bed was comfortable. Only toiletry item was soap; bring your own shampoo. A major rail line was not too far away but really wasn't a problem with noise. No WiFi, no refrigerator or microwave, no breakfast. Better accommodations than the Swiftcurrent Inn, the park hotel on east side in which we stayed for two nights.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mlmdjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Yes, don't be mislead by "resort". "Motel" is really more appropriate. Was in #25. Interior was very basic but it wasn't shabby and it was clean so all in all, met our needs. Focus was really on hiking in the park so just needed a decent bed and hot water. Heater could warm up the room fast too! A small frig would have been nice though and ability to make hot water. Good thing the restaurant is so good. You are sort of forced to go there. And no wifi anywhere; cell worked.
Yes the train is across the street - but being so close to the park entrance was nice too. I only woke up once from the trains. Otherwise it was very quiet.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annabelle101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Checked into the "Deluxe" room. No bedside table lamps, so reading was done with the overhead room lights. No clock radio to tell the time, or set an alarm. Wall clock was out of batteries. No kleenex in room or bathroom. No toiletries whatsoever, just small bar of soap. I was told what makes this room delux is a bigger bathroom, flat screen t.v., and soundproofing. For the price, it's definitely not worth it. I would recommend somewhere else. We had booked 3 nights, and only stayed the 1. Found something way nicer (and cheaper) in Whitefish. Restaurant not that great, either. And it was supposedly featured in Sunset magazine. Not sure why.

Room Tip: I wouldn't recommend staying here. Not worth the money. The only reason they are charging so m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 884Cowgirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

This is a basic hotel without a lot of frills, but it was clean and met the simple need of a place to sleep for the night for not a lot of money. Do be aware it is across the street from a train station, so if you don't have ear plugs you'll be unhappy! The windows opened, always a plus for me. There's a gift shop/restaurant. It's OK, especially if you're too tired to go anywhere else, but otherwise...I'd go anywhere else for a meal.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barbc1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Glacier
35.2 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
35.1 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
36.3 mi away
Village Inn At Apgar
Village Inn At Apgar
#2 of 6 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.4 mi away
Glacier Outdoor Center
Glacier Outdoor Center
#2 of 13 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
38.0 mi away
Historic Tamarack Lodge
Historic Tamarack Lodge
#1 of 3 in Hungry Horse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
45.8 mi away
Meadow Lake Resort
Meadow Lake Resort
#1 of 4 in Columbia Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glacier Highland Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Highland Resort

Property: Glacier Highland Resort
Address: Box 397, West Glacier, MT 59936
Region: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in West Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glacier Highland is a rustic style motel in West Glacier, located across from the Amtrak train station at the West entrance to the Glacier NP, with gorgeous, sweeping mountain views. We have 33 different units with Internet access, satellite television and more. If you are looking for a quaint and high quality restaurant in West Glacier, MT that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner, you will find that on site as well. We are also a hub for fuel, toiletries, clothing and essentials of all kinds, thanks to our convenience store and gas station in West Glacier, MT. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glacier Highland Hotel West Glacier
Glacier Highland West
Glacier Highland Resort West Glacier, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing