We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lifetime Experience....”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Glacier
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Granite Park Chalet
Rochester, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Lifetime Experience....”
Reviewed 4 September 2012 via mobile

We went to Glacier this year, last year Yellowstone , we booked our room about 5 days after the the opening of the season and the schedule was already filling up....so book early! No, it's not like Sperry Chalet with 3 cooked meals and running water it,s more like a Hiker's Hut, like in the Alps of Europe.....beautiful almost 100 yr. old stone building, Pit Toilets but a million dollar view!!!.....do you snore? Better bring ear plugs or they are provided free of charge at the 8 o'clock evening coffee hour with camp fire stories... We had a absolutely fab time...if I didn't have to come back to work, would still be there...you can't beat the views and the occasional sighting of the wildlife there....very friendly and helpful staff, Clayton keeps the place humming...we per-ordered our meals, spotless kitchen with all utensils provided...( bring your own dishes and flatware)just bring your own munchies....the reason why you have to pay
for stuff there are no roads so all supplies come by mule pack train!...you can get linens, we brought our sleeping bags, next time, no sleeping bags ,we take more chocolate!!!..We .oved the place and will be back, yes put it on your bucket list!!!!!...The Tucker's from Michgian

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom and Pia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
16
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Don't come expecting a Swiss chalet with electricity, flush toilets, etc. Do come expecting a terrific place to spend a night or two while still roughing it a bit.
Our group of 15 stayed here in August, 2012. Each room has six beds (three bunks - upper/lower). The mattresses are comfy and you can purchase linens (the two blankets and sheets were more than warm enough; the low there at 6,600' was about 50F). The walls are paper thin - you'll hear everyone around you talking, snoring, etc. There were earplugs available (no charge). The kids (college age?) staffing the chalet were friendly and helpful.
You can also purchase water, sodas and a pretty good selection of candy/energy bars - also freeze-dried meals to rehydrate. They have pots/pans in the kitchen and burners for cooking.
There's a great little swimming hole (more like a tiny pond for wading) down by the campground. Of course, the views of the mountains by day and the stars by night are the real reason to stay here.
There is electricity only in the kitchen in the mornings (not in the rooms; bring a headlamp) and pit toilets only.
The one downside (and hence the 4 stars) is that it feels like you're being nickeled and dimed a bit - you need to pay for potable water (not so at Sperry Chalet) and also 10 or 25 cents for paper cups, plates, utensils. Better to just tack an extra $10 on the price and provide everything.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank aml888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

4 milies hike up from the Going To the Sun road are two old stone and wood buildings offer overnight accommodations in the mountains. outstanding views and mountain location - great place to hike to and from. I hiked up early in the morning to see the overnight guests sipping their coffee admiring the view. A good size deer calmly grazed 30 ft from the buildings. Lots of snow around in late july and a crisp dry blue sky topped off the scene. This must book up far ahead but consider it - looks like a winner.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
Helpful?
1 Thank kpvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

If you can walk 7.5 miles with a little up and down, if you are deal with freeze dried food for 1 night and if you are OK with going to an outside privy in the middle of the night, then this is the place for you.
Hike on the Highline trail is sensational, world class trail.The views at the chalet are spectacular, only Glacier National Park. The staff absolutely wonderful. There to make you enjoy the moment.Ambiance of building and fellowship of other guests unreal.
The only thing we[3 60 yr old couples from east coast] would have done differently is arrive earlier[we got in at 4pm] in day, in order to better enjoy staff, other guests and day hikes.
Unique, exciting, wonderful experience.Go if you can.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jimfitz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We joined friends and their families for our first trip to Glacier National Park. This was the first backpacking trip we've taken with our children, 6 and 8. We hiked the highline trail to the Chalet. We had such a wonderful time there. The accomodations cannot be beat - a view with a room - clean and comfortable. The lodge is a hub of activity where warm, knowledgable, humble, and engaging staff took care to make all feel welcome and our children special (they even recognized them at the 7:30pm coffee hour for thier contributions). Our fellow guests were interesting and easy to talk with (the coffee hour was an excellent ice breaker). It was during the hike to/from and stay at the Chalet that our children's interest in hiking and backpacking was ignighted. So much so, they asked if we can come back to the Chalet next year (they've only ever asked to go back to the Cayman Islands before). We are making plans now. The Chalet is nice, the staff, exceptional. In short, if you get a chance to go, go. It's not just a place to stay. It's a place to make memories, remember and look forward to. The staff understand this and do their best to convey their love of the place to all who visit.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed the rooms in the main lodge. In part b/c they were above the main lodge's st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We only secured a place at Granite Park two days before we arrived due someone else’s cancelation. Their loss our gain!

Even though we are all unfit and I am overweight the hike up the loop trail was fine. The warm greeting from Hannah and her brothers at the top soon helped us forget about the journey. Yes, the accom is basic, but clean and very friendly. Yes, you take you own food in, but the camaraderie is unforgettable. Yes, you need to fetch your own water, but so what.

If you get the chance stay here try to put the price out of your mind and do it. Its magical.

Room Tip: freeze dried veg lasagne was the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thedukesofhazzard17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walla Walla, WA
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Our party of 9 traveled to the Chalet on August 4-6 as an early celebration of my dad's 80th birthday. I am a backcountry enthusiast and experienced hiker, so I went with the mindset that I was camping and anything else would be a surprise. The average traveler must take into consider that this is a self-service, rustic rental property. If you aren't used to eating freeze-dried meals, getting your own water, or sleeping in an old bunk bed, then don't confuse this with a full-service motel.
Also, the walls are very thin but the staff provides ear plugs. And you have to walk 200 feet to the bathroom, which at night may be a challenge. FYI: this is grizzly country!
The view from our deck has to be one of the finest in the United States; I have been to a lot of mountain regions, and nothing tops this. But one of the greatest highlights was the professionalism and attention to detail of the young staff. They are dedicated and work very hard. They went out of their way to make us comfortable. 5 stars for the alone. Thank you for the great experience, Granite Park!

Room Tip: They assign your room based on the time of reservation, so you can't choose a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scooterwa2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Glacier hotels
0.2 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
326 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
352 reviews
2.2 mi away
Village Inn At Apgar
Village Inn At Apgar
#2 of 6 in West Glacier
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Vista Motel
Vista Motel
#4 of 6 in West Glacier
245 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glacier Outdoor Center
Glacier Outdoor Center
#3 of 13 in West Glacier
207 reviews
1.5 mi away
Great Northern Resort
Great Northern Resort
#2 of 13 in West Glacier
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granite Park Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granite Park Chalet

Property: Granite Park Chalet
Address: Box 535, West Glacier, MT 59936-0535
Region: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Speciality Lodging in West Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Granite Park Chalet Hotel West Glacier
Granite Park Chalet West Glacier, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing