We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would stay here again!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Great Bear Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Great Bear Inn
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Would stay here again!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

The place was fantastic. My husband are not really B&B type of people because we are not morning people, but this place is more like a B&D (dinner)! The dinners were fantastic! Delicious and a lot. The chefs were funny and excellent. The great thing about dinner is that everyone is awake and we all had something to share about the experience of the day. Yes, they have a continental breakfast too but pay extra for the dinner! The accommodations were excellent. We look forward to coming back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 00mari00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    22
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
70
135
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hanover, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

There is a train that runs all night close to the cabin not real load but if your a soft sleeper would probably bother you. The beds are wonderful. The location is nice. The shower is a little small but still very nice. Had a wonderful stay Montana is a beautiful state. Your only about 10 min away from the park entrance from the cabin

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juliehertz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

The Great Bear Inn deserves its accolades. It is a truly special place. We spent three nights here, and we can't wait to return. Ryan and his family treat their guests with warmth, in a low-key and welcoming way that made us comfortable and at home right from the start.
This is not a fancy spa resort, rather a beautiful family-run lodge with clean, large, comfortable and well-equipped rooms. Our girls loved all the dogs - they bark when you first drive up then are super friendly. Emmet is huge.

We particularly liked that they leave unlimited cereal, oatmeal, muffins, bagels etc for breakfast. "Come and help yourself! We'll keep the coffee going until the last person has come down to eat." What better way to start a day in Glacier than sitting on the veranda with a chocolate muffin and big mug of Great Bear coffee?

Ryan and Chris dedicate their day to preparing excellent evening meals, on a large shared table of 16-20. Their culinary ambition is laudable: they aim high and deliver really good, freshly prepared, three course meals: pork chops stuffed with spinach; tender poached duck breasts. Each day we looked forward to seeing what we would be served.

The BNSF railroad from West Glacier comes within a few hundred yards of the lodge. You cannot see the trains, but you hear their whistles (three or four trains a day). We rather liked hearing the trains, and they did not disturb the overall peace of this super place.

We agree with the previous reviewer: this is one of the best places we have stayed at, anywhere. How great that Tripadvisor enables us to find lodges like this.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThirdWrangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

As we pulled into the driveway and read the sign " Dogs Running Amuck" we knew this was going to be a delightful place.....especially since we were greeted by two huge SLEEPING dogs! Alyssa and Ryan showed us to our room, and immediately treated us as if we were family guests and not "customers." Our room was incredible with a breathtaking view and private patio. The room was very comfortably appointed, and I was very sorry we were booked for only one night. Included in the room fee is a gourmet dinner, and I must say, the meal was beyond outstanding. Chefs Ryan and Chris served a delectable meal, worthy of any 5-star restaurant. All the guests dine together, which is totally fun and relaxed. The Inn is dry but guests can bring their own wine or beer. Having that lovely dinner was such a nice "end of the day" treat for we vacationers--absolutely perfect! In addition, the Inn serves a continental breakfast which is great for vacationers who want to be up and on their was into the Park. In summary, The Great Bear Inn is, without a doubt, one of the nicest places I've ever stayed ........anywhere.....Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: go for it--book a room with a private patio!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aransas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maplewood, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

We were booked for three nights, ended up booking for one more, we didn't want to leave!!! I could write a book about this place! Susan, Mary, Ryan, Chris and Hobbett, they were all wonderful! We felt like we were home! We met new friends, had so much laughter our sides hurt!
The meals that the boys cooked each night were wonderful, each night was a treat! Every day we went out to sightsee and hike, then came back to drinks and new friends, talking about the things we did that day. Then we would all sit down to the great meals that the boys would cook! Every night was a late night!
We miss the gang and want to get back there soon!

p.s.
Ryan,
Mary and I DID go in your kitchen!!!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms would be a good room! We had a room upstairs and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DS1828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davie, Florida
Level Contributor
113 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

We found this place on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. It is a lovely small lodge about 4 miles outside the West Glacier entrance to Glacier National Park. Our room was very nicely decorated, as well as the public area living room. And the meals were mouthwatering. Chefs Chris and Ryan never disappointed! We were treated to a beautifully prepared dinner each night, and had a good selection of items each morning for our continental breakfast. We were able to use the washer and dryer, and having free wi-fi was a plus. We also had a refrigerator in our rooms to store our wine. All in all, I would definitely recommend this place as an option to staying inside GNP. Thank you all at Great Bear Inn for a memorable stay!

Room Tip: We asked for a front room, which was upstairs, to have more of a view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
277 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

We only stayed one night but the friendliness of the staff, excellent accommodations and great meal made our stay memorable. On site use of laundry facilities was a plus as was the ability to have an early breakfast before starting our journey through Glacier NP. Huge value for your $ considering the inclusion of breakfast and dinner in the room rate! We will be sure to stay longer our next time to West Glacier.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Glacier
3.9 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
3.9 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
3.8 mi away
Glacier Outdoor Center
Glacier Outdoor Center
#2 of 13 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort
#9 of 13 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
9.1 mi away
Meadow Lake Resort
Meadow Lake Resort
#1 of 4 in Columbia Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
2.6 mi away
Great Northern Resort
Great Northern Resort
#5 of 13 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great Bear Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great Bear Inn

Property: The Great Bear Inn
Address: 5672 Blankenship Road, P.O. Box 492, West Glacier, MT 59936
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Speciality Lodging in West Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Great Bear Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great Bear Inn proudly provides deluxe lodging accommodations in a spectacular setting, surrounded by the grandeur of Glacier National Park. Choose from deluxe rooms in the main lodge or comfortable cabin accommodation on our property. The unspoiled beauty of Montana awaits you just outside our magnificent Inn. Glacier National Park is less than ten minutes away. Hiking, white water rafting, fishing, hunting (seasonal), and horseback riding - the recreation possibilities offered by Northwest Montana are endless and the beauty is unlike anything found anywhere. The Inn is tastefully decorated in a style consistent with our location at the doorstep of Glacier National Park. An Oversized Continental is provided each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Great Bear Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Great Bear Hotel West Glacier
The Great Bear Inn West Glacier, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing