We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A special place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gustavus Inn at Glacier Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gustavus Inn at Glacier Bay
Ranked #1 of 9 Gustavus B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A special place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

The Gustavus Inn is a very special place. Our group stayed for several nights. Our rooms were lovely, clean and comfortable. The food served at the inn is local - seafood from the area and vegetables from their own garden - the preparation beyond compare. The staff was friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carcarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    3
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
27
42
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

We stayed there for 3 nights last August. We enjoyed it immensely.
The room was lovely. Best of all was the food. It was simple, very fresh.
It started with appetizers at the bar where you could have a glass of wine. One night it was sushi; another very fresh halibut sashimi. The dinner was family style. One night it was dungeness crab and another really great black cod. The food was just outstanding. Dave and the people who worked there were very friendly and helpful in arranging activities for us like whale watching and kayaking.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

We came to Gustavus for my mom's 60th birthday in June and had the most incredible time. Dave and his staff could not have been more accommodating. The rooms are quite comfortable and the food simply amazing. I still dream about the breakfasts--the best pancakes with homemade spruce tip syrup that's made from the spruce tips everyone gathers in spring. It's inspiring how much food they are able to grow and gather locally--fresh fish every night, delectable salmon spread for cocktail hour accompanied by a cold Alaskan amber, and tons of greens from the garden. Food is served family style; it's a great way to get to know other guests and suss out what adventures are worth trying.

Dave will arrange everything from fishing trips to kayaking. Kayaking in Glacier Bay is worth a day or several--we had several close encounters with whales--as is a fishing expedition. Halibut and salmon are plentiful.

They have bikes available at the Inn--it's the best way to get around. Many trails await and when it doesn't get dark until midnight, you have lots more time for adventuring! There is beautiful wilderness right out the door of the Inn.

I can't recommend this place more highly--everyone was so helpful and kind, we could have stayed much longer!

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs have views onto the garden and beyond... Recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rebecca f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, MA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

If you're staying in Gustavus, I highly recommend the Gustavus Inn. The food was wonderful--simple, but creative, and with lots of fresh seafood. They were very accomodating, offering my wife gluten-free choices at every meal (and it was far better than typical gluten free). This was among the best food we had on our entire Alaska trip.

The inn is well-appointed and comfortable, though not luxurious. They have a comfortable sitting area with a wood stove (or pellet stove--not sure). They'll provide rain gear if you need it, as well as free bikes of all sizes. They will help find things to do, book cruises and tours, etc. At dinner each night, they talk to each guest about their plans for the next day, making sure everyone knows what time they are leaving, etc. It's a great touch.

The only drawback vs. other choices in Gustavus (namely, the Glacier Bay Lodge) is lack of ocean view. But the other positives more than make up for this.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattyC33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustavus, Alaska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

When visiting Gustavus, AK your dining options are extremely limited. However, Gustavus Inn outshined all the competing lodges. On a sunny day you can sit out on the deck stroll the garden and drink an Alaskan Raspberry Wheat. The food is served "homestyle" which means you are forced to interact with fellow travelers at a large table. This also means interesting conversations with people from all walks of life. The food itself is absolutely amazing, the owner of the Inn won a James Beard Award and its apparent as to why. It doesn't hurt either that every ingredient in the meal was either picked from the afore mentioned garden or caught within the day. The kelp pickles are salty-sweet, and the Rhubarb jam is just the right amount of sweet and sour. The entree options revolve around: Sablefish, Salmon, Crab, and Halibut. I've eaten at this Inn three times now, two of the times eating Salmon and the other Sablefish. Each time the food was melt in your mouth exquisite. The price of the meal was 60$ per head, so it's not cheap. This being said, helpings are unlimited so indulge yourself. The desserts are incredible and my all time favorite was the wild alaskan strawberry cheesecake! Picked from the strawberries that Gustavus is known for...Would reccomend this Inn for anyone!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TiffanySwift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
193 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

We loved the Gustavus Inn! The Inn is family owned and has an interesting, very accommodating and laid back staff. Our room was very large with a queen size bed, a twin bed and a good sized, clean and simple bathroom. Ours also had a small sitting area with a porch that opened to the backyard/garden area and could be opened to join the room next to us. (Nice for families) I loved the big garden which supplies veggies and flowers for the dining room. Breakfast and lunch were delicious and scheduled between certain times.You could also request a bag lunch if you were going to be out and about. Dinner was outstanding and family style so you got to meet different guests each night. The Inn provided shuttle service to Glacier Bay National Park and other locations and would help set up tours, etc. The Inn had a nice assortment of bicycles and we took a nice leisurely ride along some of the roads and then to a trail head for hiking. A wonderfully relaxing place!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank babobear1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

We loved staying at the Gustavus Inn at Glacier Bay our fab tour company failed to book us in to any accommodation. So after our tour guide driving us all over Gustavus, we ended up at the Gustavus Inn.
(So we actually ended up with the best deal, the other places where defiantly not as nice and some just plan grumpy)
The food was yummy, the rooms were warm and homily.
We really enjoyed the nibbles and dinner, meeting interesting people from all over the world.
And seeing as they only had 30 mins notice, managed to pull out some dinner for our Coeliac Buddy as well.
(quickly cooking up some Gluten free bread to go with the soup (the main was GF already) and an Angle Cake (Gluten Free) for dessert) He also enjoyed his Gluten free breakfast. Personally, I really loved the homemade Rhubarb sauce and jam. And the salad with dinner all handpicked from the garden, so good.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gustavus hotels
6.2 mi away
Glacier Bay Lodge
Glacier Bay Lodge
#3 of 5 in Gustavus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
3.5 mi away
Glacier Bay's Bear Track Inn
2.1 mi away
Glacier Bay Country Inn
Glacier Bay Country Inn
#1 of 5 in Gustavus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Annie Mae Lodge
Annie Mae Lodge
#4 of 9 in Gustavus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
2.0 mi away
Wild Alaska Inn at Glacier Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gustavus Inn at Glacier Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gustavus Inn at Glacier Bay

Property: Gustavus Inn at Glacier Bay
Address: One Mile Gustavus Road, PO Box 60, Gustavus, AK 99826
Region: United States > Alaska > Gustavus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Gustavus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gustavus Inn at Glacier Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic homestead completely renovated with private baths, spacious rooms, James Beard award winning garden, wild edible and ocean harvest dining three meals daily, naturalist library, sat tv, cellphone reception, wifi, free bikes, near the beach, tour and airport transfers. Tour planning. Host owners on property to make your visit the best possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Gustavus Inn at Glacier Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gustavus Inn At Glacier Bay Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing