We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Glacier
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Granite Park Chalet
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Fabulous views along the way make this well worth a visit. Chalet itself is bare bones, what one expects given it's location. Go with the expectation that you are there for the scenery and not for amenities. We paid extra for linens; mattresses are old and bunks creaky. I would happily have paid more for food options that aren't all freeze dried. We hiked the Highline trail to the Chalet and the Loop trail down - latter doesn't have much scenery to speak of, hiking through trees so you don't see much. Former has much nicer views, though part of the view is looking down on the GTS road, which doesn't exactly make you feel you are in a remote location! We had hoped to go up through Swiftcurrent Pass, but snow still on that trail made as switch plans. Somewhat by surprise though there is almost no cell phone reception in the park, there was reception at the chalet. Need to reserve early as the rooms fill up soon after reservations open in the fall.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ARtraveler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed at Sperry on our trip as well and we enjoyed the food very much but Granite Park Lodge has Sperry beat with the views. We missed three Grizzly sightings within a hundred yards of the Lodge by about an hour. We also hiked up to Grinnell over-look which, in our opinion, wasn't work the hike. Just hike into the Glacier and skip the over-look. We did hike up to the fire-tower which was definitely worth it. Amazing views there. We thought the beds were better here than Sperry as well. One of the little chipmunk fellas was crawling all over me while I was eating and taking pictures.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hodges1506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I planned my 10 days in Glacier National Park around getting into the 2 chalets. Book early, applications are accepted for a short period in mid to late October. After that it is booked up, except for cancellations. Do the Highline trail from Logan Pass for this Chalet, at least in one direction (in or out). Do Swiftcurrent Pass for the other direction. Take all day for both/each. Only do "the loop" (steep, hot, boring) if time is limited. Spend AT LEAST 2 nights, maybe 3, to have layover days for day hiking. Do the Swiftcurrent Lookout (all uphill both ways, or maybe it just felt like it), and Grinnell Glacier overlook too.

This is a "hostel style" chalet, in that the kitchen is shared by all guests. All rooms are private, no dorm style sleeping. Bathroom is a single compost toliet (1 girls, 1 boys) separate from the chalet. There is no running water at all. You can bring in your food, and your bedding, or you can do an "add on service" to have bedding provided, and food and water ordered in for your arrival. Depends on what you want to carry in your pack, and finances.

The buildings are old, sound carries, be prepared to know your neighbors even if you aren't sleeping in the same bed with them! There is a social time each night, nature talks, games, etc., a great way to meet wonderful people who love the outdoors. This is a hike in chalet only, no horse service, makes for a better crowd I think, and no poop on the trail either!

The staff is great, absolutely superb, all around. You cannot beat this location, the chalet is perched on a rocky outcrop with full 360 views, sunrise and sunset are remarkable. Must do!

Room Tip: Some rooms are in the main chalet building, so you hear goings on in the kitchen and dining/social a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CTBCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Beautiful location in the middle of nowhere. Just sit back and relax and watch the sunset in the evening. Don't expect super comfort and great food, it is a hut in the mountains overall. Staff is very helpful and efficient. Rather than preordering your food bring your own food but be reminded that you have to carry everything on your back. Suggest you don't bring your own sleeping bag and buy the linen package. No shower, no flushing toilet but pristine nature.
Ear plugs are provided and sometimes essential, the walls look think but you might hear people snoring inone of the other bunk rooms.

Room Tip: Book as early as possible to make sure you get a bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ueberflieger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We had a great stay, the staff is helpful, and you can`t beat the location! Be sure to book early, the place fills up fast. We bought the linen package, dont bother with sleeping bags! Forgot to order food(two weeks prior to stay) so brought our own freeze dried, but they also have those for sale, along with sodas and candy/energy. Basic room, comfy mattresses, the walls are a bit thin, but you can get earplugs, no charge. Pit toilets and no electricity in the rooms, but you come here for the scenery, not the luxury. We didn`t have to pay for potable water, not sure if that is normal procedure or not. Hiked in on the loop trail, but recommend the Highline trail if its open (unfortunately for us it was closed).

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluesky823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We went to Glacier this year, last year Yellowstone , we booked our room about 5 days after the the opening of the season and the schedule was already filling up....so book early! No, it's not like Sperry Chalet with 3 cooked meals and running water it,s more like a Hiker's Hut, like in the Alps of Europe.....beautiful almost 100 yr. old stone building, Pit Toilets but a million dollar view!!!.....do you snore? Better bring ear plugs or they are provided free of charge at the 8 o'clock evening coffee hour with camp fire stories... We had a absolutely fab time...if I didn't have to come back to work, would still be there...you can't beat the views and the occasional sighting of the wildlife there....very friendly and helpful staff, Clayton keeps the place humming...we per-ordered our meals, spotless kitchen with all utensils provided...( bring your own dishes and flatware)just bring your own munchies....the reason why you have to pay
for stuff there are no roads so all supplies come by mule pack train!...you can get linens, we brought our sleeping bags, next time, no sleeping bags ,we take more chocolate!!!..We .oved the place and will be back, yes put it on your bucket list!!!!!...The Tucker's from Michgian

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Tom and Pia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Don't come expecting a Swiss chalet with electricity, flush toilets, etc. Do come expecting a terrific place to spend a night or two while still roughing it a bit.
Our group of 15 stayed here in August, 2012. Each room has six beds (three bunks - upper/lower). The mattresses are comfy and you can purchase linens (the two blankets and sheets were more than warm enough; the low there at 6,600' was about 50F). The walls are paper thin - you'll hear everyone around you talking, snoring, etc. There were earplugs available (no charge). The kids (college age?) staffing the chalet were friendly and helpful.
You can also purchase water, sodas and a pretty good selection of candy/energy bars - also freeze-dried meals to rehydrate. They have pots/pans in the kitchen and burners for cooking.
There's a great little swimming hole (more like a tiny pond for wading) down by the campground. Of course, the views of the mountains by day and the stars by night are the real reason to stay here.
There is electricity only in the kitchen in the mornings (not in the rooms; bring a headlamp) and pit toilets only.
The one downside (and hence the 4 stars) is that it feels like you're being nickeled and dimed a bit - you need to pay for potable water (not so at Sperry Chalet) and also 10 or 25 cents for paper cups, plates, utensils. Better to just tack an extra $10 on the price and provide everything.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
3  Thank aml888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Glacier hotels
0.4 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
371 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
336 reviews
2.2 mi away
Village Inn At Apgar
Village Inn At Apgar
#2 of 6 in West Glacier
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Glacier Outdoor Center
Glacier Outdoor Center
#4 of 13 in West Glacier
213 reviews
1.5 mi away
Great Northern Resort
Great Northern Resort
#2 of 13 in West Glacier
198 reviews
3.2 mi away
Lake Five Resort
Lake Five Resort
#3 of 13 in West Glacier
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granite Park Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granite Park Chalet

Address: Box 535, West Glacier, MT 59936-0535
Region: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Speciality Lodging in West Glacier
Price Range: £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Granite Park Chalet Hotel West Glacier
Granite Park Chalet West Glacier, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing