We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of West Glacier Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Glacier
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
West Glacier Motel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in West Glacier
Littleton, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Very quaint accommodation in a great location. It sits just outside Glacier National Park with restaurants, shops and laundry within walking distance. With the park so close we had no need for fancy amenities. This motel provided all we needed...clean room and comfy beds.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank jpgrfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    36
    42
    19
    18
See reviews for
43
61
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Idaho
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We had a good feeling what to expect by reading the reviews and calling the motel the day prior to reserve and it met or exceeded what we anticipated. It is simple, but clean, quiet and friendly. We had a 1 Queen room (#16) and it got the job done, warm evening so we moved the fan to the window and it kept us comfortable. Don't plan on unpacking your whole vehicle, keep it simple and enjoy an evening unplugged. Walking distance to everything you need.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank two4Turks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in a two queen room. It was pretty warm so it was good that they had fans in the room. The beds are not too comfortable and could use a good mattress pad, but adequate. It was fun being in the little village. Could walk to the store, restaurant, laundry, and raft company. Convenient place with Glacier NP just over the river for daily hikes. No TV fine, but no wifi for cell phone is difficult. The bathroom shower is really tight and the fan doesn't seem to do anything. Had to open the windows of the room to clear the steam. I would stay again for the quaintness and price.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

The location was great and we stayed in the section closer to the river. The price was great. There was no TV or phone but you cell phone will work if you need it or want to look online. But that is why we went to Glacier National Park to be outside and not in a room.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank WilliamT123123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky River, Ohio, United States
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed in one of the cabins on the ridge up behind and separate from the main motel building. Our cabin was clean, comfortable, quiet, and more spacious than I expected. It was convenient to have a full kitchen for breakfast, and overall a great value. There is no TV or wifi, which was fine with me, but might not suit everyone. I did have Verizon service. The view from the common picnic area is magnificent. The picnic and campfire areas are shared among all of the cabins, but we're never overcrowded during our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

You cannot really beat the location for this motel if you are wandering around the area. You need to be ready to unplug if you will be staying here. There is no wifi or TV, which means that it gets very quiet at night. We were just fine with that, it made us go out and walk around. The area is very nice with some amazing views.
There are no amenities in the rooms, so yes there is a cooler with ice in it outside of the office and by the rooms on the bluff. Consider where you are folks...go outside!
Sue was helping us and what a super lady!! We were given directions to great places to eat and out of the way spots that were must see's. We decided to stay an extra night and had to be moved from the room we were in, but we were able to put all of our motorcycle cases in a storage shed for the day until we could get into the other room. Super handy not having to pack everything up and bring it with us.
The rooms are basic to say the least. There is a bed (double...maybe queen) and a bathroom. The bed was too hard for my liking and there should be a mattress topper tucked away for people who need a bit of a softer bed. Our rooms were clean and well made up by the housekeeping staff. We found all of the staff very helpful and nice.
We stayed one night at the motel and the next night in a room up on the "bluff". Should we go back again, we will always prefer the bluff. The rooms are just as basic, but there is no road noise.
Other than the hard beds, we had no complaints abut this motel and would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you are ok with a bit of a walk to the restaurants and no road noise ask for a room on the "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedona, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

For the price, we expected at least some level of modernity but we found a very old property with no comforts, amenities, or even Wi-Fi which could easily have been provided since there was not even a rabbit-ear TV. Ice was provided in a cooler outside the tiny office. The one good thing is the location right near the western entrance to Glacier Park and the very lovely Lake McDonald Lodge. We spent both evenings at the lodge just to have a place to sit in a comfortable environment. It was worth the cost of dinner and drinks just to avoid sitting in a tiny room from the 50's.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SedonaVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these West Glacier hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Glacier
0.4 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
343 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
318 reviews
2.3 mi away
Village Inn At Apgar
Village Inn At Apgar
#2 of 6 in West Glacier
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Glacier Outdoor Center
Glacier Outdoor Center
#3 of 13 in West Glacier
205 reviews
1.1 mi away
Great Northern Resort
Great Northern Resort
#2 of 13 in West Glacier
163 reviews
4.5 mi away
Under Canvas Glacier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Glacier Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Glacier Motel

Property: West Glacier Motel
Address: P.O. Box 398, West Glacier, MT 59936-0398
Region: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in West Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
West Glacier Hotel West Glacier
West Glacier Motel Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing