We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad, Bad, Bad”
Review of Vista Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Glacier
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Vista Motel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in West Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Michigan.
14
Reviewed 2 September 2005

Bad, bad, bad. Stay away from this hotel.
Plumbing didn't work.
Shower drain blocked all the time.
Shower head - well I could smell water coming out but I couldn't find any.
Windows would not open.
Bed looked as if it had already been slept in.
The only plus is it's location straight opposite the park entrance.
My advice - don't stay here.

Stayed: August 2005
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 260 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Anchorage, Alaska
11
Reviewed 25 August 2005

My family stayed at the Vista in August 2005. We found the motel comfortable and loved the pool. Our kids enjoyed playing in the wooded acres (we live in a busy urban area) and swimming. The location is quite close to the park entrance. The help is friendly and they go out of their way to make a comfortable stay. No air conditioning or phones but we learned that few motels in this area have these amenities. No tv but we were grateful for the break! The room was clean and basic but suitable and the price was right.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2005

The only good thing I can say about this hotel is its location near Glacier Park. Nothing else good to say. The hotel dates back to the 50's and I dont think its had much up keep in the last 50 years. The decor is very outdated. Our hotel room had no televison, clock, or phone which I can live with but our beds were hard and the linens were very old. Some of the lights flickered and dimmed for some unknown reason. However, the thing that bothered me most was the trickle of water that came from the showerhead. There was not enough water pressure to even take a shower.
One more thing, lots of traffic and railway noise. I don't expect much from an economy hotel but this place doesn't deserve even a half star rating. I would instead recommend staying at the Mountain Pines Hotel in East Glacier. Their rates are even less and you will have a much more enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sleestaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2005

The Vista has a great location, near the entrance to Glacier, and the views are good, though it is located on the highway. It is kind of expensive for the extremely basic room, but people are friendly, and there aren't too many other options.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDSantaRosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2005

The owners of this motel were very friendly and helpful. We were always greeted with a friendly smile and helpful hands. It is the only hotel I could find with a heated pool. The pool is not very big and you do not have a view of the mountains from the pool but it is a quiet, peaceful place to float and catch some sun. The rooms are old, but they are clean and the beds are very comfortable. Also the clientel were very friendly when we were there. We stayed here for 3 nights in July, 2004 before we headed into the park and then we returned for 1 night at the end of our trip. It is very reasonably priced and a good place to stay if you want to experience a few things outside the West enterance to the park. The hotel is on highway2. Looking just beyond the highway are the breathtakingly beautiful sights of Glacier National Park's spectacular mountains.

Thank TravelGuy1USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2004

Stayed 1 night in july '04 prior to camping in Glacier Park. The Vista Motel has a good location near the park with a gorgeous mountain view from the patio chairs outside your room. The rooms were very clean and well maintained for an old building. The staff VERY NICE and accomodating. The rooms are very simple, no AC, no TV, very teeny swimming pool and at 80.00 bucks a nite pretty expensive. But they are also exactly next door to West Glacier Rafting Co. so very convenient if you do a trip with them. The railroad is across the street but we were not bothered. We did have a desk fan going due to heat.

1  Thank Bonny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Calgary, Alberta
13
Reviewed 17 July 2004

The Vista Motel is an older, but charming motel. It was a relief to stay at a motel that was not a chain because the service was personal. The rooms were warm, but fans were provided. After a great day of hiking in West Glacier park, the kids had a blast in the pool. The owners said new TV's were on the way, but we didn't mind having no TV. The staff was friendly and personable making my families stay very fun and comfortable.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Glacier
0.9 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
372 reviews
0.9 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
336 reviews
2.8 mi away
Village Inn At Apgar
Village Inn At Apgar
#2 of 6 in West Glacier
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#8 of 17 in Whitefish
332 reviews
22.8 mi away
Izaak Walton Inn
Izaak Walton Inn
#1 of 2 in Essex
585 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lake Five Resort
Lake Five Resort
#4 of 13 in West Glacier
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Motel

Address: 12340 Highway 2 East, West Glacier, MT 59936
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in West Glacier
Price Range: £49 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within minutes of some of the country's most inspiring mountain scenery, our West Glacier hotel is about 1 mile from Glacier National Park. After a day in the park, relax by the fireplace in our rock room, or kick back and enjoy the sunset in our hammocks. Make our hotel in Glacier your destination for an unforgettable family vacation. At our Glacier hotel you will find everything you need to make your stay comfortable, try one of our cozy cabins, or relax in one of our hotel rooms. Bring your family and enjoy Glacier's natural beauty right from the front door of your hotel room or cabin. Our Glacier hotel is open from May 15th to September 30th every year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vista Hotel West Glacier
Vista Motel West Glacier, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing