We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute and cosy!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Great Northern Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Ingatestone, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Cute and cosy!”
Reviewed 24 September 2007

We stayed at the GN Whitewater in early September - being just a party of two, we opted for one of the two smaller accommodations (Osprey). The size of the cabin was absolutely fine - downstairs had a small living area and kitchen, and a small (and reasonably basic) bathroom. Upstairs was the bedroom with two comfy double beds and a balcony. It was all reasonably clean too. We had a gas barbecue outside but it was very old and didn't work - luckily there were no guests in the cabin next door so we were able to use theirs instead, which was much newer and actually worked! We had a chance to look in the bigger cabins and I must say they are better appointed (with air conditioning for one thing, which Osprey didn't have, although a fan was provided).

The location is just off a main road and I would not say that the views were particularly impressive, but it was far enough away from the street not to have any noise at night and was very peaceful. There is a restaurant over the road, otherwise other shops/restaurants are in West Glacier whuich is just a couple of minutes' drive away. The main entrance to the National park is also just a few minutes' drive away.

The staff were all lovely - all very helpful and happy to answer any questions we had. We also did a rafting trip which was very enjoyable.

Overall I would recommend this accommodation, especially if you are looking to stay in one of the larger cabins.

  • Liked — Lovely looking cabin, nice staff
  • Disliked — no air con in the smaller cabins
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polarbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    29
    11
    4
    0
See reviews for
83
36
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2007

Our group of 4 families stayed in 2 of the larger cabins. Plenty of space for sleeping, cooking, eating, and relaxing. The grounds were ideal with a fire ring, barbecues, volleyball court, and pond. Great view of the surrounding mountains and forest leading to the entrance to Glacier National Park. Other accomodations in the area did not compare in terms of age, quaintness, setting, location, and comfort.

  • Liked — Enhancement of national park experience
  • Disliked — Grocery store 15 miles away
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dann1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2007

We stayed a total of 4 nights in one of the smaller units. When we arrived, and picked up our keys we were told they didn't furnish daily room service, but would come by every other day and tidy up the rooms. (this was not noted when booking) Our room was clean for an older log cabin (looked as though it had not been updated since built). It was listed as a 6 person unit, with an efficiency kitchen. One burner hot plate, microwave, coffee pot, and small fridge. Would have been very difficult to cook for 6. With just 2 of us no problem. It had 2 queen beds upstairs & A sleeper sofa downstairs so it could sleep 6, however could not seat 6 as only furniture was sleeper sofa, one wooden chair and wooden bench at kitchen table. Bath was down stairs, very small, but shower had good water pressure. No extra toilet paper, just one partial roll. Had to go buy a hairdryer, not one in the room. On the second day, had to go bumb toilet paper from the office. Was told they would be in to shape things up the next day. Well, on the 5th day we left, with no one ever coming by!! By the way, there is a note on the table that the cleaning staff appreciate tips, we would have appreciated some cleaning. When you are paying nearly $300. a night with no cancellation rights I would expect more service. No one seemed the least bit concerned, perhaps because they require full prepayment with no cancellation rights. It appeared the larger cabins were better equipped. The smaller one we stayed in was definitely nothing close to the pictures on the website. We would not stay here again and would have left earlier if we could have gotten a refund.
While we were there, we stopped by another place with cabins about a mile down the road that are almost new. They have all the amenities, cleaned daily. ([--]), priced about a $100. less.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LeeSalem_Oregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2007

We stayed here 3 nights while visiting the west side of Glacier National Park, (less than 10 minutes down the street) People were very friendly, clean lodges with kitchen areas and grills. Plenty of room for large families. Super market about 10 minutes away.

We also enjoyed a white water rafting trip down the flathead river.
Great fun.

  • Liked — The living space and location
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane Valley WA.
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2007

Great Northern Whitewater Resort exceeded our expectations. Mary and Reno, handled all the details, from lodging to transportation. (9) of us, ages 5 to 90, arrived by Amtrak and were taken to breakfast, while the luggage went to the chalet. The chalet is a two story ,4bed,2bath,full kitchen,2full balcony's,home away from home. We all went on the whitewater dinner raft trip. Jason and Missy were our guides. They're knowledge of the river,Middle Fork Flathead, the area,and cooking expertise made the excursion priceless. GN whitewater is" the" place in West Glacier MT.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank SOGO71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2004

Great Northern is the premier river rafting outfitter in the area. The guides (esp. Aaron & Jake) are without a doubt the most fun loving, safe and reliable guides you could ever ask for. Their knowledge of the rivers is astounding. They can cook up a storm if need be and present it better than any restaurant. Reno, the owner, is a prince among outfitters, who will work with you to make sure your trip is pleasureable. His supporting cast of young ladies outdo themselves every time in assisting you in your arrangements. He also can supply you with room accomodations in chalets that are 4 star. A totally enjoyable, exciting and memorable adventure for the whole family.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Devlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Glacier
1.3 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
343 reviews
1.4 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
315 reviews
22.9 mi away
Izaak Walton Inn
Izaak Walton Inn
#1 of 2 in Essex
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Village Inn At Apgar
Village Inn At Apgar
#2 of 6 in West Glacier
291 reviews
1.2 mi away
Glacier Outdoor Center
Glacier Outdoor Center
#3 of 13 in West Glacier
201 reviews
3.4 mi away
Under Canvas Glacier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Northern Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Northern Resort

Property: Great Northern Resort
Address: 12127 Highway 2 East, West Glacier, MT 59936
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Speciality Lodging in West Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Great Northern Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5 log cabins provide a perfect base camp for exploring beautiful Glacier National Park. Enhance the quality of your Montana adventure vacation by staying in a custom made log cabin designed especially for you. Enjoy a full kitchen with all linens, dishes and cookware. Resort activities include whitewater rafting and fishing trips, as well as paddle board rentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Great Northern Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Northern Hotel West Glacier
Great Northern Whitewater Hotel
Great Northern Resort West Glacier, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing