We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great option right outside Glacier”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glacier Outdoor Center
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 January 2014

The cabins were just minutes from the Glacier entrance. Our cabin was big, spotless, quiet, and the kitchen was incredibly well-equipped. We had a kitchen/living room/eating area, 2 large bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and another living area downstairs by the second bedroom. There was also a large covered outdoor seating area with a full size grill and table. Much better than all 5 of us squeezing into a small hotel room in the park... We would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

Our family of 7 stayed here in August for 2 nights. Gotta say that these cabins are popular - it was difficult to find openings and their cancellation policies are very strict. The cabin was nice and clean, with ample parking. The decor was a little cheesy. Kitchen was nice, although the utensils and plates were sparse - it was almost like they are not sure if they want to be upscale or downscale (Some things were 4 star hotel; others were 1 star Motel 6). Another example - bathrooms are nice; the towels are thin and the soaps are cheapo. Have to say that the young ladies working the shop (reservations) were not very friendly. Overall, the cabins are basic and provide what is needed for a stay close to GNP. I don't think we will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaknays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Our group of six friends met in West Glacer the last weekend that Going to the Sun road was open this season. Glacier Outdoors cabin number 8 was perfect for us. It was private, had lots of parking, plenty of sleeping space, plenty of seating, both inside and out on the deck and patio. The kitchen was clean and well equipped. We had a nice barbeque available to us as well. Yes you could hear the train, but that is just part of staying in west glacier. These cabins are very close to the West Glacier Park entrance. Early fall is a wonderful time to visit Glacier.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank m3montana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We're here for four nights and could not be more pleased. We are in Cabin #2 that has a lovely porch,spotlessly clean kitchen, grill, and living room. Perfect location and much better than we experienced in the park (park cabins 50 percent more per nite and not anywhere near as nice). Will return and will raft down the river with them this afternoon

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed in the handicapped cabin here, which was the only cabin available. The cabin bedroom, bathroom and living room were clean but I noticed that the kitchen cabinets had food stuck to them. The cabin is located at the top of the hill in a sunny patch of field, whereas other cabins in the area are surrounded by trees. As a result, the cabin gets very hot and stuffy and though there is air conditioning in the cabin, it was not running when we arrived and literature that the company provides discourages using the a.c. That said, on our first night, we left the windows open at night and closed them in the morning so that the cabin would not be quite as stuffy that afternoon.

The cabins are operated through the Glacier Rafting Co. shop which is at the front of the cabins. The young ladies working that the shop were not very friendly though the woman who we interacted with for our cabin was helpful and nice.

Our cabin offered the basics for stay in the wilderness without having to camp. We had a small kitchen, a bathroom, a living room with sofa bed, a kitchen table, and a bedroom with two beds. The cabin smelled a bit musty, felt stuffy and was decorated with cheesy pictures of hunting and fishing. While it was more comfortable to stay here than to go camping, it was not a cozy place to stay.

Next time we travel to Montana, we will probably stay with a different cabin rental business. This location is close to Glacier National Park, but I'd rather drive a little bit farther and stay at a cabin with a b&b feel. We stayed at another cabin where we were treated like people and not simply numbers filling a reservation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We did the 2 day raft trip that they offer. We stayed in one of their cabins the night before and the night after. They were perfect for what we needed. Quiet and secluded enough to give you feel that we were looking for. You can walk to the small town of West Glacier for food, etc.
The staff could not have been more friendly an accommodating. We would definitely recommend this if your looking for a place to stay outside of the park. They offer rafting and fishing tours as well. You would need a car to get back and forth to the park, though.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheFrosts5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We spent three nights in the cabins at the Glacier Outdoor Center and fly fished for two day. The entire experience was over the top awesome! The cabins we stayed in was very private and secluded. The cabin was clean and comfortable and extremely quiet. We were delighted to have a kitchen and grill on the porch so we could prepare our own breakfast and dinner. We fished the first day with Shane as our guide on the North Fork. The water and scenery were spectacular. There were lots of fish to be caught but keep in mind that the rivers around here don't support many large fish but you do have lots of fun catching cutthroats and rainbows on dry flies all day long. The second day we fished the Middle Fork with Brock. The fish were larger but not quite as plentiful. However that gave us an opportunity to sit for a couple minutes and enjoy the scenery. Great lunch on the river each day. Super friendly staff at every part of the resort.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Glacier
0.9 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
336 reviews
0.8 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
372 reviews
0.5 mi away
Great Northern Resort
Great Northern Resort
#2 of 13 in West Glacier
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort
#10 of 13 in West Glacier
192 reviews
6.7 mi away
Historic Tamarack Lodge
Historic Tamarack Lodge
#1 of 3 in Hungry Horse
302 reviews
16.5 mi away
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
#3 of 17 in Whitefish
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glacier Outdoor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Outdoor Center

Address: 12400 Us-2, West Glacier, MT 59936 (Formerly Glacier National Park Cabins & Lodging)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Speciality Lodging in West Glacier
Price Range: £86 - £804 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glacier Outdoor Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glacier Outdoor Center offers comfortable accommodations in the heart of West Glacier, with modern cabins with beautiful mountain views and easy access to Glacier National Park. For the full Montana vacation experience, stay in one of our cozy, comfortable log cabins. Located less than a mile (as the eagle flies) from the west entrance to Glacier National Park, our cabins have all the amenities you want along with mountain views and outdoor fun all around. You can play horseshoes, volleyball, and practice casting in our trout pond. Instead of a motel, bed down in one of our log cabins nestled under the peaks of Glacier Park. You'll never sleep better. Our log cabins are your home away from home right in all the action of Glacier National Park. They are a great base camp for all activities in the area including whitewater rafting, scenic float trips, and guided fly fishing.The possibilites are endless for activies around your perfect base camp for Glacier National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Glacier Outdoor Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glacier Outdoor Center West Glacier, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing