We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Glacier
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glacier Highland Resort
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in West Glacier
Binghamton, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed 27 July 2009

I found this a very good place to stay. I had read some of the other reviews and truly do not see where they were coming from. It is a rustic type room— very neat and clean. There was no musty smell to the room which I have experienced in many other places. The beds were comfortable. The office staff was extremely welcoming and helpful including helping me with an injury—above and beyond the call of duty. Location was perfect as I arrived by train. After all the touring in the fresh mountain air, the noise of the trains referred to by other reviewers was no problem. I barely heard anything even when awake.
The restaurant next door served delicious food at a reasonable price and a huge serving. My only disappointment was they were out of Huckleberry Pie which had been highly recommended but the Raspberry/Rhubarb was a good substitute. Service was quick and efficient. I've never seen young people with so much hustle!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traintraveler09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    38
    25
    24
    18
See reviews for
30
50
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plano TX
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2009

Glacier Highland is a small grouping of rustic no frill cabins. No shampoo, coffee, but there is a cafe very close by. Rooms are quaint with cabin motiff and do have a front porch to relax. Also a hot tub is close by. Location is good, very close to the rafters and park entrance. If you cannot find a place within the park, this is 2nd best and highly recommended. Do not even consider the east side at St Mary's lodge unless you are wiling to spend $300 plus a night. Anything less will be greatly disappointing. For the money, Glacier Highland is a good value.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TrippingDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2009

After reading many of the bad reviews about this resort, I feel compelled to dispell some. The Highland Resort is simply that, a rustic resort and if you are expecting the Ritz, then you are better off going to the Ritz. My room was meticulously clean with a breath taking view of the beautiful mountains in the fall. The beds were comfortable, sheets clean and fresh smelling, as were the towels. The water was hot and ice available for soft drinks. It was the office employee's last day of the season and she went above and beyond to make certain I had everything I could possibly need and that I was all set before she left. The rest of the stay I dealt with the staff at the gas station/restaurant next door, both of which were excellent. The food was great and the staff was friendly, prompt with coffee, and prices reasonable. They were concerned for my safety as well with good advice for travel on the mountain at that time of year. This was one of the most enjoyable stays I have had at a resort in many, many years and will return again and again, time permitting. Great job Highland Resort!!! Oh yes, about the train whistle - the historic Amtrak train station and Glacier Association (wonderful bookstore) is down from the resort on the other side of the street. Yes, Amtrak comes through twice a day, as do freight trains, however, after being outdoors in the fresh air, hiking and walking, 50 trains coming through at one time would not have been able to wake me - besides, hasn't anyone ever heard of ear-plugs?

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BevMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2008

This appeared to be a nice place to stay per the pictures. However we found the rooms had very thin walls and we could hear every conversation within 2 rooms of us. Not to mention the trains coming and going all hours of the day & night. The hot water in the sink took 8 to 10 mins. to heat up, the shower was abit better @ getting warm. This was all times of the day, not just in the morning. The hot tub was out of commission when we were there, and we weren't advised of this ahead of time. There was not extra rolls of TP left in the bathroom, so we had to walk to the office to retrieve some when needed. I would not stay here again, the price was not even a plus for the rooms. The restaurant was o.k., but nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank bratsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these West Glacier hotels

Arlington, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2008

After staying on the east side of the park in some cottages, we thought the west side lodging would be equally nice. Not so. This place was a bit on the run-down side, the hot tub had no water, and it is definitely not a "resort." basic accommodations at best- with some bugs and old bedding. The train noise was also annoying. Everything can be heard in the next-door room, b/c the walls are thin. It was also pretty chilly at night.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dcunited074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2008

The stay at Glacier Highland was a serious disappointment. We rented two rooms and both were dirty and outdated. The hot tub was "still broke". The bedspreads in both rooms looked like chenille rejects from the 1950's. We all pulled them off our beds because we didn't want them to touch our skin. The back windows were still broken, blinds in our bathroom didn't work. Nor did the overhead fan and light. One room had standing water in the bathroom. A call was placed to the office. No one responded. We were told the owners were at the Belton (local bar & restaurant). Window coverings looked like very old pillow cases and the one in our room was partially torn down. In both rooms we ran out of hot water after one person showered. We stayed two nights and it was a downer to to come back to the room.
There are a few good things I can say about the hotel. The location and price are good. The sheets were clean. Otherwise, beware.

  • Liked — location, price & clean sheets
  • Disliked — Dirty, dingy and poor service
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GirlTripper52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hayden idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2008

A amazing experince a conveint place to go there is wonderful rooms with rustic furniture a perfect place to go . its nice to know that you have a nice clean room to come back to while exploring glaicer nat. park. wonderful restraunt for fuel berfore you hit the trails exploring the beatiful lands of glaicer nat park.After your long day its nice to come home and have a soak in the jacuzzi i would defently reccomend it to anyone going to glaicer nat. park

  • Liked — everthing about it
  • Disliked — i liked everthing
  • Stayed April 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank hikeamaniac620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Glacier
0.1 mi away
Dancing Bears Inn
Dancing Bears Inn
#4 of 6 in East Glacier Park
240 reviews
21.4 mi away
Izaak Walton Inn
Izaak Walton Inn
#1 of 2 in Essex
544 reviews
35.2 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.1 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Whistling Swan Motel
Whistling Swan Motel
#2 of 6 in East Glacier Park
76 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glacier Park Lodge
Glacier Park Lodge
#4 of 10 in East Glacier Park
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glacier Highland Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Highland Resort

Property: Glacier Highland Resort
Address: Box 397, West Glacier, MT 59936-0397
Region: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in West Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glacier Highland is a rustic style motel in West Glacier, located across from the Amtrak train station at the West entrance to the Glacier NP, with gorgeous, sweeping mountain views. We have 33 different units with Internet access, satellite television and more. If you are looking for a quaint and high quality restaurant in West Glacier, MT that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner, you will find that on site as well. We are also a hub for fuel, toiletries, clothing and essentials of all kinds, thanks to our convenience store and gas station in West Glacier, MT. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glacier Highland Hotel West Glacier
Glacier Highland West
Glacier Highland Resort West Glacier, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing