We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Belton Chalet” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belton Chalet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Belton Chalet
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in West Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
Oak Lawn, Illinois
2 reviews
“Belton Chalet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

First the Restaurant: Wonderful! We were a large group of 21 and Melinda worked with me before we went to Glacier. She gave us the private Heritage Room. I chose six items from the menu and she printed a special menu for us. The food was wonderful. Everyone was happy with their meal.
My granddaughter and I stayed at the Belton Chalet after our week in Glacier was over. We had Room 30 with four windows and a fan and it was very comfortable. We enjoyed two more meals at the restaurant, the architecture tour, the shuttle to McDonald Lodge, shuffle board, hiking, and the closeness of the train when we headed back to Chicago. The night clerk, not only woke us by knocking on our door but also drove us the short block to the train station.
Thank you to the staff at the Belton. You're the BEST!

Room Tip: The loudness was only the trains passing by. If you choose a historical hotel next to the train sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mjoharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    99
    34
    21
    11
See reviews for
65
162
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

I want to thank Brad and the owners of the Belton Chalet for helping us in a very sticky situation. Our hotel plans went awry at another location and we showed up at the Belton Chalet at 11:00pm with no where to stay. Everything in town was booked - literally. Another hotel was giving people blankets so they could sleep in their cars. Brad and the owners came to the rescue and let us stay in one of their private rooms because they too were fully booked. I can't thank you all enough and will always remember the great kindness you showed my family. When we come back to the amazing Glacier National Park - and we will - we will definitely book with you. I love that in a impersonal world, there are still people who care and go out of their way to help. Thank you again. Sincerely, The Abele Family

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AbeleTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
126 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

When I die & go to travel heaven I will stay at the Belton Chalet. We hunt out historic properties and if you don't know what this means, or think you might want the local chain motor inn because it's got a color TV or ... please! don't book this and complain. This restoration is the most outstanding we have seen; awards outstanding. The beds are small, as are the rooms, but they are very nice beds with very nice linens. The floors are painted wood, which screams clean. The sink is outside the bathroom, & our fixture was original. The common areas are delightful & homey. The 'lobby' is in front of the first floor rooms, which made our room very quiet. The restaurant & bar are in front down the steps & gourmet. The location is perfect, 1 block from the West Entrance to Glacier. For breakfast you are directed 1/2 block over to a good place with fine pies. We did not hear any loud trains, if you are looking for that, try La Posada in Winslow, AZ. Don't miss their entry in the book, "Great Lodges of the National Park" by Barnes

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeans163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATLANTA
Level Contributor
116 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

No A/C or TV or elevator and the rooms were very small. This is an old railroad hotel. I was here with a group. Although it got down in the 40's at night the room was still "warm". There was a fan we ran the entire time and we kept the windows open the entire time. I didn't see any better options for the area unless you went to Kalispell or Whitefish for a more modern place.

Room Tip: We were at the railroad tracks but I didn't have a problem sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KENTGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed the night here. Great place to stay and the location has a great view. Sat on our deck and enjoyed the evening. The trains are loud but the have ear plugs in the room if you need them. This was a nice place to stay after the Going The Sun Road.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
85 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We love coming here and this time we brought some cousins and stayed in the Lewis cabin.
Note... if you can't handle passing trains and road noise, stay someplace else.
Love the lodge with ping pong down below...
Food is always top notch esp fresh fish or beef. We collect the Ware plates and enjoy the proximity to both the park and outfitters, not to mention the old original bridge for river jumping!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Loved staying at the Belton Chalet along with a 3 year old. Perfect location with easy access to GNP. Amazing brunch spot just a 3 minute walk down the street. Exceptionally well maintained property with all the ambiance and feel of the "chalet era" from the past. Rooms on the small end but super clean, bed super comfy. They provided us a cushioned bedding mat for our 3 year old, who slept very comfortably on the floor. Note, however, that the rooms do not have A/C and it got a little hot at night despite keeping the windows open. Our room faced the rear parking lot - would suggest getting a room facing the front (over looking the railroad) or a room on the upper floor where the fresh evening breeze through the windows more than compensates for the lack of having an A/C.

Room Tip: Better view (and breeze) facing the railroad or on the upper level
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank asadh79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Glacier
0.2 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
2.4 mi away
Village Inn At Apgar
Village Inn At Apgar
#2 of 6 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
22.6 mi away
Izaak Walton Inn
Izaak Walton Inn
#1 of 2 in Essex
4.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Glacier Outdoor Center
Glacier Outdoor Center
#2 of 13 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
13.1 mi away
Meadow Lake Resort
Meadow Lake Resort
#1 of 4 in Columbia Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
17.3 mi away
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
#2 of 16 in Whitefish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belton Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belton Chalet

Property: Belton Chalet
Address: 12575 Hwy 2 East, PO Box 206, West Glacier, MT 59936
Region: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in West Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Belton Chalet 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 1910 National Historic Landmark hotel built by James J. and Louis Hill of the Great Northern Railway. After being closed for fifty years, the property underwent a three-year restoration completed in 1999 and is now a National Historic Landmark. The Belton Chalet was the first chalet built for Glacier Park and the park’s first winter headquarters. Belton Chalet, family owned, once again welcomes guest from across the world. Thank you for being our guest and a part of our history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Belton Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belton Chalet West Glacier, Montana
Belton Chalet Hotel West Glacier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing