We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bear just not a great gourmet”
Review of The Great Bear Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Great Bear Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2011

So, many of the previous reviews are right on. Susan could not be more engaging and friendly. A 13 year + veteran of the area this Inn sits in the woods, well off the normal path on 10 acres in the woods. Plenty of wild life i suspect creeps in and several bears have been spotted.

The dogs I am sure keep them at bay. if you don't like dogs then you might consider an alternate location. With our cisit three more large pups were on board and while they were not an issue for us (dog owners) the droppings on the porch were not a pleasant site the next morning for coffee.

Now, the "gourmet" dinner; Not so much. Seems like son Chris was voted off the island and the stand in, I think Chris too (or II) although a terrifically nice guy does not yet employ the skills to be called a gourmet chef. Poorly cooked fish and additional side items were average.

That being said the rooms were clean (although a bit "open" to other guest with respect to noise. The shower was killer however. I did not expect that nice touch when we first saw the place.

At $285 for two people including dinner the value was a bit high. Had it been a gourmet dinner the price would have been right on. Getting a "chef" to live in the woods in this area will be a stretch but knowing Susan she can sell someone on it. She is all sales.

Room Tip: Ask about getting into one of the Cabins. Outside of the main room and full privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BillyTeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thegreatbearinn, Owner at The Great Bear Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2011

The Great Bear Inn regrets that this guest was not happy with our services. We wish he would not have spent his vacation being concerned with our employee status nor making uneducated judgementspertaining to the situation. As to the rescued puppies who were here for less than a week, we certainly did our best to stay on top of any "presents left behind and apologize that we apparantly weren't fast enough. As to our chef's level of talent, please read every other review this year and decide for yourselves.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2011

This place is great and off the main hwy. The owner and two employees we met were the nicest people. We liked that it was more secluded than the other cabins we stayed at and the accomodations were far more luxury than the other places as well. My kids loved the dogs, they were friendly and not a nuissance at all. We hope to go back to Glacier in a few years and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shtojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

The Great Bear Inn is really fantastic. The room we had was great. The Lodge location is off the main highway a bit and has a fantastic view and was very quite and comfortable. The owner, Susan, is a great hostess and made our stay great. The lodge dinner and happy hour was really fun and tasty. All of the guests joined in and the evening was really great.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Stay at The Great Bear Inn and you get the best of both worlds: close proximity to the natural, rugged beauty of Glacier National Park, and a luxurious place to eat and rest. After a day of hiking, nothing was better than the gourmet dinner included with our stay, followed by a good night's sleep in a spacious room with some of the most comfortable beds we've ever slept on. Susan is a gracious hostess, and the Inn reflects her warmth and spirit of fun. Our children also loved the dogs and cats (all very well-behaved and happy to be petted). Other amenities include ping pong/pool table, lots of books and board games for evening entertainment, bathroom necessities (toothpaste, mouthwash, shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, lotion), fluffy towels, complimentary laundry facilities, and wine happy hour every evening before dinner. The staff is very friendly and committed to the guests' comfort. Overall, our family rates this Inn one of our favorite places and we hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeanneMC_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We had an amazing trip to "The Great Bear Inn". We went to spend some time with our son, Chef Chris who is the chef at The Great Bear Inn. We not only got to spend some time with Chris watching him cook and helping out in the kitchen but we met so many wonderful, interesting people. Susan, the owner, was great! We left there not only getting to visit our son but we now have a new friend (Susan) and we feel like we have known her for years. What a great feeling.

The lodge is great and very, very comfortable. The whole place is so well put together. The room we stayed in had a wonderful view of the mountains. At night we would open our window and get the cool evening breeze and listen to the train whistle.... the trains were so fitting for the area.

You can't go wrong staying here! It is truly a wonderful, relaxing experience. Oh and of course, if I may say ~ the food is exceptional!

One thing you really shouldn't miss is a helicopter ride over Glacier National Park. We were picked up right off the back deck at the lodge by Krueger (the company is just down the road from the lodge). What a rush to walk out the back of the lodge and get into a helicopter! You won't be sorry if you take this ride of a lifetime. We saw mountain goats, glaciers, lots of snow and breathtaking views.

This will be a trip we will talk about for a very long time.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hinrichs_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

At the end of a 10-day vacation, The Great Bear Inn proved to be a grand finale. Susan and her staff made us feel right at home. She does a great job creating a fun, friendly and accommodating atmosphere. At the end of a long day exploring Glacier National Park, there's no better place to come "home" to. After a nice long relaxing shower, we enjoyed meeting the other guests during Happy Hour and continuing our conversations over a dinner exquisitely prepared by Chef Chris. And, you're in for a treat if you're a pet person. Susan's menagerie of furry friends - including Rocky the wolf-dog - make this a truly special, can't-miss place.

Room Tip: Mention that you're a USC Trojan fan
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gobeach56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

My husband and I wanted a romantic, kid-free experience for a few days this summer. So after saving our pennies, we opted for a private, cushy experience. The Great Bear Inn was the PERFECT place to stay. I can't imagine staying anywhere else. It was 10 minutes from the park entrance (maybe less). And it was situated on a backroad, secluded from other resorts. Driving up, it seems as though you are going to stay at someone's really nice cabin retreat. It's not really an inn, like the name implies. It's more like a very nice Bed & Breakfast, with more privacy and amenities. They've really hit a niche here, and we couldn't have been more pleased.

Walking in, we were immediately met by the 10 or so other guests (of the 18 guest maximum), during a gourmet happy hour. We were taken to our room (holy smokes, it was so nice), down on the bottom floor. There were pool tables, laundry facilities, only one other suite downstairs, fireplace in the room, Tempur-pedic bed, huge bathroom in each suite, flat screen TV with a zillion channels, private patio, and that's only downstairs. I was pretty pampered, and loved every minute. It's new within the last few years, and had just undergone it's final renovations. Everything, even down to the soap in the bathroom was thoughtful.

The owner, Susan, was a doll! She really made us feel at home. Breakfast was minimal (croissants and muffins), because local diners are best for breakfast. Lunch is on your own. But dinner is a 5 star, 3 course gourmet meal prepared every night by two chefs (one is the owner's son). We had the best BBQ ever (and I am a Texan, y'all), duck, prime rib, Italian, and desserts I could not believe. It started with a "happy hour" wine tasting and hors d'oeuvres (or Pepsi tasting, if you don't drink). :) We mingled with guests (we made great little friendships in the few days we were there). Then we all ate in the dining room with panoramic views—all together at a long table. We were served whatever was prepared for the night (so no menu, but it was all amazing, and they make exceptions for people who don't like certain foods or are vegetarian). The happy hour area and kitchen were in one long room. So we chatted with the very friendly and talented chefs, and marveled at the amazing kitchen (the stoves made me swoon). They also have two brand-new separate cabins for families/groups. And they even have their own culinary garden! I am telling you. It's the greatest way to do this vacation if you are looking for a nicer experience, and don't want to camp stay in a large hotel. It was so friendly and inviting. Everyone was excited to get together in the evening and share our adventures from the day. Thank you, Great Bear Inn, for making Montana a trip of a lifetime!

If you want to read more about our experience here or at Glacier National Park, visit our family blog here: http://www.lyndsayjohnsonblog.com/2011/07/glacier-national-park-recap-note-on.html

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LyndsayJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Glacier
3.9 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
336 reviews
3.9 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
374 reviews
14.1 mi away
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Izaak Walton Inn
Izaak Walton Inn
#1 of 2 in Essex
594 reviews
5.1 mi away
Village Inn At Apgar
Village Inn At Apgar
#2 of 6 in West Glacier
312 reviews
2.6 mi away
Great Northern Resort
Great Northern Resort
#2 of 13 in West Glacier
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great Bear Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great Bear Inn

Address: 5672 Blankenship Road, P.O. Box 492, West Glacier, MT 59936
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Speciality Lodging in West Glacier
Price Range: £122 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Great Bear Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great Bear Inn proudly provides deluxe lodging accommodations in a spectacular setting, surrounded by the grandeur of Glacier National Park. Choose from deluxe rooms in the main lodge or comfortable cabin accommodation on our property. The unspoiled beauty of Montana awaits you just outside our magnificent Inn. Glacier National Park is less than ten minutes away. Hiking, white water rafting, fishing, hunting (seasonal), and horseback riding - the recreation possibilities offered by Northwest Montana are endless and the beauty is unlike anything found anywhere. The Inn is tastefully decorated in a style consistent with our location at the doorstep of Glacier National Park. An Oversized Continental is provided each morning. This includes Oatmeal, hard boiled eggs, fresh fruits, muffins, toast, fresh juice, cereals, and gluten free cereals, jams, jellies, honey, peanut butter, fresh butter, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Great Bear Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Great Bear Hotel West Glacier
The Great Bear Inn West Glacier, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing