We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be #1”
Review of Lake Five Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake Five Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia Falls, Montana, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Should be #1”
Reviewed 4 June 2012

There’s no better swimming in the world than Lake Five. I’ve been swimming there for 55 years, since I was a kid, and it’s always been great. The Ridenour family should be proud of their part in providing superior vacations to travelers for almost a century. Ron Ridenour is carrying along the tradition and making the place shine with his helpers who do that and more. The Lake Five Resort has always been number 1.

Room Tip: Best cabins are on the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakefivehenry, General Manager at Lake Five Resort, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Thanks for the nice words Bennett. You're probably as smitten, as prejudiced as I am. But you know what? The Lake Five Resort wouldn't be as friendly as it is without its awesome clientele. We have pretty nice scenery but the best customers in the world put the frosting on the cake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    24
    6
    4
    5
See reviews for
117
33
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
crersted butte, co
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2012

While on a five week cycle tour from Colorado to Canada we were lucky enough to stumble upon Lake Five Resort. We camped at many public and private campgrounds during our trip and found camp spot to be the best of our entire journey. It is situated right on beautiful Lake FIve with excellent views in all directions. The resort is impeccably clean and well maintained. The lake is clear and offers excellent swimming, canoeing and fishing.. Third generation owner, Ron is doing nothing but making his ancestors proud with his efforts to maintain a resort of the highest caliber. Trains do pass near but we found no adverse affects from this.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cycletravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2012 via mobile

We just visited Lake Five Resort for our first time and we absolutely loved it. It was quiet, peaceful and very beautiful. We spoke with the owner, Ron, several times and found him to be very friendly and interesting. He would be a great man to sit around a campfire with. Maybe next time :)

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Staying at Lake Five reveals the more relaxing side of life. As soon as we arrived we felt right at home with spectacular views and excellent hospitality. The property is well maintained and spread out. Family friendly and 4 miles Glacier National Park, this resort has the best location and views for the area. Take a dive in Lake Five!

-Happy Campers

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mhix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at the Lake Five Resort for five days last summer. Lake Five is located just outside Glacier National Park, and you couldn't ask for a more beautiful, peaceful surrounding. The rustic accommodations took me back to by childhood summers spent at a lakeside cabin in northern Maine. This is exactly what I was looking for when I booked here! The staff was friendly, courteous, and made me feel right at home. Inside the cabins, things were pretty basic, but I didn't mind at all. It just was one more reminder of those good old fashioned summers i used to have. Evenings were the best - cool and quiet and without the faintest hint of civilization outside my window. For a great "edge of the wilderness" experience, you can't beat Lake Five Resort!

Room Tip: recommend lakeside cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aldri7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Anybody who enjoys family camping, swimming, and good water sports this is the ultimate spot!!!! Cheers all around to Ron and his staff for making lake Five Resort an amazing vacation!!
P.S. Undoubtly the cleanest camping you will find in Montana!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bluesky12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coram, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

The Lake Five Resort is one of the nicest, campground/cabin/resort situations I have seen. My dream is to buy a campground and I have been looking at a lot of them all over the United States. I told the manager how much I liked this place while he mopped the floor in his office. He nonchalantly agreed. His name is Ron and he said his grandparents homesteaded the place. He said he was the luckiest guy in the world for being born into his family and Lake Five and for being able to offer the best place he could ever be a part of to a conscientious
clientele. There are two rules to follow at the Lake Five Resort in order to get the Good Guy Discount. Number one is no littering and number two is be nice. Ron expects his customers to respect the property, their neighbors and his employees. Don’t litter and be nice are two good rules for anywhere. More businesses should be operated like this. Of all the campgrounds I’ve
seen in my search, it’s in my top three.

Room Tip: This place isn't the Hilton. It's somewhere between freedom and luxury.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dridenour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Glacier hotels
3.1 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
2.9 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
4.8 mi away
Village Inn At Apgar
Village Inn At Apgar
#2 of 6 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Glacier Outdoor Center
Glacier Outdoor Center
#2 of 13 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Great Bear Inn
The Great Bear Inn
#4 of 13 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
1.8 mi away
Great Northern Resort
Great Northern Resort
#5 of 13 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Five Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Five Resort

Property: Lake Five Resort
Address: 540 Belton Stage Rd, PO Box 338, West Glacier, MT 59936
Region: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Speciality Lodging in West Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Five Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabins, RV sites camp sites and tipis right on Lake Five. Boating, fishing, volleyball, horse shoes and a playground for the kids. Three miles west of West Glacier. Best swimming in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Lake Five Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Five Hotel West Glacier
Lake 5 Resort
Lake Five Resort West Glacier, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing