We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the Belton Chalet”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Belton Chalet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Belton Chalet
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in West Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“the Belton Chalet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2010

offers a main building, and 2 cabins(Lewis, Clark). We stayed in Clark which is closest to the Tap Room of the main building. Majestic views, the "Best of the Best" in hospitality and service. We went on a group hike with the owners of the Belton to the Granite Chalet. It is an 11 mile hike with views that make man feel small. Do some web checkin', everything is packed up to the Granite Chalet by mule or human. A real Treat to a hikers vacation.

Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    99
    34
    21
    11
See reviews for
65
162
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2009

The Belton Chalet is one of the few places to stay in West Glacier, and they know it. The rooms are shabby and tiny, the walls are paper thin, the noise from the street is loud, but the prices are those for a much classier and more luxurious hotel. The service alternated between grudging and indifferent, until I actually checked out at which point they were chatty, friendly, and helpful. Hmmm. They don't provide breakfast which means that you can buy their overpriced baked goods (they looked like they were bought in bulk from Costco) or walk down the highway to the cafe in the gas station for an overpriced breakfast. I wouldn't recommend the Belton unless you get a really good price. You'll be disappointed if you pay more than $60/night, here. Actually, you'll probably be disppointed no matter what you pay. And, beware their cancellation policy - less than two weeks and you are stuck with paying a lot of the room rate, even if you are only cancelling part of your stay.

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lexaworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheridan, Wyoming
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2009

My husband and I decided to enjoy a weekend in Glacier National Park and chose this hotel based on its historic connection to the park. The Belton Chalet was constructed in 1910 by the Great Northern Railway, though the lodge building was built in 1913. The hotel property has been beautifully restored and when you walk through your room door, it is like stepping back in time! I believe that this hotel caters to a certain type of traveler; those who are interested in history and want to experience it. The rooms are small, the floors creak, noise travels easily between the hallway to the rooms, the bathrooms are tiny, and there are no TVs or telephones in the rooms. However, it all lends itself to an authentic experience.

For those who are familar with historic lodges, each room is equipped with a private bathroom. The bathrooms are small and only consist of a shower stall and toilet (the sink is in the room itself). When I called and made my reservation, I specifically asked the desk clerk about the bathroom situation and was told that when the hotel was renovated, bathrooms were installed in the room closets because when the hotel was originally built, bathrooms were shared.

Alarm clocks are not standard, though they can be requested at the front desk. Our room (#25) did not have a balcony and was on the back side of the lodge, so we never noticed the railroad noise throughout the night. The room was decorated with an antique dresser and two chairs. The bed came with four pillows: two soft and two firm. This meant that both guests could choose their idea of comfort.

In addition, the restaurant was excellent; my husband enjoyed the buffalo meatloaf, while my steak was one of the best I have ever had! The restaurant was very cozy and had almost a romantic atmosphere.

If you are looking for a large room and free continental breakfast, find lodging in Kalispell. However, if you are looking for an authentic experience with close proximity to Glacier National Park, the Belton Chalet is an incredible lodge!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdokco3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2009

Let me first say, I still like the Belton Chalet. They have a wonderful location, good food at the taphouse, and a great staff. However, my disappointment of the removal of the breakfast significantly changed my opinion about the chalet.

Our last visit (July 2006), a continental breakfast was served downstairs. Not that is was fantastic, but it was very good. The best part of it, was the ability to meet other guests and talk. It added to the ambiance of the chalet. Without the breakfast, the stay seemed like any other place.

I am still rating it very good because of the above mentioned factors, and they have some of the best beds for sleeping (at least for me) that I have been in. I just wished they would put the breakfast back in place. It was a real disappointment. I am not sure if I will return next time.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank projack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2009

The chalet has been tenderly and lovingly refurbished and has proudly taken its place on the National Historic Register. The train-side rooms are great for those of us for whom the sound of a train slicing through the night is sweet. A little time zoning out in the rocking chairs on the deck helps deepen the relaxation and appreciation of this special spot at the edge of Glacier National Park's natural wonders.

The rooms are wonderfully spare and clean, the restoration masterful, the food is great and the bartender makes sure your glass of wine is at its best--part of the great hospitality we experienced. We were not treated like "tourists." but as welcome guests.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IdahoMountaingal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newberg, OR
Level Contributor
106 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2009

The hotel is rustic, but clean and very nice. I see that some of the reviews are critical of the sounds of the trains, but that is the history of the place and that is what makes it unique.
The restaraunt was absolutely excellent. The chef, is the young lady running from downstairs to the rear of the restaurant doing a 4.4 forty with 9 thick juicy steaks on a plater. We had the duck appetizer that knocked our socks off. My wife had the bourban marinaded filet that was unique and perfect to the taste. I had the buffalo ribeye, and it not only was done to perfection but was hand selected for its flavor and taste. We were not expecting this, we just walked in on a suggestion from the front desk. The meal was the best we had on our trip.

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ShayN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2009

It's been 7 years since our last trip to Glacier & the Belton Chalet so we decided to rtn this year on a family trip. You can't visit the area & not stay here, it's a classic place w/a great restaurant. Our group had 2 rooms, one on the 2nd flr, facing the parking lot, at the top of the interior stairs which has a full/queen bed & sink in the room, toilet & shower in a separate room & writing desk. The other room was on the 2nd flr, street side & the last room at the end of the hall w/2 twin beds w/sink in the room, toilet & shower in separate room. The bonus to this room is the porch w/2 rocking chairs that look out to the road. Really liked sitting out there & drinking a cold one!

Things to consider: if your room is on the street side, beware that West Glacier is a Amtrak train stop so you will hear the train! The Chalet is right across the parking lot of the Amtrak stop. If your room is on the parking lot side, you will hear the cars of people leaving early in the AM or hear people getting picked up by the red touring cars, especially if you're on the 1st flr. Probably the lesser of the evils is a room on the 2nd flr, parking lot side, which we had. Our family in the other room said it was like the scene in My Cousin Vinny where the train comes by early in the AM. ha ha

The staff is very nice & is knowledgeable about the park. The rooms are clean & the place is neat & pretty. Enjoyed sitting in the quiet lobby reading about Glacier & looking at the local crafts in the case.

The last time here, we had a continental breakfast which I think has been discontinued. Too bad. There are the 2 single cabins available but have never been in them. And you have to try the restaurant, it's fabulous! Wonderful menu - try the meatloaf entree & huckleberry pie for dessert! You can read about the chef in a framed article from a local magazine that is on the 2nd flr. Really great food!

Chk their website for more pics. Chalet is highly recommended! And don't forget to buy one of their t-shirts.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiku621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Glacier
0.2 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
2.4 mi away
Village Inn At Apgar
Village Inn At Apgar
#2 of 6 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glacier Outdoor Center
Glacier Outdoor Center
#2 of 13 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Meadow Lake Resort
Meadow Lake Resort
#1 of 4 in Columbia Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
5.5 mi away
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort
#9 of 13 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Great Bear Inn
The Great Bear Inn
#4 of 13 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belton Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belton Chalet

Property: Belton Chalet
Address: 12575 Hwy 2 East, PO Box 206, West Glacier, MT 59936
Region: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in West Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Belton Chalet 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 1910 National Historic Landmark hotel built by James J. and Louis Hill of the Great Northern Railway. After being closed for fifty years, the property underwent a three-year restoration completed in 1999 and is now a National Historic Landmark. The Belton Chalet was the first chalet built for Glacier Park and the park’s first winter headquarters. Belton Chalet, family owned, once again welcomes guest from across the world. Thank you for being our guest and a part of our history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Belton Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belton Chalet West Glacier, Montana
Belton Chalet Hotel West Glacier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing