We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect spot to rest between Glacier adventures” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belton Chalet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Belton Chalet
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in West Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect spot to rest between Glacier adventures”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

The Belton was truly in the perfect spot to base ourselves for a few days of exploring Glacier National Park. We stayed in one of the cottages that had 3 spacious bedrooms, a big living room with fireplace and a front porch that looked out at the beautiful scenery of Glacier. Plenty of room for a family or 3 couples. Mini fridge,coffeemaker and microwave were great to have with plenty of coffee and tea available. ( they even had little cold 1/2 and 1/2s in the fridge). Clean, comfortable and a warm friendly staff made our stay at The Belton nothing short of wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mamaluke01930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    99
    34
    21
    11
See reviews for
65
162
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Spent one night here after driving through glacier. The staff were great. We arrived later in the day to find the parking lot full and they shuttled the car around all night to make sure we had a spot. Did not make it down to the game room but thought that was a nice touch. The room was decorated in the style of the hotel and was nice. Had a slight issue with the faucet in the shower but it was no big deal. Staff was also helpful with recommendations for places to eat.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the back side away from road/train noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ckienen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Now, keep in mind, this is not a quiet, out-of-the way Montana experience. The historic lodge is right on the highway and next to a railroad. It was a railroad hotel in its previous life. However, the experience is fun, the cabins and lodge rooms very well done and comfortable, the adjoining restaurant is superb, and you are just minutes from the entrance to Glacier National Park. Box fans in the rooms and earplugs make it very do-able!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolcottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Our stay was fine, but the rooms are small, the sink is small, it's a touch noisy, and there's no AC. Other lodges included breakfast, but not this one. Not a good place for kids. The front desk was very friendly. The balconies on the 2nd floor were the nicest feature.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 2nd floor with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
158 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

What a disaster this place is. No A/C even with daytime temps approaching 90. No reliable hot water for showers. No quiet to be found with the rooms having paper thin walls and trains going by all night. No reliable parking if you come in after dinner. No concern from the staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

My husband and I stayed here in mid-July 2013. I should have heeded the warnings about constant trains rumbling through the night. Lovely room did not make up for the disturbed sleep.
We were on 2nd floor, train track side of hotel. My husband slept pretty well but I couldn't wait for morning to get out of there.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, do not stay on train track side of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staunton
Level Contributor
152 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Even though the Belton has WiFi now, I pretend it doesn't. This is still one of my most favorite and special places to stay. My family was in the Lewis Cottage for three nights and enjoyed everything--especially the wonderful porch. In the evening we would go up to the main lodge and play ping pong and shuffleboard. The main thing for me about the Belton is the ambiance. I must say too that we had an incredible housekeeper who not only made up the futon bed in the living room for my son, but also washed the glasses and plates that we had used. I did not expect that! I love the ghost stories about the Belton, built in 1910 and am somewhat sorry that the spirits are not known to visit the two cottages. There is no where like the Belton. Be sure to eat at the tap room -- some of the best food I have ever, ever eaten and it is all fresh and locally grown.

Room Tip: There are ear plugs available if you don't love trains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Foamergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Glacier
0.2 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
2.4 mi away
Village Inn At Apgar
Village Inn At Apgar
#2 of 6 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glacier Outdoor Center
Glacier Outdoor Center
#2 of 13 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Meadow Lake Resort
Meadow Lake Resort
#1 of 4 in Columbia Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Great Bear Inn
The Great Bear Inn
#4 of 13 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
5.4 mi away
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort
#9 of 13 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belton Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belton Chalet

Property: Belton Chalet
Address: 12575 Hwy 2 East, PO Box 206, West Glacier, MT 59936
Region: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in West Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Belton Chalet 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 1910 National Historic Landmark hotel built by James J. and Louis Hill of the Great Northern Railway. After being closed for fifty years, the property underwent a three-year restoration completed in 1999 and is now a National Historic Landmark. The Belton Chalet was the first chalet built for Glacier Park and the park’s first winter headquarters. Belton Chalet, family owned, once again welcomes guest from across the world. Thank you for being our guest and a part of our history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Belton Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belton Chalet West Glacier, Montana
Belton Chalet Hotel West Glacier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing