We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gustavus Inn at Glacier Bay
Ranked #1 of 9 Gustavus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Dave Lesh and the staff (many of whom are family members) at Gustavus Inn do a great job. The meals were great, the rooms clean and comfortable, the local knowledge off the charts and the service wonderful. Everything functions so smoothly, even the largest challenges are overcome like mere speed bumps.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

We booked Garden View, a room with its own bathroom. We loved everything about our stay, especially the organic garden! The food, staff and service were excellent. Very clean, very homey. The bikes were handy. There's a short bike ride (25 minutes) to a short hike (15 minutes) to a 1958 plane crash site which I found interesting.

The Inn is close to the center of town, which I liked. (There's a couple small stores and a small Art Gallery.) Another reviewer mentioned the distance of the Inn from the Gustavus tourist happenings. Yes, the Lodge is closer to all that. They are near the dock where the sightseeing trips originate. The Park Service does a hike in the afternoon that also starts at the Lodge. That being said, the Inn provided transportation when we needed, so I never felt inconvenienced by the distance.

Food is included in price of room. The owner, Dave Lesh went above and beyond..... I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller111Usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Gustavus is such a kicked back little town, and the Gustavus Inn is a wonderful way to enjoy it. The grounds and gardens are spectacular. The food is amazing. Dave and JoeAnne are great hosts. What ever we wanted to do, Dave was right there to help with ideas and arrangements. We are going back next year!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
Thank thefishdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

The Inn is a unique experience. The location is picturesque. Dave and his staff went above and beyond to make our stay worry free. The food is outstanding! The inn attracts interesting guests who contribute to the "at home" feeling. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Make sure to stay several days.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Gustavus Inn is truly a great place to stay. The room was very nice with a bay window overlooking the beautiful garden which is a combination of vegetables and flowers. The vegetables all show up in the meals that are served. They take care of picking you up from the ferry or plane and take you wherever you need to go. If you just want to explore they have bikes or can just walk over to the river a short distance away and watch the salmon coming up the river. Having said all that, the meals were the real reason we enjoyed our stay. We had a delicious lunch after being picked up from our plane of carrot ginger soup, creamed halibut sandwiches, and taboulli. Pound cake for dessert ws superb. What a lunch! We were definitely looking forward to dinner at that point. After an apppetizer of smoked salmom dip, dinner turned out to be a salad with fresh greens from the garden, steamed veggies from the garden, and barbecued white king salmon. It was all absolutely delicious! After an early breakfast of granola, rhubarb sauce, eggs, pancakes with spruce tip syrup and bacon we headed off to the Glacier Bay day trip. Boy did we miss the lunch at the Gustavus Inn when we got our lunch on the boat. You could definitely just come to the Gustavus Inn to eat, even if there was not great scenery, boat trips and fishing.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank applebyutah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Gustavus Inn was great. Relaxing, informal, and comfortable.
Dave was very helpful in planning activities.
Great Breakfast. Packed lunch for day trips.
Lots of activities: whale watching, fishing, boat trips into Glacier Bay, and hiking, bike riding.

Beautiful garden: Has laundry facilities

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Henry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed here in June as a family. We had heard some great reviews but Dave and his team truly went above and beyond. Whether it was organizing an alternative flight into Gustavus when the jet was cancelled, to organizing a fishing trip, to someone shelling the crab for our kids at dinner - nothing was too much trouble. The food was great as was the location. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank Elmosfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gustavus hotels
6.2 mi away
Glacier Bay Lodge
Glacier Bay Lodge
#3 of 5 in Gustavus
231 reviews
2.1 mi away
Glacier Bay Country Inn
Glacier Bay Country Inn
#2 of 5 in Gustavus
131 reviews
1.2 mi away
Annie Mae Lodge
Annie Mae Lodge
#2 of 9 in Gustavus
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Wild Alaska Inn at Glacier Bay
3.5 mi away
Glacier Bay's Bear Track Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gustavus Inn at Glacier Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gustavus Inn at Glacier Bay

Address: One Mile Gustavus Road, PO Box 60, Gustavus, AK 99826
Region: United States > Alaska > Gustavus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Gustavus
Price Range: £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gustavus Inn at Glacier Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic homestead completely renovated with private baths, spacious rooms, James Beard award winning garden, wild edible and ocean harvest dining three meals daily, naturalist library, sat tv, cellphone reception, wifi, free bikes, near the beach, tour and airport transfers. Tour planning. Host owners on property to make your visit the best possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Gustavus Inn at Glacier Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gustavus Inn At Glacier Bay Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing