We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a great wilderness experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lake Five Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake Five Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“a great wilderness experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at the Lake Five Resort for five days last summer. Lake Five is located just outside Glacier National Park, and you couldn't ask for a more beautiful, peaceful surrounding. The rustic accommodations took me back to by childhood summers spent at a lakeside cabin in northern Maine. This is exactly what I was looking for when I booked here! The staff was friendly, courteous, and made me feel right at home. Inside the cabins, things were pretty basic, but I didn't mind at all. It just was one more reminder of those good old fashioned summers i used to have. Evenings were the best - cool and quiet and without the faintest hint of civilization outside my window. For a great "edge of the wilderness" experience, you can't beat Lake Five Resort!

Room Tip: recommend lakeside cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aldri7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    24
    6
    4
    5
See reviews for
113
33
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Anybody who enjoys family camping, swimming, and good water sports this is the ultimate spot!!!! Cheers all around to Ron and his staff for making lake Five Resort an amazing vacation!!
P.S. Undoubtly the cleanest camping you will find in Montana!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bluesky12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coram, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

The Lake Five Resort is one of the nicest, campground/cabin/resort situations I have seen. My dream is to buy a campground and I have been looking at a lot of them all over the United States. I told the manager how much I liked this place while he mopped the floor in his office. He nonchalantly agreed. His name is Ron and he said his grandparents homesteaded the place. He said he was the luckiest guy in the world for being born into his family and Lake Five and for being able to offer the best place he could ever be a part of to a conscientious
clientele. There are two rules to follow at the Lake Five Resort in order to get the Good Guy Discount. Number one is no littering and number two is be nice. Ron expects his customers to respect the property, their neighbors and his employees. Don’t litter and be nice are two good rules for anywhere. More businesses should be operated like this. Of all the campgrounds I’ve
seen in my search, it’s in my top three.

Room Tip: This place isn't the Hilton. It's somewhere between freedom and luxury.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dridenour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

Such a great place. We stopped at Glacier during the shoulder season in October, so it was super quiet. This place is beautiful though and Ron who owns and runs the campgrounds is a GREAT host. We will definitely go back there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bergkamp79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coaldale, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

We found this gem by pure chance surfing the net and decided to "wing it" We were totaly blown away by the friendliness of the resort owner and his team. Any issue we had during our entire stay was accomodated to the best of their ability. We found the resort to be very treed and the beach/swimming area clean and the water suprisingly warm! The fact that the resort is located so close to Glacier and Kalispel makes it perfect to relax a bit and also engage in other activities. This is the best of both worlds if you have kids...one day at the beach...one day white water rafting etc. We loved it so much that we have already booked for next year to stay for 2 weeks. Some of the sites are quite small so if you have a large RV I recomend booking well in advance but it's well worth it!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Falls, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

I want to share with you a little piece of Heaven on earth. The Lake Five Resort is the most beautiful, serene and amazing place I have ever been. My family had a reunion in June 2011 at the resort. The weather wasn't the best, but there was not one of us who would have been anywhere else. Ron, the proprietor, was so nice and welcoming. He made us feel like part of "his" family and we wanted tp include him in our coffee around the fire. You feel like you are home, without all the responsibilites. He and his staff are very kind and genuine. They very much appreciate that you are there and will do anything they can to make your stay the best ever. If there is anywhere in the world that should be on your "bucket list'", Lake Five is the place!

Room Tip: Wonderful campsites and cozy cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, California
Level Contributor
151 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

Following recommendations of previous posts, we booked a 3 night stay on our trip to Glacier NP. This was the highlight of our trip. Peaceful lake, rustic cabins. No traffic noise, only an occasional train across the lake which added to the charm. We were here mid-September, a perfect time for those of us who can travel after school starts. This would be a fun family destination, with the roped off swimming area and small playground. Ron was a great host, as others have mentioned, and his dog Cody was a most playful German Shepard. A favorite memory is sitting outside by the fire, having dinner at the picnic table with our lake view. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: If renting a cabin, inquire about the kitchen furnishings. Ours had a refrigerator, stove and micro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank southbaytravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Glacier hotels
3.1 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
2.9 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
4.8 mi away
Village Inn At Apgar
Village Inn At Apgar
#2 of 6 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Glacier Outdoor Center
Glacier Outdoor Center
#2 of 13 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Great Bear Inn
The Great Bear Inn
#4 of 13 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
1.8 mi away
Great Northern Resort
Great Northern Resort
#5 of 13 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Five Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Five Resort

Property: Lake Five Resort
Address: 540 Belton Stage Rd, PO Box 338, West Glacier, MT 59936
Region: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Speciality Lodging in West Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Five Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabins, RV sites camp sites and tipis right on Lake Five. Boating, fishing, volleyball, horse shoes and a playground for the kids. Three miles west of West Glacier. Best swimming in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Lake Five Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake 5 Resort
Lake Five Hotel West Glacier
Lake Five Resort West Glacier, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing