We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very quiet and Awesome View”
Review of West Glacier Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Glacier
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
West Glacier Motel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in West Glacier
Reviewed 2 June 2013

After backpacking, it was a great place to rest and shower before the long drive home. Very quiet and comfortable with great access to the local store and dinning. The staff is great and very friendly and helpful. If you fish, there is great local information, tips and tactics available from the gentleman at the front desk. I would stay here again and plan to do so on my next visit to Glacier Park....................................................................................................

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2013

The folks at this motel were extremely friendly & nice! Our room was comfortable (although neither of us are short people and it seemed to be made for shorter people). The ceilings are low and even the mirror is hung low in the wall ... we enjoyed our stay here after 2 nights of sleeping on the ground at the campground we were mostly interested in a nice hot shower and a soft bed. Given the location, it was actually very quiet and we got a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula_K625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

This clean, cozy, dated, little motel along the river in W. Glacier is the perfect overnighter on the rainy day we took shelter there. The beds are comfortable. The bathroom made us laugh, and crouch. If you are short in stature, this will amuse you. The toilet was about as high off the floor as those in the preschool restrooms in some schools, had to bend at the waist to use the sink, and crouch in the shower to come close to the shower head enough to wash hair. Wouldn't want to stay here more than one night. Also we heard strange native chanting in the middle of the night just outside of our room at the river end of the motel. When we looked outside, no one was there. Spooky.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We first checked in the park at their sister property and could have paid much more. Just outside the entrance gate with a restaurant next door it served its purpose. Luckily we get up early, because our room (#19) was next to the office and the radio came on next door around 6:30 am. The walls are thin, so if you're a light sleeper, earplugs would be a help. It's off the main street so there isn't traffice noise to speak of. The room was very clean, the wall heater did the trick,the bed was comfortale and we had books to read so didn't really miss TV. Fall is a wonderful time to visit Glacier. Check before you go at any time to see if Logan Pass will be open - it closed the day after we left for construction. If you want a little extra adventure, take a picnic or your kayaks and make the drive to Bowman Lake - it's absolutely beautiful even though the road was a little rough.

Room Tip: Try for the rooms an cabins down the little lane - they looked like they would be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NWWildTurtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

This was one of the best hotels/motels I've stayed at. It was cozy, and cute!!! The hotel has a great view! The rooms were clean and comfortable. I'd LOVE to come back here!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :)

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank Summerbrieze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Such a contrast from St Mary's. Fabulous accommodation up the hill from the main road with a full kitchen and outside sitting area as well as inside. We sat outside eating/reading/writing until it was dark with the sound of the river way below. Helpful staff too. And very reasonably priced. Why stay in more expensive 'park' accommodation when you could be here so close to the western entrance to wonderful Glacier National Park?

Room Tip: Go for the cabins up the hill rather than down near the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pseudonymity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Think National Park Service cabin: small, very basic and functional -- no TV, no phone, tiny bathroom, no air conditioning. Our room here reminded us of a cabin we stayed in on the north rim of the Grand Canyon (not the lodge, the cabins). It is a good location right outside the gate to Glacier NP, and you pay for that, though this was the only lodging near the park under $100 a night. There's a restaurant, bar, small store and other conveniences within walking distance.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank btindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Glacier
0.3 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
336 reviews
2.3 mi away
Village Inn At Apgar
Village Inn At Apgar
#2 of 6 in West Glacier
312 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge
12.7 mi away
Cedar Creek Lodge & Conference Center
11.8 mi away
Glacier Travel Inn
Glacier Travel Inn
#4 of 5 in Columbia Falls
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Glacier Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Glacier Motel

Address: P.O. Box 398, West Glacier, MT 59936-0398
Region: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in West Glacier
Price Range: £54 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
West Glacier Hotel West Glacier
West Glacier Motel Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing