We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic and Charming”
Review of Belton Chalet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Belton Chalet
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in West Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
nyc
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rustic and Charming”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Loved staying at the Belton Chalet along with a 3 year old. Perfect location with easy access to GNP. Amazing brunch spot just a 3 minute walk down the street. Exceptionally well maintained property with all the ambiance and feel of the "chalet era" from the past. Rooms on the small end but super clean, bed super comfy. They provided us a cushioned bedding mat for our 3 year old, who slept very comfortably on the floor. Note, however, that the rooms do not have A/C and it got a little hot at night despite keeping the windows open. Our room faced the rear parking lot - would suggest getting a room facing the front (over looking the railroad) or a room on the upper floor where the fresh evening breeze through the windows more than compensates for the lack of having an A/C.

Room Tip: Better view (and breeze) facing the railroad or on the upper level
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asadh79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    106
    35
    23
    12
See reviews for
69
169
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed here four nights while enjoying Glacier. It's just outside the park entrance and nicer than any of the park properties. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and the staff are friendly and informative. While many complain about the proximity to the railroad, we didn't mind it. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Logan, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My wife and I stayed in a differnt hotel almost every night during our 10 day trip to Glacier and Banff. We thought the Belton was the best of the bunch. We made our reservations pretty late, so we were not able to stay at any of the lodges within the park. Of the gateway facilities, this one is a gem.

Rooms are smaller, maybe a little quirky for some people, but the painted wood floor and the woodwork throughout was very nicely done. The front desk was helpful and knowledgeable, and parking was convenient. Trains are noisy, as they are throughout West Glacier, but were much less of a problem from our room on the back than we experienced at the Glacier Highlands the next night, where the rooms face the tracks.

If in West Glacier, this would be my top choice.

Room Tip: ASk for a room on the back of the lodge, or a bungalow away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank desertdiver_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This is a great place to stay, Historic Hotel which has been nicely restored. Staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. Grounds beautifully kept. Only down side is that the hotel is located very close to train tracks so not good if you are a light sleeper.

Room Tip: If light sleeper ask for rooms not facing the road and train tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharonhoffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airdrie, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The Belton is a wonderful chalet that is both historic and quaint. The staff welcomes you as soon as you pass through the front door! The room was small, and not air-conditioned, but the nights
cool off and the supplied fan does the trick. I would highly recommend this chalet for the
restaurant itself; we had a fabulous meal that was outstanding!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northfield, IL
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We were camping and were rained out. We called late at night, desperate to find somewhere that would take us. We were fortunate to end up at the Belton Chalet. Not only is the place comfortable and in a great location, it is reasonably priced and the staff is super helpful. They made us feel welcome, despite the late hour, and found somewhere else for us to stay the next night, as they were full.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room or maybe one on the side facing away from the train
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank af847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed in room 39 in the building behind the Belton Chalet. It was on the second floor so not directly looking at the row of parked cars on the lower floor but our view opposite was of the forest. The building was still a traditional chalet and frankly it was VERY quite, bearing in mind the train line runs nearer the Belton Chalet itself. The location is just outside the park so very convenient and I highly recommend its location. Good restaurant at the Chalet, no TV or phone in the room but you should be there for the scenery so make the most of it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bruce3086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Glacier
0.2 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
343 reviews
22.6 mi away
Izaak Walton Inn
Izaak Walton Inn
#1 of 2 in Essex
547 reviews
2.4 mi away
Village Inn At Apgar
Village Inn At Apgar
#2 of 6 in West Glacier
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#8 of 17 in Whitefish
307 reviews
17.3 mi away
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
#2 of 17 in Whitefish
1,011 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glacier Outdoor Center
Glacier Outdoor Center
#4 of 13 in West Glacier
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belton Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belton Chalet

Property: Belton Chalet
Address: 12575 Hwy 2 East, PO Box 206, West Glacier, MT 59936
Region: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in West Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Belton Chalet 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 1910 National Historic Landmark hotel built by James J. and Louis Hill of the Great Northern Railway. After being closed for fifty years, the property underwent a three-year restoration completed in 1999 and is now a National Historic Landmark. The Belton Chalet was the first chalet built for Glacier Park and the park’s first winter headquarters. Belton Chalet, family owned, once again welcomes guest from across the world. Thank you for being our guest and a part of our history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Belton Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belton Chalet West Glacier, Montana
Belton Chalet Hotel West Glacier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing