We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, quiet stay in the mountains.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Glacier
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glacier Wilderness Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a nice quiet week get away. Check in and out was fast and easy. Kids had a great time in the pool and lodge area. Parents enjoyed the hot tub in the evenings. Even though there were other people there we hardly saw them, felt like we had the place to ourselves. Took the kids out for a snowshoe trip on the trails right outside the door the day after a good snow fall. Used our RCI points and feel we got good value. Staff were friendly and helpful. Only 40 minutes to Kalispell to do some shopping. Cabins are nicely set up. You need to grab groceries on the way in but all the kitchen gear is there. Cabin has a fireplace but you need to bring or buy firewood at $5/bundle. Cabin has a weber charcoal grill (bring your own charcoal and lighter fluid) and it was great to grill over charcoal each evening. Would definitely recommend and plan on going again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RangerGord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
There are newer reviews for Glacier Wilderness Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

Got this cabin through an RCI exchange and were thrilled with the accommodations. We knew going it that it was a few miles outside of West Glacier, so we stocked up on groceries at the Super1 in Columbia Falls after leaving the airport. We had emailed Jesse the manager earlier and arranged for a crockpot in the unit which we used most everyday. Management is friendly and helpful but unobtrusive. The cabins are situated privately and we did not see another guest all week. The hot tub on the porch is perfect after a day of hiking 10-15 miles. The units are very spacious inside, kitchen is well stocked, even laundry detergent! The grounds are beautiful and there is a short hike to a nice waterfall on the property. Since we were there post labor day the drive on Going to the Sun road inside the park was not much of a problem, that and the fact that we left early in the morning to get to our trailhead for the day. We hiked 70 miles in the park over the week, saw 3 grizzlies, big horns and mountain goats galore.
The absolute only downfall I could say is that it is a little dark inside, especially in the loft bedroom but that is also the nature of interior log walls and nothing that a little updated lighting couldn't fix. There are tons of huge windows to let in light during the day.
Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: If you are going to the Two Medicine area of the park, go south around Rt 2. Quicker than going thr...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rolomom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We got a last minute RCI exchange for a week in mid July and I can't believe how lucky we were. The cabins are a perfect basecamp for a week in Glacier. With a full kitchen, washer/dryer and private hot tub on the deck we were set for days filled with adventure and nights to relax. The weather was nice this time of year only a light jacket was needed at night. Wild bunnies were everwhere and my 11 year old daughter had the best time taking pictures of them. I reccomend this place highly!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank devinjak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

The resort is about 20 minutes drive from the West Entrance of Glacier National Park. The resort has only 10 log cabins. They are real log cabins built with logs and with superb craftsmanship. The cabins are nicely spaced out in the woods so there is some privacy.
We stayed in cabin #5. The inside of the cabin is very spacious with lots of living space and storage space. The kitchen is fully equipped with up-to-date appliances. It is the most well equipped kitchen we have ever had in a resort. The living area and dining area are huge, bright and clean. There is a 32” flat screen TV with good satellite reception and a lot of channels to watch. There is also a DVD player for you to watch a movie. The bedroom is spacious and the bed is very comfortable.
There is no telephone in any of the cabins. The only guest phone in the resort is in the club house. We tried to use a calling card but the phone would not work with the calling card. There is absolutely no reception for our cell phones. You can pay a nominal fee to have wireless satellite Internet. It works quite well for checking email and light browsing. You are not allowed to download music, video or large files because it will cause the resort to exceed bandwidth limits.
The porch of each cabin has its own outdoor Jacuzzi, picnic table, charcoal grill and bird feeder. You can do your bird-watching either in your cabin or while relaxing in the Jacuzzi. If you prefer propane grill, you can do your BBQ at the outside of the club house or ask the manager to give you a portable propane grill to use at your porch.
The resort has a new manager who started about a month ago. His name is Jerry. He is very helpful and accommodating guy. Don’t hesitate to address your concerns to him. Since there is not a phone In the cabin, you will have to physically walk to the office or to his house in the resort to talk to him.
If you are going to this resort in winter, please be warned that the access roads in the resort are snow covered and snow tires will be of great help. Bring your slip-on shoe spikes if you have them because the roads can be really icy and slippery.
There is a pool table, a foosball table, a well-equipped gym and an indoor swimming pool in the club house for you to enjoy.
We enjoyed snowshoeing to a waterfall near the resort several times during our stay. The path to the waterfall is a loop where you start from near the club house and return back to the main entrance of the resort. So bring your snowshoes if you are going to the resort in winter. Hiking boots are fine if you are athletic. You can also borrow the cross country skis from the resort.
We drove to Lake McDonald Lodge in Glacier National Park where the road ends in winter. We saw breathing-taking scenes of the mountains and their reflection along Lake McDonald. From Lake McDonald lodge we snowshoed on the snow covered road to McDonald creek to watch a waterfall. It’s about 4 miles round trip. On the bridge at McDonald creek, you will see the most serene and beautiful scenary of your life. You can also do your cross country skiing if you prefer.
The check in time is between 5-7 p.m. But if you are going to be late for check in, no hurry, just call the resort ahead of time and they will make the special arrangement for your check in.
If you have a GPS, the GPS coordinate of the resort is:
+48 degrees 26 minutes 55.30 seconds and – 113 degrees 49 minutes 29.37 seconds.
There is no address that you can program your GPS with.
Enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: All cabins are equally good. You do not have to worry about which cabin you are placed in.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hongnga D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We just got back from a week stay and I couldn't be more pleased with Glacier Wilderness Resort. This is my third stay in the past 10 years and the place keeps improving from new tile around the hot tubs, warmer hot tubs, warmer pool, and (although I was skeptical) newly added gas fireplaces. The kitchens are well stocked with gear that is in great condition. The private hot tubs are the perfect place to soak your achy muscles after 15 miles of hiking in GNP. The resort is small, pleasant, and the staff is responsive but unobtrusive. We didn't have any interactions with fellow guests and that was just what I was looking for - a private secluded cabin in the woods to unwind after long strenuous days of hiking. I will definitely return!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GeneH1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012 via mobile

This is great place to relax. With on sight swimming pool and exercise facilities you can just enjoy nature or you can go to the park for more adventure. There are numerous activities to partake in. The on sight staff are more than helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ed1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

In our minds, this is a perfect spot- small, secluded but with all the amenities mentioned in other reviews. It's a multi-season retreat; endless summer opportunities, views of Glacier's mountains across the river, cross country ski trails and spectacular fall colors. We waited a couple years for the opportunity to book the property and we are so thankful we came. Will definitely return when ever we can. Perfect for families or a romantic get away.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tenmiletraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Glacier
7.6 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
364 reviews
15.3 mi away
Izaak Walton Inn
Izaak Walton Inn
#1 of 2 in Essex
577 reviews
9.6 mi away
Village Inn At Apgar
Village Inn At Apgar
#2 of 6 in West Glacier
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
335 reviews
8.5 mi away
Great Northern Resort
Great Northern Resort
#2 of 13 in West Glacier
193 reviews
8.2 mi away
Vista Motel
Vista Motel
#4 of 6 in West Glacier
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glacier Wilderness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Wilderness Resort

Address: 13400 Hwy 2 East, P.O. Box 295, West Glacier, MT 59936
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Speciality Lodging in West Glacier
Price Range: £111 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ten log cabins in the Montana wilderness. Fully furnished, one and two bedroom units each with a hot tub, full kitchen and laundry. TV, DVD and WiFi (nominal fee). Gateway to Glacier National Park. Open year-round; Groomed X-C ski trails, Indoor Heated pool, exercise room and lodge. Enjoy the peace and quite of the Montana wilderness in comfort. We are located Approximately MM 163.1 On US HWY 2 East. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glacier Wilderness Hotel West Glacier
Glacier Wilderness Resort West Glacier, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing