We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location!”
Review of Glacier Bay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Glacier Bay Lodge
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Gustavus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2013

The lodge is rustic in beautiful wilderness-like surroundings. Rooms tend to be a bit small, and the twin beds are marginally comfortable. Staff is courteous, and helpful. Availability of the boat tour from the Lodge up Glacier Bay is an added plus for this facility. The restaurant is very expensive for the quality of food received, and service is slow at best. The overall environment is very pleasant. The stay was a memorable one and the facility is recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

A lodge in the park with beautiful surroundings, spacious rooms, fireplace and sofas in the lobby with great view to the water. Just fantastic! What was wrong? Well, in the room a dirty towel from previous visitors was left, they forgot to fill the shampoo container, the restaurant is quite expensive with average food. Still, location beats it all.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Idit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Staying at the Glacier Bay Lodge puts you at the heart of one of the most beautiful places in the world. The Lodge staff was friendly and knowledgable about the Park and activities. On the second floor is the National Park Ranger traction with films and nightly presentations on the area.

Transportation is available from the airport to the Lodge and shuttle service is available to take you anywhere in Gustavis you want to go so a car is unnecessary. Bikes are available for rental and the day cruise tour of the park is from the dock just below the Lodge.

The rooms are simple and clean. No TV or Internet service. The room service is a very basic quick cleanup but no real maid service.

The Lodge restaurant is the only place to get food but the meals were wonderful and reasonable.

Request a view room when booking so you can have a large picture window with a view of Bartlett Cove or the forest. I kept my drapes open all night so I could enjoy the view. TV isn't necessary when you have such a view!

So I would definitely recommend this Lodge to any other location for those who want a Park experience.

P.S. one afternoon a pod of 4 orcas were feeding in the Cove and visible from the restaurant and guest rooms. What more can one ask for!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Frbill92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We always like staying in the Park when we visit National Parks, so that was the draw and we were not disappointed. The Park Visitor Center is incorporated into the Lodge and makes the daily guided tours and NPS Ranger presentations at night very convenient. The location/views from the Lodge/deck/room are unbelievable and the boat tour dock and trails are all steps away. Transportation provided by the Lodge is very good if you need to go into town, whale watch or to/from the airport. The Lodge is dated and needs some major updating, but everything is clean. The staff are all very good, there just aren’t enough of them -- and then the service suffers…especially at peak times in the dining room.

We stayed in room 15 – great cove views and close to the Lodge & hiking trails.

If you want to stay in the Park and have all of the amenities close by and don’t mind some of the miscues that go along with NPS Lodging, this is the place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

I loved the boardwalks to the rooms. There was a bit of noise from people walking but it also meant that everyone was spread out and our room looked through the trees towards the ocean. The rooms were spacious enough and so convenient to the dock, the nearby walk in the forest and the beach walk. Upstairs there is a good display of animals and information about the park. The Lodge is run by Aramark and I heard that they were not going to renew their contract so not sure what is going to happen. There is a shuttle to town. We stayed one night before going on a kayaking trip. You couldn't have asked for a more convenient spot as it was very close to the dock It was a bit pricy but was the only available room for that particular night and it turned out to be a good choice because it gave us an opportunity to spend time wandering around the park before leaving the next morning. We ate on the deck in the afternoon - fish and chips and beer. The food was okay. We had a quick coffee and toast before leaving in the morning. The staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gertie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

stayed at the glacier bay lodge in gustavus in july 2013 for 2 days. The best part of the stay was the fact that it was super isolated and within the national park. Small rooms connected by board walks with basic servicing daily (very basic servicing mind u)
The dining room was decent - they serve vegetarian dishes on the menu which was a pleasant surprise with a couple of excellent tasting dishes. The restaurant service was hit or miss - functioning and matter of fact.
No wi-fi in room, no mobile service in the area and that goes well with the isolation. There is a slow wi-fi available in the lobby area which is useful.
There is little to do apart from the glacier bay day cruise and a couple of hikes with the rangers. The Glacier bay day cruise is excellent and a must do. The ranger guided walks and talks are also very good.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BVtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We'd done a lot of research into this place using TripAdvisor reviews and felt we were probably going to be OK staying there, but felt there may still be an element of risk.

Having stayed there for 4 nights, I'd be OK to go back. So here's my opinion.

For what they are, the rooms *are* expensive. However, it's remote, you're a captive audience in the park and the season is short, so I'd expect them to be overpriced. That's life.

But they are clean, serviced daily and meet the need. I read a review which said the beds are a bit hard, and I'd agree. Additionally, getting the shower to work was a little complicated. Also, because the cabins are connected by board walks, there may be times in the mornings when you are awakened by people wheeling their bags along the wooden walkways, but not always. Aside from this, the rooms are comfortable enough. Remember they are shut for more than half the year, so you can't expect The Ritz.

The lodge itself is OK. Plenty to see and do. Night-time presentations by the rangers and so on. Free wi-fi, which is handy, but you won't get it in your room and it will be a bit slow.

With regards to the dining room. The lunch and dinner menus are not that extensive. We stayed four nights - which I suspect may be a long stay for this lodge - and it became a bit jaded by the 4th night. I also don't eat fish, which halved the menu for me (but that's my problem). Again, it is expensive, but again, you're in Alaska. The quality was fine also.

It was also nice to see the fruit in the breakfast buffet was fresh. That surprised me - I would have expected canned fruit being so far away from everything.

I've read reports about the service being slow. However, we ate 9 or 10 meals (breakfast, lunch and dinner) over the days there and it was mostly OK. Couple of notable exceptions. One night we waited for desert for half an hour, but then weren't charged for it amidst much apologising for making us wait so long. Also, they had one waiter who really didn't wait on you at all well, but I suppose there's always one. It appears to be a mixture of seasonal staff who come back every year and summer workers from colleges. How good the food is can depend on who is cooking also.

On the whole, the lodge is in a great location. If you want to take the Glacier Cruise, this is the best place to stay as it's a 3 minute walk to the dock from the lodge. There's also kayaking near by, which is just a great experience to do. It's easy enough to get to Whale Watching on the Taz too. The shuttle is free and runs regularly enough to get you to the places you may want to go. You'll probably see wildlife of some sort while you're there.

One tip on flying using the daily Alaska Airlines flight in the summer - don't fly out on a Saturday. We arrived on a Tuesday and the plane was lightly loaded and the terminal basically empty when we arrived as if no-one was going out on the return flight. But on Saturday, all the people who have come to fishing lodges in Gustavus go back along with their boxes of fish and the airport becomes sheer madness. And the airport's facilities are fairly basic. So avoid it if you can.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms may be a bit of a walk from the lodge, so you may try and get one close-ish.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thatwouldbeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gustavus hotels
4.1 mi away
Glacier Bay Country Inn
Glacier Bay Country Inn
#2 of 5 in Gustavus
133 reviews
5.3 mi away
Annie Mae Lodge
Annie Mae Lodge
#1 of 8 in Gustavus
49 reviews
4.7 mi away
Wild Alaska Inn at Glacier Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Glacier Bay's Bear Track Inn
Show Prices

Been to Glacier Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Bay Lodge

Address: 179 Barlett Cove, Gustavus, AK 99826
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Gustavus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Gustavus
Price Range: £125 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glacier Bay Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Glacier Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glacier Bay Hotel Gustavus
Glacier Bay Lodge Gustavus, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing