We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dr. Brown where are you?”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of West Glacier Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Glacier
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
West Glacier Motel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in West Glacier
Northridge, CA
Level Contributor
527 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Dr. Brown where are you?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

I would have felt right at home driving a DeLoren up to place as if I were in one of the Back to the Future Movies. This motel was a true blast from the past, it was a true step back in time. The important things, it was clean, it was very well located and the people were nice.
The dollar value considered was fair, but when you are traveling with your wife who is even more tired than you are it has great value.
The negatives are it was small and dated!
I would probably stay there again, if I was in the West Glacier.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcreff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    28
    35
    16
    16
See reviews for
34
53
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

The location is great for access to Glacier National Park, but this place needs to update their accommodations. Room and shower were tiny, bed was not comfortable. It was clean and staff were friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Outbackbrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these West Glacier hotels

Portland, OR
Level Contributor
96 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

I stayed while on a road trip through Glacier National Park. The receptionist was very pleasant and helpful; however, the room was incredibly basic. The shower was so small that it was almost impossible to turn around in it. There was no TV, Internet, radio, A/C, etc. Basically, it was a bed and a bathroom. At $144 for the night, I couldn't even take solace in the fact that it was cheap. The restaurant across the parking lot from the motel was recommended by the receptionist. It was terrible. I had spaghetti and it was bland and runny.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wingflier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Spent four nights at the West Glacier Motel and Cabins in August, 2013. My wife and I booked a cabin on the bluff overlooking the Middle Fork of the Flathead River. The cabins themselves don't have a view of the river, but there is a 'common' area with fire pit, picnic tables, bar-b-ques, and outdoor chairs that sits right on the bluff looking down at the river. Our cabin was good sized with a kitchen area (with basic kitchen necessities including a sink and refrigerator w/ freezer and basic pots/pans/dishes/utensils), dining table, small closet, two queen beds and a small but functional bathroom. There was a picnic table outside our front door as there were at all the cabins. It was clean and well kept. There was a base-board electric heater that worked well one night when it got pretty chilly. I don't know if it had air conditioning, but also don't know if it would ever be needed. We enjoyed it immensely. If you want room service and/or a soda machine down the hall....stay somewhere else. If you want the quiet, serenity and beauty of a cabin in the woods with running water, shower and kitchen...stay here. Great for couples, small groups or families.

Room Tip: Don't know anything about the motel rooms, but the cabins are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rickster-n-sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, CT
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

My two teen-age grandchildren and I stayed in the two-bedroom cabin for three nights to attend a nearby wedding. We found the accommodations very comfortable, clean and roomy. The kids were actually "disconnected" with the exception of their phones, but they enjoyed the experience. We could walk to West Glacier Village (maybe .5 miles), and enjoyed the peace and quiet. The kitchen is fully equipped and roomy. It served as an excellent base for hiking in Glacier Park and was really very nice! Close to everything.

The attendant, Sue, was incredible. Needing an iron to iron our wedding clothes, she allowed us to borrow her personal iron for the weekend, which was really going above and beyond. We really appreciated it.

We very much enjoyed our stay at the West Glacier Cabins, and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. Thank your for a great vacation experience!

Room Tip: This cabin had three full-size beds, one in one room and two in another, and no couch in the living...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

This is a great motel at a very reasonable price- rooms are comfortable and clean, the lady at the front desk was very friendly, and it's a great location near restaurants, stores, and the park. It's not luxury, but the beds were very comfortable, showers were hot, and it had more amenities than I expected- ice available, kleenex & shampoo in the rooms, fan, etc. (Also cell phone service worked fine.) We stayed "on the bluff" which is a short drive up the hill from the office and it seemed much more quiet and secluded - also very pretty mountain views. I would definitely stay there again if I'm back in the area! Also you get 10% discount at the restaurant next door.

Room Tip: Ask to be "on the bluff" - i.e. the rooms and/or cabins that are 1/4 mile drive up the hil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KW1044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Needed a place to stay before traveling through GNP. This is a no frills hotel. It's one room and a bathroom with a shower so small I could barely move in it. But hey......it was clean, cheap and isn't "roughing it" what heading out west is all about?

I'd avoid rooms near the road and right across from the restaurant if you can, it was noisy. We could hear the old gal in the room next to us snoring all night.

I wouldn't want to spend a week there but it was fine for one night. It's in a great area right near the entrance to the park. The restaurant was pretty good and reasonably priced.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Phylo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Glacier hotels
0.3 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
2.3 mi away
Village Inn At Apgar
Village Inn At Apgar
#2 of 6 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Glacier Outdoor Center
Glacier Outdoor Center
#2 of 13 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
5.3 mi away
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort
#9 of 13 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Great Bear Inn
The Great Bear Inn
#4 of 13 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Glacier Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Glacier Motel

Property: West Glacier Motel
Address: P.O. Box 398, West Glacier, MT 59936-0398
Region: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in West Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
West Glacier Hotel West Glacier
West Glacier Motel Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing