We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best coffee and muffins in the morning....”
Review of Vista Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Glacier
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Vista Motel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in West Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

It looks like a standard, perhaps flea-bitten '40s or '50s roadside motel from the outside, but it's not. Our room had a new bathroom and comfortable bed and furnishings. It was squeaky-clean. The mom and daughter who manage it are very helpful. There was complete quiet at night from other guests, and the Rte. 2 traffic didn't disturb at all. I was nuts about the huckleberry fresh-baked muffins in the morning and the coffee was great. Why not a "5" rating? BNSF tracks run along the other side of the highway and unfortunately there are grade crossings nearby that require whistle-blowing. It's a busy track. All of West Glacier suffers from this local feature to some extent as nothing is far from the tracks. Just "know before you go" so you are surprised. The Vista is a great jumping off point for heading into Glacier NP. WiFi is available in the sitting area, but not in the rooms. Fine with me, it was pretty fast. We're glad we stayed at the Vista.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xml167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

They offer both cabins and hotel rooms. We were a hotel room with double bed which was very comfy. Very clean, bathroom updated very nicely. It was unseasonably warm during our stay and the side windows were held up with sticks (no air-conditioning or fan) & had to leave the curtains open to get air in. At night we heard the highway noise and the freight train whistles. Didn't see tracks below the freeway when we checked in so was totally unaware. The fridge was a plus, no microwave.Wi-fi & coffee were at a little building across the way not in the room. Fresh muffins were made & served by the manager every morning. The staff is exceedingly friendly and accommodating. The location is great to the park and a rafting company for float trip coordination. Made reservations in March for a July stay, definitely plan ahead if you're going to Glacier in the summer.

Room Tip: Shop early if you're going to Glacier National Park during High season (summer).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I had booked one of the bigger rooms with 2 queen beds and a single bed so the place seems rather spacious to me and comes with a mini fridge. The room is clean and tidy and the bed is comfy and we so that's basically all that I need to have a good night's rest. Facilities are a bit old including the heater but they work anyway.

An extra point for the great location, a stone's throw from the West entrance of Glacier NP. One additional extra point for charging such a reasonable rate despite its great location. I really only went ahead to books this place after trying and trying in vain to get in park lodging and after realising that most other accommodations near the park are either already fully booked or charge an exorbitant rate just because they know that they are near the parks and people are desperate to find accommodation in summer peak season (particularly hard over the Independence Day weekend). I eventually stumbled upon this very little known motel with rather meh ratings after exhausting all other choices. But it was surprisingly pleasant and exceeded all expectations! Even has a heated pool and some hammocks.

Thank you Vista Motel for providing us with a place to stay on our trip to Glacier park and not being greedy and not over charging.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinywingz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We have really enjoyed our 5 night stay in room 11. The views are incredible...even from the bed! Our room was impeccably clean...another huge plus. We were so appreciative of the amenities like the in-room fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. They also provided 2 daily newspapers, free wifi, guest lobby with lots chairs, tables, a working fireplace, puzzles, etc.

The manager, Amy was superb! She was so helpful, warm, cheerful, and genuine. She made many recommendations of fantastic hikes and activities in the area, and made everyone feel at home. Her staff was also excellent. LE and Carlye were bubbly and positive, and instantly helped us with questions.

We will certainly come again!

Room Tip: We had room 11 and loved it because of the amazing view of Glacier while still in bed! Got a peek a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKH1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Our stay this weekend was great! Our room (#6) had a gorgeous view and was very clean. The management and staff were very attentive and we are looking forward to visiting them again on our next trip to the park. You couldn't find a better location.

Room Tip: We liked our room, #6 because of the direct view of the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindarex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

My family stayed at Vista Motel for a few days in the summer of 2012, during our road-trip vacation. This vacation included motel stops at Klamath Falls, Crater Lake National Park, Burns Oregon, Missoula Montana, Babb Montana, and Yellowstone National Park. (At Yellowstone, my back had an adverse reaction due to all of the driving, but that is another story.) In doing my homework ahead of time, I had little idea of what to expect, and I was worried that the road would be narrow and winding, and that businesses would be separated by long distances. But that was not the case. The road leading past Vista Motel is a broad highway and it is a straight one. At the west entrance to the park, there is a veritable village of businesses, restaurants, gift shops, and gas stations. Vista Motel is further into the park, and it can easily be spotted from the highway. A gas station is located a minute or so away from Vista Motel. Vista Motel consists of a dozen little houses, ensuring privacy and quietude. The house closest to the highway is a common area, where in the morning there are free bagels, free coffee, and other snacks, and newspapers (this is not Holiday Inn, so don't expect free omlettes and sausages!). The motel office is a small one. Therefore, travelers who require valet service, doormen, and their own private maître d', would probably be happier at another hotel. The motel office does have a nice selection of videos that can be borrowed for free (plus a free viewing machine). I watched two movies, NURSE BETTY starring RENEE ZELLWEGER and FAR FAR AWAY starring Tom Cruise. Vista Motel was our "home base" during our repeated visits to LOGAN PASS. Please see the attached photographs that I took of the goats at LOGAN PASS.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomBrody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Room 1 is a very small room with the door located on the end of the building. The room has no glacier or any other kind of vista. The room is clean. There are no blackout curtains on the window. There is a highway and train track in front of the motel and when the train passed, items on the desk would shake. For a light sleeper, the night can get very long.

The electrical outlet by the desk is a two prong plug. There is only one three prong plug in the room inconveniently located between the bed and the bathroom door. The only electrical outlet in the bathroom is a two prong plug in the light fixture. The shower is, like the rest of the room, small. A larger person might have difficulty squeezing between the sink and shower to get in and once in a problem turning around.

There is no place to hang clothes except for a wall hook. A small refrigerator did double duty as a bedside table. The lighting in the room was so poor we had to use our headlamps in order to read. The router for internet access is located in the office. The further away you are from the office the weaker the signal. Needless to say, it did not reach our room. Best access is across the driveway in the gazebo.

The only things this place has going for it is its proximity to Glacier National Park and the very nice people at the front desk.

Room Tip: Avoid Room #1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie W, Owner at Vista Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2015

Our location is fantastic. We do offer internet in our community rock room which has a spectacular view of the peaks of Glacier National Park. Some of our rooms are smaller than others. On your next stay with us, if the room is too small we'd be happy to see if another room is available and more to your liking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Glacier
0.9 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
336 reviews
0.9 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
371 reviews
16.7 mi away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#8 of 17 in Whitefish
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Izaak Walton Inn
Izaak Walton Inn
#1 of 2 in Essex
583 reviews
2.8 mi away
Village Inn At Apgar
Village Inn At Apgar
#2 of 6 in West Glacier
312 reviews
3.7 mi away
Under Canvas Glacier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Motel

Address: 12340 Highway 2 East, West Glacier, MT 59936
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in West Glacier
Price Range: £49 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within minutes of some of the country's most inspiring mountain scenery, our West Glacier hotel is about 1 mile from Glacier National Park. After a day in the park, relax by the fireplace in our rock room, or kick back and enjoy the sunset in our hammocks. Make our hotel in Glacier your destination for an unforgettable family vacation. At our Glacier hotel you will find everything you need to make your stay comfortable, try one of our cozy cabins, or relax in one of our hotel rooms. Bring your family and enjoy Glacier's natural beauty right from the front door of your hotel room or cabin. Our Glacier hotel is open from May 15th to September 30th every year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vista Hotel West Glacier
Vista Motel West Glacier, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing