We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Village Inn At Apgar
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in West Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful View”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here with friends. We each had a beautiful view from the balcony of Lake McDonald and the mountains behind. The rooms were very basic, yet clean and comfortable. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay here again. Very quiet, relaxing and convenient to everything.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kkoestel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    115
    21
    5
    0
See reviews for
103
142
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Inver Grove Heights
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

No phone, no TV, no problems. This is one of the most relaxing places I have every been, sitting on the porch just looking out at Lake McDonald and the mountains, which are beautiful.The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable although there are doubles and not queen size. The rooms are original, so they look and they are old, but that just adds to the charm. WIFI is only accessible near the office and cell phone access is spotty, so if you're looking for a modern room with all the bells and whistles, this is not for you. The bathroom appears to have been updated and it was very clean. There are several places to rent bikes, kayaks,boats,ect, right outside the hotel door.I have stayed here 3 times in the past 10 years, it is a great location to explore Glacier National Park.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the lake, so there is no bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
322 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We like staying at the Village Inn, mainly because the view is unbelievable and to obtain a unit with a kitchenette for $189/night in the park is a deal. Also, the West Glacier location makes it convenient to rafting, outfitters, golf and other things to do outside the park. Plus it is a short drive into Whitefish, Kalispell and Columbia Falls.

The inn has a variety of room styles. Kitchenette units, 2 BR units, regular room, etc. All of the kitchenette rooms are on the first floor. We always opt for the kitchenette as we like the cooking option and prefer the first floor view.

Being on the first floor, you have a better view of the lake and beach area. You also have an exterior door on each end of the unit, which the 2nd floor does not. The second floor has a solid railing. You can see the lake and mountains, but not the beach.

As for the room, it is dated. However, part of the charm is the old wood decor and feel. It is clean and everything is in good working order. In the kitchenette unit, the beds are doubles and were OK at best.

If you are expecting to be "connected", understand there are no TV's or phones in the room. They do have wifi, but the signal is limited to the area around the office. They claim wifi is coming for all rooms. Cell reception is possible, but depends on your provider and where you located in the complex or room. In our case, we could pull phone and wifi in the kitchenette area, but not when sitting outside looking at the lake.

The staff was friendly and helpful, but laid back.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Bulldog82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Insane view. Great Montanan toiletries. Comfortable and clean. Quiet. Good hot shower. Spent 7 nights here in July. The daily cleaning was a little sporadic, but not a huge problem for me. Will definitely stay here again!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank mrpatterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hammond, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

As most reviewers have stated, the view is stunning. Even if the rooms were not clean and comfortable, which they were, this would still be the place to stay in West Glacier. My wife and I stayed there for three nights in late June and we had a wonderful time.
All rooms face the lake and there is a shared balcony with two big chairs. We enjoyed sitting out in the evening and enjoying the serene. Yes, I said serene, even with the place full, it was quite with no problems. The staff was also very friendly and helpful. I can say that we did not have one problem with this place the whole time we were there, which I can hardly ever usually say.
We would highly recommend this place, as the place to stay in the Park, just outstanding.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, we had a one bedroom with no kitchen (as we were not going to cook) but we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Docsports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We spent two nights here in July, if you are looking for a great place to begin your vacation in GNP this is it. The view is breathe taking. A person does not miss having a TV or a phone in your room.

We did not eat in any of the restaurants in the area as we enjoy cooking our meals and setting outside to enjoy the view. But we did get the Huckleberry ice cream at Eddie's which is a must.

We took a drive to Polebridge great fun to set at the bar there and enjoy a MT beer. The pastry in the general store is a must buy.

Renting a bike or boat in Apgar is fun for all ages.

We will stay at Village Inn At Apgar when in the area again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TGS123_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This place is right on the banks of lake Mc Donalds , its pristine , beautiful , I did call it heaven on earth .. I am falling short of word to describe it.

Service at the hotel is excellent , we requested for early check in \ check out and it was accommodated with a smile .. one of the cleanest resorts I have ever seen.

Room Tip: Take a room on 1st floor facing the lake even if its expensive .. its absolutely worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yash V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Glacier
2.5 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
343 reviews
2.4 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
318 reviews
24.7 mi away
Izaak Walton Inn
Izaak Walton Inn
#1 of 2 in Essex
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Lake McDonald Lodge
Lake McDonald Lodge
#1 of 7 in Glacier National Park
572 reviews
2.3 mi away
Glacier Outdoor Center
Glacier Outdoor Center
#3 of 13 in West Glacier
205 reviews
3.1 mi away
Great Northern Resort
Great Northern Resort
#2 of 13 in West Glacier
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Inn At Apgar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Inn At Apgar

Property: Village Inn At Apgar
Address: Lake McDonald, West Glacier, MT 59921
Region: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in West Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Village Inn At Apgar 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1956, the Village Inn at Apgar is located on the shores of Lake McDonald. This quaint 36 room motor inn offers stunning views from every room of Lake McDonald and the mountain panorama forming the Crown of the Continent. One-bedroom kitchenettes are available, as well as one- and two-bedroom units that can accommodate up to six people. One-bedroom kitchenette rooms are located on the 1st floor and are equipped with basic utensils, refrigerator, stove, microwave, and coffee maker. One-bedroom units are located on both floors and can accommodate a maximum of two people. All rooms are rustic yet comfortable with double and/or twin beds and a private bathroom. Second story rooms are accessed via stairs only and all rooms have an incredible lake view. A limited number of ADA-accessible rooms are available and are booked based on space available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Cancelon so you can book your Village Inn At Apgar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Inn At Apgar Hotel West Glacier
Village Hotel West Glacier
Village Hotel At Apgar
Village Inn At Apgar West Glacier, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing